We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine and Dine, with a sleep over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
Ranked #53 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The wine and dine evening was amazing as the waiters looked after us constantly and never once let us have to ask for a top up on our wine. The pairing of the food and wine was beyond reproach! Our sleep over was amazing to wake up to the view of the Cape Town sea front - indescribable. Breakfast, a buffet, was one of the best I've ever had, catering to ones ever desire!

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the sea - Awesome, Awesome, Awesome view. Also if you enjoy wine try and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for the positive feedback ... it is appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Peninsula Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent a week at the hotel.
Service was good and attentive.
The location is also very convenient.
Very comfortable rooms and obliging service staff.
Its always a pleasure to stay here and would always recommend to potential visitors.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We are so pleased that once again you had a great stay with us ... we appreciate the feedback.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Peninsula hotel for 10 days at the end of March 2014. Location was perfect....close to Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and having secured parking was a bonus. The hotel was very clean, spacious and the staff was always friendly and helpful. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay and at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you so much for the positive feedback ... it is appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The building is old but grand especially the outside and the lobby. The views are amazing. Housekeeping is efficient, honest and accommodating. Complimentary shuttle is an excellent way to get around. The drivers and porters are super helpful and friendly. It was a lot of fun getting inside tips from CT natives. For the more adventurous there's a myciti station (Queens Beach) right outside the building. Also excellent is that the city sightseeing red bus tours stop just outside this building as well. The decor made the room feel quite dated though and you half expect to see someone's gran in a rocking chair in the corner. That said the room was comfortable and very clean. And all that is the upside.

Check in was a nightmare. We arrived at 01:30pm, half an hour before check-in and were told our room was not ready. Housekeeping was still cleaning. It was understandable we were early, we left our luggage with a porter and took a seat in the lobby.

After that the service became appalling. The concierge, Lesley, then proceeded to ignore us completely. At 2pm we asked if our room was ready, he says no. At 2:45pm we manage to (after much hopping around get his attention again) ask if our room was ready. He says he doesn't know, he will check. He leaves the front desk, walks off and spends 5 minutes talking to another man while we watch. When he comes back he looks at us completely blank faced. He just offers us a vague and confused "yes?" like he's never seen us before! We ask again if our room is ready. "Er...no. Please have a seat".

The absolute cherry on the top however, when we went back to the front desk at 03:20pm to ask if our room was ready yet. He actually shooed us away! He said "I'll call you, I'll call you", barely glancing up and then made a dismissive motion with his hands as if we were begging for change at his car window. An hour and half from check in time, 2 hours from when we arrived and apparently we are being unreasonable to ask about our room.

This wasn't an isolated incident. Throughout our stay Lesley seemed irritated by us. It definitely felt like he was going out of his way to make our stay harder, to the point where we dreaded going to the front desk.

This was unacceptable especially in comparison to the amazing treatment we received from the Southern Sun Waterfront and the Hilton on previous trips. We will never recommend The Peninsula to anyone nor will we ever return. A 5 star hotel should be operated by 5 star people.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ahrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for the feedback and we would like to apologise for the most unpleasant experience you encountered on arrival. Your conerns raised has been addressed with the staff member concerned and he is no longer on the Reception Desk.
Please be assured that this is not our usual standard and this type of service will not be tolerated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I am usually not one to rave about hotels, but my exdperience at the Peninsula was simply unbelievable! I spent three week as a guest there in February in a two bwedroom apartment on the 7th floor.
The hotel is situated a stones throw fromt he Atlantic Ocean. It is a majestic and beuatiful view with the rooms overlooking the ships sailing in to harbour. The room was clean, functional, and in good condition. The furnitture and fittings were not new but were workable and decent. The room was cleaned daily from the hallway to the bathroom and the bedroom. Sheets were crisp and changed on demand, coffee/tea replenished daily and towels fresh daily.
what set this hotel apart was the atmosphere. The staff learnt my name by the second day, i didnt have to request my 'drink'. they just knew. Staff always smiled, greeted me, asked me how my day was, made an effort to get to know me and participated in my holiday as much as I wanted them to.
The girls on the information counter were absolutely amazing! They were incredibly helpful in hiring a car, booking a flight to Joburg and a tour through a township. All with a laugh and a kindness i have only seen in Africa.
I thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Peninsula and will recommend this hotel to my friends and colleagues alike. It was simply a treat to stay there.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you so much for the positive feedback ... it is appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Peninsula Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Every year we say we will try somewhere else but always return to the Peninsula, for the very good reason that you will have to go a long way to find staff who are as friendly and helpful as those in this hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and they go out of the way to make sure your stay is as wonderful as it can be and they constantly succeed. There is a great atmosphere in this place, the view over the ocean is amazing, the free shuttle bus is very handy and again the drivers do their best to accommodate everyone. It truly is our home in the Cape.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seedoubleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you so much for the positive feedback. It is great to hear that we are exceeding your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Peninsula Hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My family and I were fortunate enough to stay in this fine resort for three weeks over December 2013 / January 2014 . Perfect location and very safe and secure , spotlessly clean, the shuttle bus took us around wherever we wanted to go and with the public bus system we hardly used our rental car . The supermarkets and restaurants are all in easy walking distance from the hotel . The staff are pleasant and go over and above their call of duty to please their guests and it was just a perfect holiday in a perfect hotel . Thank you Peninsula

Room Tip: Recommend rooms on the higher floors as they are cooler and we never used the aircon once
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gall0paway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for the positive feedback ... We look forward to welcoming you back to the Peninsula Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
312 reviews
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,097 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#74 of 110 in Cape Town Central
352 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,354 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel

Address: 313 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £124 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula All Hotel Cape Town Central
Peninsula Cape Town
Peninsula All Suite Hotel
Cape Town Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel Cape Town
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing