We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
Ranked #52 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel for a week and had a good stay. The location is great and is in walking distance of many restaurants and shops as well as the beach. The room was good enough. The downside was for us the housekeeping service. As we required the sleeper couch to be done up, the gentleman that lead us to our room at arrival asked what time would suit us from six onward. We agreed that around six would be fine, however the first night we arrived back after 10pm and had to call housekeeping to bring sheets, blankets etc and to set up the sleeper couch. The next night we had a similar problem and then when it happened on the third night and we phoned housekeeping they were quite rude and told us that the lady was on her way. The housekeeping staff that came to our room during our stay were extremely unfriendly and rude and made us feel as though we were bothering them and they were doing us a favour. After the fourth night we started doing up the sleeper couch ourselves and from thereon the housekeeping staff did not bother to fold the couch away anymore in the mornings. It was a small issue but despite this we had a good time and the rest of the staff (excluding housekeeping) was very friendly and helpful. During our stay a lot of construction was going on so many of the facilities were not working or left much to be desired. Would however stay here again for the location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Dear Kirsten,

Thank you so much for the review ... it is appreciated.

We would like to apologise for the lack of service received by the Housekeeping Department, be assured that this will be dealt with as it is totally unacceptable and not our standard.
We hope to welcome you back to the Peninsula Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great hotel, good service and fantastic views.... staff are really friendly, heated pool, sauna, and gym. Great cocktails and fantastic place to just unwind. They have theme nights in the restaurant and each room has an outside balcony. Well worth going.

Room Tip: Most rooms are sea facing so they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ElandreG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for the positive review .. we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was so heavenly. the view breathtaking - seaview - can stand the whole day a look at he sea - at nights looks the lit up ships that lounges in the water before entering the harbour... priceless

Room Tip: higher up for full view of the sea - eiesh oooh eh eh -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you so much for the positive review ... we look forwrad to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

On our weekend away 'celebrating our friendship' at the peninsula all suite hotel , we have experienced excellent service from all departments of the hotel . Felix , Bongani , Lucy and Abdul were very professionally friendly and helpful . Our room 004
wow beautiful , Monday nights dinner and meeting the general manager of the hotel was great .
We will definitely recommend this hotel .
Love from the girls - Michelle , Maurisha , Simmy , Celeste and myself .

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank liezel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Liezel,

Thank you so much for the positive review ... we look forward to welcoming you and the girls back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Peninsula is situated perfectly in Cape Town. The rooms are pretty average and do not expect too much luxury, but the views all around is amazing. We enjoyed our stay very much and it is a great base for exploring Cape Town, you are never more than 20 minutes away from anything and there is busses passing in front of the hotel the whole time. Great for family breakaways and very relaxing. The elevators are a bit dodgy especially the service one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coles8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you so much for the review ... it is appreciated. You'll be pleased to know that the lifts are scheduled to go through a full refurbishment this year.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Peninsula Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Peninsula with another couple from June 27th to July 4th, 2014, and our experience provided us with mixed feelings. First, the staff is outstanding. I can't say enough about how easy it was to work with them. The personnel at the front desk were very helpful with directions and recommendations. The room service was the fastest I have ever experienced. Within 5 minutes of my order for coffee every morning, it was delivered. And that raises one of the faults we found with the facility in general. They only supplied instant coffee in the room. There was no coffee maker. In general, the kitchen was only marginally equipped. You will find refrigerator, oven, stove top, and microwave.
My very first recommendation when you check in is ask if you have a choice of rooms. We were assigned to room 806. That room is fine for a family with small children or for one adult couple. The second bedroom was very strange. It had one wall that did not go all the way to the ceiling and a window that was open to the kitchen. I have never seen a configuration like that. The other couple who had that room complained justifiably that they had no privacy. They could hear every noise generated throughout the unit. The bathroom was also not en suite. They had to go into the hallway to enter the bathroom. The master bedroom was fine except it had windows that opened onto the outside hall. That never presented a problem for us because the neighbors were not noisy. But we also didn't want to leave the windows open at night either. The kitchen was too small for more than one person at a time. By far the best feature that room 806 had was its balcony. But the overall environment was simply not suitable, so we asked to be moved to another room. We had to wait until Tuesday to move to unit 512. The only complaint anyone had about the new room was that the balcony was too small. But everything else was very nice. The master bedroom had windows that opened onto the ocean. The second bedroom did have an en suite bathroom. All in all we were much more comfortable in 512. The only major drawback was that it cost us an additional 800 rand (just under $80 US per day). The units that we stayed in and looked at had one thing in common--they were all in need of some serious renovation. The hotel was built in the late 1990's, and it's showing it's age.
They do have a restaurant in the hotel, but we only ate there once--for breakfast. It was an unexceptional meal. All they have for breakfast is a buffet. Limp waffles aren't my cup of tea. The room service menu does not even offer breakfast items--only lunch and dinner. Since we didn't avail ourselves of any other meals, I can't testify to the quality of the food.
The best thing about the hotel is its location. It is within an easy five minute walk to a nice grocery store, several restaurants, and a laundry facility. We had to use the laundry because the Peninsula does not have washers and dryers available and since we were just off a week long safari in Botswana, we needed clean clothes. The laundry we ended up using was very good and not expensive. We could drop off clothes in the morning, and they were ready for us that afternoon.
Back to the location--if you like to walk, it is reasonably close (between 45 and 60 minutes walk to the Waterfront or to Camp's Bay in the other direction. There are some really nice restaurants in both places. The hotel also provides shuttle service to Table Mountain, the Waterfront, and several other locations. City bus service stops right in front of the hotel, and the Hop On/Hop Off sightseeing buses stop just around the corner. Taxi service to the Waterfront is very reasonably priced as well. In fact, we were amazed at how inexpensive everything was in Cape Town.
Overall, I would stay at The Peninsula again and recommend it to friends. I would be very careful about the room assigned to you, though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank johnsond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula-Hotel, General Manager at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Mr/s Johnson

Thank you for the review, we do have a full soft refurbishment cycle in process and thank you for the feed back it is noted and we are striving always to improve. Although there is no breakfast menu listed in room service, there are separate breakfast menus next to information folder in all suites these can be ordered from and left on door handle at night with time of delivery and our staff doing floor checks collect during the night and breakfast is delivered to the room. It is often difficult on a buffet style service to keep waffles fresh but the chef on hand at buffet will always make you one from the kitchen if you are dissatisfied. I am glad you would recommend and yes there are 16 different layout in our suites and it is important to specify, the two bedroom apartments where the 2nd bedroom is off passage is ideal for children but not necessarily as private if two adults, we request on booking that you make us aware that it will be 4 adults sharing so that these units are not allocated. We are glad that you would recommend our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent 2 weeks at the Peninsula in June - what views, what luxury, what service!!! We were on the 10th floor with a view over the ocean with Robben Island in the distance. A large pod of whales performed fantastically for us as they slowly swam passed and left with a final wave of their tails. From the patio (and in the heated jacuzzi ) you can watch the bright red sun slowly slide down into the sea or look the other way and see Lions Head. The rooms have everything you need, efficient heating, two televisions, jacuzzi bath inside in addition to the one on the patio, well stocked kitchen and very friendly and helpful staff. It is close to good shops, a short bus ride to the Waterfront and if you feel like some exercise there is a heated pool, an indoor gym or an exhilarating walk along the Sea Point promenade. The weather was excellent except for the evenings when you needed the heating! The sound of the waves (that is how close you are to the sea) and the seagulls all add to its perfection. A wonderful holiday and we will definitely be back next year! Margaret Bastiaans

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor which gave the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRJBFourways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula-Hotel, General Manager at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Margaret

Thank you for your compliments they are always well received by the team as we strive to provide levels of service above expectation particularly when the whales come to the party, I hope other readers find this useful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
303 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#23 of 110 in Cape Town Central
534 reviews
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cascades on the Promenade
#46 of 110 in Cape Town Central
387 reviews
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#37 of 110 in Cape Town Central
462 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel

Address: 313 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £130 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula All Hotel Cape Town Central
Peninsula Cape Town
Peninsula All Suite Hotel
Cape Town Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel Cape Town
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing