We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The End of our Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Ranked #89 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our Honeymoon from 15th - 18th January and it didn't disappoint. We were only staying for three nights and on a bed and breakfast tariff because we wanted to spend as much time exploring Cape Town. From our arrival to our departure the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We were a bit jaded when we arrived but entering our room really cheered us up. It was one of the superior rooms and was at the front of the hotel. We overlooked the Victoria and Alfred Harbour and the stadium to the front and out of our bathroom window was the most superb view of table mountain. The room was a small apartment. The living / dining room was very comfortable and big and the bedroom was large as well. The bathroom was a good size with a separate bath and shower. There was a small kitchen which served our needs and we would have used more if we'd been staying longer. We had a balcony at the front as well which we enjoyed sitting out on. The day after our arrival we went up Table Mountain....wonderful..spectacular.....and the day after that we spent by the harbour and did a bus hop on hop off tour (recommended) as you get to see a lot more of Cape Town. The breakfasts we had each morning were good. Not a bad selection of fruits, meats and a cooked breakfast. Set us up for the day. The room and the rest of the hotel were very clean. There is a small pool which we didn't use but that was only because our days were so full. The hotel was a great base for exploring Cape Town and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paws884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Paws884

Thank you for your positive feeback regarding our facilities and location. We are pleased that you were happy with the accommodation.

We hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Cape Castle in the future.


Kind Regards
David Wilson Poe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

We went to Cape Town for two weeks at the end of January with our three kids and stayed at the Cape Castle Protea Hotel. It was a fantastic stay, the reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, nothing was too much, even when our baby dropped our car key down the lift shaft and the maintenance man went down to retrieve it. They also gave excellent tourist advice. The rooms were very spacious, with a big lounge/dining area, large balcony and large main bedroom. The bathroom had a larger than normal bath with a separate stand-up shower. The room also had a kitchenette, so we could self-cater, keeping costs down and a lovely pool and restaurant on the premises. The balcony did overlook a highway, which was quite noisy, but we were not there enough to let this deter us, and when the doors were closed the room was very quiet. The hotel is very well located, close to the V&A Waterfront, Sea Point and the Atlantic coastline, yet also close to the highway with easy access to Simonstown and Winelands. I can highly recommend this hotel as a good combination of self-catering and hotel, excellent value for money for a family holiday.

Room Tip: The sea-side views have the balconies - the balcony does overlook a highway, but if you are higher u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonlass365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Iondonlass365

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our central location, spacious rooms, kitchenette and views are some of our best features. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Cape Castle.

Kind Regards
David Wilson Poe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The hotel is well located for access to central Cape Town plus the V&A Waterfront. The rooms are spacious/good size and were clean. The breakfast was good.

Unfortunately the air conditioning units in the room were old and extremely noisy plus did not function added to which there was an electrical short in the middle of the night with a smell of burning and the A/c's ceased to function. Another negative factor was the smell of sewerage in the bathroom.

The parking facility although small was good and secure

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lefkoseikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This time round we stayed at the Protea Hotel Cape Castle for a while longer, 23 December 2012 to 4 January 2013. Once again it was like arriving at home. All the staff were so friendly and accommodating and it was once again a pleasant stay.

The room was very comfortable and spacious. If you want space, then choose one of the Superior Bedroom Apartments. They are situated at the front of the hotel overlooking the V&A Waterfront. Also the ideal spot if you want to enjoy the CT fireworks on New Year's Eve from the comfort of your own private ( spacious ) balcony. You cannot ask for more really.

The hotel is also within walking distance from the V&A Waterfront, the Cape Town CBD, the Company Gardens, the Cape Town ICC, the Cape Town Stadium and the Bo-Kaap. It is also situated close to a rather large Woolies ( in Main Rd ) and also around the corner from Cape Quarter Lifestyle Village where there are various great shops including a fabulous Spar, various great restaurants and lifestyle and fashion outlets. The hotel is also close to various other great restaurants and fast food outlets. They always say it is about location, location, location, well, this hotel has it.

One thing however is a bit of a pain, noisy children and slamming doors. I cannot understand parent cannot control their children. Everyone is there for a relaxing time to take a break and then you don't want top deal with other people's children misbehaving. The slamming of doors, well, maybe some kind of "device" can be attached to the doors preventing it from slamming ? I dunno.

Safe parking, undercover parking, is also available at a fee, but it is worth it, however, don't try and park your limo there, space is a bit limited and ideal for small t medium sized cars.

All and all, a big thumbs up for Protea Hotel Cape Castle - you offer it all, great accommodation, well located at a great price.

Room Tip: Superior Bedroom Apartments. They are situated at the front of the hotel overlooking the V&A Wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Good Day Douw

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel spacious, comfortable and central for all your activities.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
David Wilson Poe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I travelled with my wife to cape town for 4 nights 5 days and stayed at hotel cape castle. It is actually an apartment hotel. Check in was quick. The apartment allotted to us had one sitting room with kitchenette capable of cooking small meals, one bedroom with attached bathroom. Rooms were neat and adequately furnished and reasonable in size.The hotel has a restaurant serving breakfast and small meals It overlooked main street of green point and about 15 minutes walk from Waterfront. Down town is about 20 to 25 minutes walk. The area is safe and super market is about 5 minutes walking distance away. From the water front one can take city sight seeing bus which will take you around to all of cape towns attraction for 220 ZAR except cape point and robben island. Staff was very helpful and helped us organize private taxi for a day tour to Cape Point and Hermanus (Whale capital of the world) at a very reasonable price of about 1500 ZAR. It is actually advisable to stay for a day in Hermanus which is about 120 kms. away from cape town rather than take a day tour. I would recommend the hotel as a good option to stay for tourist. We enjoyed the place.

Room Tip: Front side on higher floor if you like to sit in the balcony and have overview of Cape town at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Collumbus2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Collumbus2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted you were comfortable and central for all your activities.

Come back and visit Cape Town again.

Kind Regards
David Wilson Poe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

When in Cape Town I usually stay at the Protea Breakwater Lodge. With the Breakwater booked for the holiday week, we decided to try the Protea Cape Castle- it did not disappoint. As mentioned in other reviews, the Cape Castle is in a prime location- a 10-15 minute walk to the Waterfront. The area is quite safe and we never felt uneasy walking back and forth from the hotel. The location is a little further from the town center and I would recommend catching a cab to visit some of those sites.

The rooms were clean and staff were very friendly. The hotel boasts a nice pool on the ground level overlooking the road. While it wasn't beachfront, it was a nice place to relax at the beginning or end of the day.

The only inconvenience was that one of the elevators was broken for most of the week. While I can understand that it may take a day to fix, the problem went on for 3-4 days and led to us carrying out 3 suitcases down six flights of stairs to check out.

Overall, we had a very nice stay at the Cape Castle and would recommend it to anyone with a modest budget looking to stay near the Waterfront.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear Peter G

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are pleased you found the hotel comfortable and clean and the STAFF friendly and helpful.

Apologies about the lift. The sensors were playing up resulting in delays. Although the contractors were called immediately it took some days to forward parts from Johannesburg. The lifts remained running but more slowly than normal.

We hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Cape Castle.

Kind Regards
David Wilson Poe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My daughter and I spent 9 wonderful nights at the Protea Cape Castle, and felt we were among friends and family. Many weeks before arrival, I received excellent support from Reservations Manager, Ms. Thersia Johnson, who was patient with my endless questions, and greeted us like old friends when we arrived. Every staff person we encountered was helpful, professional and cordial--none more so than our beloved Patience, who became our sister away from home. The facility itself is clean and surprisingly quiet, given the central location and full capacity of the hotel during Christmas week. It was a pleasant 10-15 minute walk to the V&A Waterfront, and perhaps 15-20 minutes to the center of town--a perfect location, as we did not need/want to rent a car. For airport pick-ups and numerous "transfers" around the Cape Town area, we enjoyed the impeccably professional services of Mr. Brendan Fryer, who also took us on a magnificent private tour of the Peninsula, all the way to the Cape of Good Hope. His fees are competitive, and far superior for us to organized commercial tours. We thank everyone at the Protea Cape Castle for a memorable, joyful stay.

Room Tip: We did not have a balcony, but some rooms do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeenaBarlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear DeenaBarlev

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Cape Town and that our STAFF and facilities made you feel at home.

There are lots to do and see in Cape town so please come back and visit us soon.

Kind Regards
David Wilson Poe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#57 of 110 in Cape Town Central
657 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#52 of 110 in Cape Town Central
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#81 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,025 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#74 of 110 in Cape Town Central
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterfront Village
Waterfront Village
#69 of 110 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle

Address: 3 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Cape Castle)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £73 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Cape Castle, a 3 star hotel, is every traveler’s home away from home. The ultimate in self-catering, the hotel comprises of 65 fully serviced luxury apartment suites. No matter which apartment you stay in, wake up to great views of the waterfront, city or mountain. The apartments comprise of an en-suite bathroom, a comfortable lounge (with sleeper couch for extra GUESTS or children), dining area, a fully-equipped kitchen, a workplace for busy executives, air conditioning and satellite TV. Could you ask for more? In case you do, Protea Hotel Cape Castle features a rim-flow pool overlooking the V&A Waterfront, plenty of undercover parking and 24-hour security, photocopying, telephone, e-mail, limited free connectivity WIFI and internet. When you get tired of cooking pop down to the Tribes Restaurant which serves full English buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch and dinner daily. The hotel is within easy strolling distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the CBD, Green Point Stadium, sidewalk bistros and some of Cape Town's most exciting restaurants, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing