We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Ranked #88 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I picked this hotel after reading reviews on this site and initially booked to stay for a 4 day vacation. i was picked up at the airport by a hotel shuttle and spent the drive into Cape Town in the hands of a very pleasant driver who gave me the latest local news and best activities to look out for on such a short trip.
The Hotel is located on a busy road, that gives easy access to to the CBD, one can walk quite safely or take a commuter taxi or a cab, all very well priced. The location is also a mere 15 minute walk to the water front which is what I frequently did, ut took a cab back to the hotel there after, at 40 rands each way it was affordable.
the hotel is also close to lots of restaurants, a small mall and two supermarkets. This came in handy as I was booked in on a room only basis. Finding a meal was very easy.
The hotel is small and well put together.I found it clean and the staff polite and efficient. The rooms comprised of a small living room and a bedroom. the couch was comfy and the limited satellite channels were well chosen to offer variety. The linen was nice and clean, the bathroom was modern and kept clean. there was a well equipped kitchenette.
i was on the fifth floor and had a balcony to take in the wind and had a view of the water front in the distance and signal hill at the back. The noise from the cars below was not a problem.
They offered 100Mb of wifi free every day, the speed was OK.

Overall this is a budget hotel that is clean and well positioned for all cape town activities. I would definitely say there again because i did get value for my money.

Room Tip: take a room on the higher floors to avoid car noise from the street.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NairobiDreamweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear NairobiDreamweaver

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted you were comfortable and close to all Cape Town's attractions.

We look forward to you returning to Cape Town.

Kind Regards
David Wilson Poe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

The first time we stayed in Cape Town was in 1999. We are not city people, but Cape Town is difference……..it was love at first sight :-)
So we came back and found Cape Castle and later “our” superior room with a stunning view of the Table Mountain and Waterfront. A nice and large living-, sleeping- and bathroom for an enjoyable and luxury stay. Even a great balcony where we had breakfast in the morning with toasted bread, baked eggs and coffee we made in its kitchen overlooking a beautiful and if we are early a sunrice view. Sometimes by night we used the braai………brought on request. And with even a nice view over the illuminated city.
The rooms are full air-conditioned and as necessary you can switch them as heater………very comfortable!!
Many thanks to management for your hospitality, your kindness and also your friendly staff.
For sure we will come back :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert_en_Brigitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Albert_en_Brigitta

Thank you for taking the time to post a reveiw following your recent stay.

It's great that you enjoy Cape Town and return so often. It is our pleasure to be your home away from home.

Kind Regards
David and the TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Rooms well appointed, with good linen, though in need of a bit of upkeep. The mattresses in our room were seriously sagging. We had a stunning view of the mountain.

Breakfast offerings were appalling. When I went for breakfast one morning at 10:00 (breakfast ends at 10:30), besides the cereal and sad collection of fruit, there was 1 pastry and 1 muffin left with no alternatives offered. The hot breakfast had clearly been in the bain-maries since early morning (except eggs which are prepared to order). All this for R95 (continental) and R135 (continental and cooked breakfast) is extortionate.

I accidently left a gold bracelet on the bathroom vanity, and it disappeared. It was my own fault for forgetting to lock it away in the safe, but I find it horrendous that staff are so opportunistic as to remove valuable items from guest rooms. It disappeared on our last day, and when I called the manager Edwin, he promised to get back to me, but never did.

I would not stay here again. You get the feeling management simply don’t do enough to maintain acceptable standards.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our Honeymoon from 15th - 18th January and it didn't disappoint. We were only staying for three nights and on a bed and breakfast tariff because we wanted to spend as much time exploring Cape Town. From our arrival to our departure the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We were a bit jaded when we arrived but entering our room really cheered us up. It was one of the superior rooms and was at the front of the hotel. We overlooked the Victoria and Alfred Harbour and the stadium to the front and out of our bathroom window was the most superb view of table mountain. The room was a small apartment. The living / dining room was very comfortable and big and the bedroom was large as well. The bathroom was a good size with a separate bath and shower. There was a small kitchen which served our needs and we would have used more if we'd been staying longer. We had a balcony at the front as well which we enjoyed sitting out on. The day after our arrival we went up Table Mountain....wonderful..spectacular.....and the day after that we spent by the harbour and did a bus hop on hop off tour (recommended) as you get to see a lot more of Cape Town. The breakfasts we had each morning were good. Not a bad selection of fruits, meats and a cooked breakfast. Set us up for the day. The room and the rest of the hotel were very clean. There is a small pool which we didn't use but that was only because our days were so full. The hotel was a great base for exploring Cape Town and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paws884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Paws884

Thank you for your positive feeback regarding our facilities and location. We are pleased that you were happy with the accommodation.

We hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Cape Castle in the future.


Kind Regards
David Wilson Poe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We went to Cape Town for two weeks at the end of January with our three kids and stayed at the Cape Castle Protea Hotel. It was a fantastic stay, the reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, nothing was too much, even when our baby dropped our car key down the lift shaft and the maintenance man went down to retrieve it. They also gave excellent tourist advice. The rooms were very spacious, with a big lounge/dining area, large balcony and large main bedroom. The bathroom had a larger than normal bath with a separate stand-up shower. The room also had a kitchenette, so we could self-cater, keeping costs down and a lovely pool and restaurant on the premises. The balcony did overlook a highway, which was quite noisy, but we were not there enough to let this deter us, and when the doors were closed the room was very quiet. The hotel is very well located, close to the V&A Waterfront, Sea Point and the Atlantic coastline, yet also close to the highway with easy access to Simonstown and Winelands. I can highly recommend this hotel as a good combination of self-catering and hotel, excellent value for money for a family holiday.

Room Tip: The sea-side views have the balconies - the balcony does overlook a highway, but if you are higher u...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonlass365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Iondonlass365

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our central location, spacious rooms, kitchenette and views are some of our best features. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Cape Castle.

Kind Regards
David Wilson Poe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The hotel is well located for access to central Cape Town plus the V&A Waterfront. The rooms are spacious/good size and were clean. The breakfast was good.

Unfortunately the air conditioning units in the room were old and extremely noisy plus did not function added to which there was an electrical short in the middle of the night with a smell of burning and the A/c's ceased to function. Another negative factor was the smell of sewerage in the bathroom.

The parking facility although small was good and secure

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lefkoseikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This time round we stayed at the Protea Hotel Cape Castle for a while longer, 23 December 2012 to 4 January 2013. Once again it was like arriving at home. All the staff were so friendly and accommodating and it was once again a pleasant stay.

The room was very comfortable and spacious. If you want space, then choose one of the Superior Bedroom Apartments. They are situated at the front of the hotel overlooking the V&A Waterfront. Also the ideal spot if you want to enjoy the CT fireworks on New Year's Eve from the comfort of your own private ( spacious ) balcony. You cannot ask for more really.

The hotel is also within walking distance from the V&A Waterfront, the Cape Town CBD, the Company Gardens, the Cape Town ICC, the Cape Town Stadium and the Bo-Kaap. It is also situated close to a rather large Woolies ( in Main Rd ) and also around the corner from Cape Quarter Lifestyle Village where there are various great shops including a fabulous Spar, various great restaurants and lifestyle and fashion outlets. The hotel is also close to various other great restaurants and fast food outlets. They always say it is about location, location, location, well, this hotel has it.

One thing however is a bit of a pain, noisy children and slamming doors. I cannot understand parent cannot control their children. Everyone is there for a relaxing time to take a break and then you don't want top deal with other people's children misbehaving. The slamming of doors, well, maybe some kind of "device" can be attached to the doors preventing it from slamming ? I dunno.

Safe parking, undercover parking, is also available at a fee, but it is worth it, however, don't try and park your limo there, space is a bit limited and ideal for small t medium sized cars.

All and all, a big thumbs up for Protea Hotel Cape Castle - you offer it all, great accommodation, well located at a great price.

Room Tip: Superior Bedroom Apartments. They are situated at the front of the hotel overlooking the V&A Wat...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Good Day Douw

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel spacious, comfortable and central for all your activities.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
David Wilson Poe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 111 in Cape Town Central
628 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#70 of 111 in Cape Town Central
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 111 in Cape Town Central
342 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#68 of 111 in Cape Town Central
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterfront Village
Waterfront Village
#71 of 111 in Cape Town Central
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle

Address: 3 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Cape Castle)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £78 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Cape Castle, a 3 star hotel, is every traveler’s home away from home. The ultimate in self-catering, the hotel comprises of 65 fully serviced luxury apartment suites. No matter which apartment you stay in, wake up to great views of the waterfront, city or mountain. The apartments comprise of an en-suite bathroom, a comfortable lounge (with sleeper couch for extra GUESTS or children), dining area, a fully-equipped kitchen, a workplace for busy executives, air conditioning and satellite TV. Could you ask for more? In case you do, Protea Hotel Cape Castle features a rim-flow pool overlooking the V&A Waterfront, plenty of undercover parking and 24-hour security, photocopying, telephone, e-mail, limited free connectivity WIFI and internet. When you get tired of cooking pop down to the Tribes Restaurant which serves full English buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch and dinner daily. The hotel is within easy strolling distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the CBD, Green Point Stadium, sidewalk bistros and some of Cape Town's most exciting restaurants, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing