We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, clean, good staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Ranked #80 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Basic, clean, good staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights from 26-28 July 2013.
It is basic and clean and cost us $85 per night for a twin, no breakfast.
The room has cooking facilities and there is a supermarket 3 minutes walk from the hotel.
Genevieve, the front desk lady was lovely, and very helpful. She made our stay worthwhile and gave us tips where to go and where to get lovely curios.
The only small problem that I had in my room (66) is that the second curtain, next to the bed, does not completely cover the bottom of the window so you are woken up by the bright light much earlier than you want to wake up.
The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the waterfront. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mukuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Makuma

Thank you for your feedback regarding our facilities and location. We are pleased that you were happy with the accommodation.

I shall be pleased to convey your positive feedback to Genevieve.

We hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Cape Castle.

Kind Regards
David Wilson Poe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    94
    49
    16
    2
See reviews for
43
59
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at the Protea Hotel Cape Castle in April. When we booked in there was an advertisement that the rooms were R895 for the one night only. When we went to book a room, we were charged nearly double that rate, and given a twin bed room instead of a double. The reception staff were not overly friendly, and not very well trained at all! We work in the same industry and I was shocked that the standard of the staff at the protea staff were so low.

The room we stayed at was fine, it was clean and well maintained, the lift was very dirty, the whole duration of our stay.

All in all quite a dissapointing stay, we wont be going back there, and we spesifically booked into the Protea Hotel and paid more than we could have done in a guest house, because we thought that we could rely on a good experience because it is a Protea Hotel, but unfortunately we were wrong this time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed for one night at the hotel, enroute to the West Coast. The hotel is small, rooms are small. It is clean, with the added advantage of a kitchenette in the room which was handy. There is no restaurant however there is the option of getting food delivered via Mr Delivery. If you are looking for a superior hotel, this is not it. However if you are looking for something simple, clean and you are not fussed about size then it is alright.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batsamai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Batsamai

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased you found the hotel clean and comfortable.

We are sorry you were unaware we are a full service hotel. Our Restaurant provides a full buffet breakfast and an a la carte menu for lunch, dinner and light snacks. Our Room Service, with an extensive menu, operates from 07:00 to 23:00 daily. All these facilites are listed in our in room GUEST Directory of Services.

Kind Regards
David Wilson Poe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I picked this hotel after reading reviews on this site and initially booked to stay for a 4 day vacation. i was picked up at the airport by a hotel shuttle and spent the drive into Cape Town in the hands of a very pleasant driver who gave me the latest local news and best activities to look out for on such a short trip.
The Hotel is located on a busy road, that gives easy access to to the CBD, one can walk quite safely or take a commuter taxi or a cab, all very well priced. The location is also a mere 15 minute walk to the water front which is what I frequently did, ut took a cab back to the hotel there after, at 40 rands each way it was affordable.
the hotel is also close to lots of restaurants, a small mall and two supermarkets. This came in handy as I was booked in on a room only basis. Finding a meal was very easy.
The hotel is small and well put together.I found it clean and the staff polite and efficient. The rooms comprised of a small living room and a bedroom. the couch was comfy and the limited satellite channels were well chosen to offer variety. The linen was nice and clean, the bathroom was modern and kept clean. there was a well equipped kitchenette.
i was on the fifth floor and had a balcony to take in the wind and had a view of the water front in the distance and signal hill at the back. The noise from the cars below was not a problem.
They offered 100Mb of wifi free every day, the speed was OK.

Overall this is a budget hotel that is clean and well positioned for all cape town activities. I would definitely say there again because i did get value for my money.

Room Tip: take a room on the higher floors to avoid car noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NairobiDreamweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear NairobiDreamweaver

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted you were comfortable and close to all Cape Town's attractions.

We look forward to you returning to Cape Town.

Kind Regards
David Wilson Poe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

The first time we stayed in Cape Town was in 1999. We are not city people, but Cape Town is difference……..it was love at first sight :-)
So we came back and found Cape Castle and later “our” superior room with a stunning view of the Table Mountain and Waterfront. A nice and large living-, sleeping- and bathroom for an enjoyable and luxury stay. Even a great balcony where we had breakfast in the morning with toasted bread, baked eggs and coffee we made in its kitchen overlooking a beautiful and if we are early a sunrice view. Sometimes by night we used the braai………brought on request. And with even a nice view over the illuminated city.
The rooms are full air-conditioned and as necessary you can switch them as heater………very comfortable!!
Many thanks to management for your hospitality, your kindness and also your friendly staff.
For sure we will come back :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert_en_Brigitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Albert_en_Brigitta

Thank you for taking the time to post a reveiw following your recent stay.

It's great that you enjoy Cape Town and return so often. It is our pleasure to be your home away from home.

Kind Regards
David and the TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solwezi, Zambia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Rooms well appointed, with good linen, though in need of a bit of upkeep. The mattresses in our room were seriously sagging. We had a stunning view of the mountain.

Breakfast offerings were appalling. When I went for breakfast one morning at 10:00 (breakfast ends at 10:30), besides the cereal and sad collection of fruit, there was 1 pastry and 1 muffin left with no alternatives offered. The hot breakfast had clearly been in the bain-maries since early morning (except eggs which are prepared to order). All this for R95 (continental) and R135 (continental and cooked breakfast) is extortionate.

I accidently left a gold bracelet on the bathroom vanity, and it disappeared. It was my own fault for forgetting to lock it away in the safe, but I find it horrendous that staff are so opportunistic as to remove valuable items from guest rooms. It disappeared on our last day, and when I called the manager Edwin, he promised to get back to me, but never did.

I would not stay here again. You get the feeling management simply don’t do enough to maintain acceptable standards.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our Honeymoon from 15th - 18th January and it didn't disappoint. We were only staying for three nights and on a bed and breakfast tariff because we wanted to spend as much time exploring Cape Town. From our arrival to our departure the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We were a bit jaded when we arrived but entering our room really cheered us up. It was one of the superior rooms and was at the front of the hotel. We overlooked the Victoria and Alfred Harbour and the stadium to the front and out of our bathroom window was the most superb view of table mountain. The room was a small apartment. The living / dining room was very comfortable and big and the bedroom was large as well. The bathroom was a good size with a separate bath and shower. There was a small kitchen which served our needs and we would have used more if we'd been staying longer. We had a balcony at the front as well which we enjoyed sitting out on. The day after our arrival we went up Table Mountain....wonderful..spectacular.....and the day after that we spent by the harbour and did a bus hop on hop off tour (recommended) as you get to see a lot more of Cape Town. The breakfasts we had each morning were good. Not a bad selection of fruits, meats and a cooked breakfast. Set us up for the day. The room and the rest of the hotel were very clean. There is a small pool which we didn't use but that was only because our days were so full. The hotel was a great base for exploring Cape Town and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paws884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Paws884

Thank you for your positive feeback regarding our facilities and location. We are pleased that you were happy with the accommodation.

We hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Cape Castle in the future.


Kind Regards
David Wilson Poe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#66 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#77 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Address: 3 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Cape Castle)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Cape Castle, a 3 star hotel, is every traveler’s home away from home. The ultimate in self-catering, the hotel comprises of 65 fully serviced luxury apartment suites. No matter which apartment you stay in, wake up to great views of the waterfront, city or mountain. The apartments comprise of an en-suite bathroom, a comfortable lounge (with sleeper couch for extra GUESTS or children), dining area, a fully-equipped kitchen, a workplace for busy executives, air conditioning and satellite TV. Could you ask for more? In case you do, Protea Hotel Cape Castle features a rim-flow pool overlooking the V&A Waterfront, plenty of undercover parking and 24-hour security, photocopying, telephone, e-mail, limited free connectivity WIFI and internet. When you get tired of cooking pop down to the Tribes Restaurant which serves full English buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch and dinner daily. The hotel is within easy strolling distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the CBD, Green Point Stadium, sidewalk bistros and some of Cape Town's most exciting restaurants, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing