We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Superior Room. Safety concerns.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Ranked #86 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We were happily surprised to see a very large room upon our March 18, 2010 arrival, having booked a Superior Room at the higher rate. We were put on the 3rd floor and our room was directly over the pool. The room was more like a New York City one bedroom apartment, very large, reasonably clean with an acceptable bathroom. Parking was included in the garage and driving to and from the Waterfront was nice. However, that night we found that the lock to the living room window had been broken, such that anyone could step right into our room from the adjoining roof/pool area. This was a major safety concern, and when we spoke with reception, they said it couldn't be fixed. We wedged a chair in the window to keep it closed. Secondly, the shower door did not close fully, and any shower would flood the bathroom. All of the faucets (2) seemed to be improperly installed and were loose and falling out. Ifyou could arrange to have a higher floor room (which I specifically requested in MY reservation and was not granted) this hotel would be acceptable. However, this was not a safe neighborhood and the broken window was cause for alarm.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epimediums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2010

We really enjoyed staying at Cape Castle. We booked a superior room on the 8th floor which had wonderful views of the waterfront and the Green Point world cup stadium. From the large bathroom we had a wonderful view of Table Mountain - really lovely to wake up to. The large one bedroom had 2 large single beds pushed together. Lots of room to walk around in and lots of windows to see the views. The large lounge/kitchen was very comfortable with a sofa bed for my children. The kitchen was well equip with fridge, microwave, kettle etc. Our large balcony even had a gas BBQ and table and chairs.
The pool was small and water very cold - although our children enjoyed it! There are only a few sun loungers around the pool but very comfortable ones with thick sponge mattresses.
We used the car park as had hired a car. We were charged R40 per day which I don't think was bad.
The policy is check out at 11am however our flight was not until 1020pm. We advised the staff of this and they did give us courtesy room to use which we were not charged for - very much appreciated!
The staff were very friendly, happy and ready to help and the room was very clean with fluffy soft towels changed daily and crisp white linen sheets on comfortable beds. Would stay here again as thought the location was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ggjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I stayed four nights, on a business trip. The suite was spacious, very comfortable, very clean. However, the claim in their brochure of "magnificient views of either the Waterfront or Table Mountain from every apartment" are not accurate. I had a side room that overlooked the adjoining apartment block - no sign of either sea or mountain. The views only apply if you are fairly high up and facing in the right direction - so make sure you ask for one of those rooms. Also the description "directly adjacent to the V & A Waterfront" is another exaggeration - you have to cross two busy dual carriageway roads and walk another couple of blocks - about 20 minutes in all - but still reasonably convenient.
Food was OK but nothing special. I found a good deli 10 minutes walk away and brought stuff back. Breakfast was expensive for what you got - local restaurants, even those on the Waterfront, were better value.
Best thing about this hotel was the friendliness of the staff - excellent service at every turn. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Special thanks to Genevieve on reception who went out of her way to be helpful - also the other reception staff and the guys downstairs on security.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shireen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed at the Protea Hotel Cape Castle from the 22nd – 25th July and 16th – 17th August 2009. My party consisted of two adults and two children (aged 10 and 8 years).

We have previously stayed in a range of Cape Town establishments including the Mount Nelson, Victoria Junction and the Tudor Hotel. We chose the Protea Cape Castle for a number of reasons including value for money, location and size of apartment. The complex is within a 10/15 minute walk of central Cape Town or going in the opposite direction, the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront. We did a lot of walking in both directions (during the day) and never felt concerned regarding safety. The Café Sofia, located about 300 yards away next to the Victoria Junction Protea Hotel, offers free WiFi for customers, which proved a useful breakfast type location.

The Protea Hotel Cape Castle is very popular with both foreign tourists and South African residents. Our one bedroom apartment was perfectly clean and adequate, including self-catering facilities. The kids slept on a sofa bed in the living room area. We visited the restaurant on one evening and found the place devoid of patrons. We did look at the menu but found a number of items were not available. We decided to look elsewhere as I much prefer a busy restaurant full of happy customers. I ate breakfast once at the hotel because I had a Prokard (Protea loyalty card) voucher. The cooked breakfast was fine but probably a little overpriced when compared with local cafes.

I would have no problem recommending this establishment for families because it represents good value for Cape Town. If there were only two of us I would opt to stay at my favourite hotel, the Mount Nelson.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Like most hotels, the Cape Castle will fit a certain type of traveler. This place would serve as a good basis for a family with a car, that likes to do some cooking. The rooms have kitchenettes with 2 burners, a microwave, and a mini fridge. I had no problems with noise or cleanliness. It is an older hotel, though, and the bathrooms are not so modern. I appreciated the balcony on the room I had for one night. Even back side views - away from the water - are nice in Cape Town.
One negative is the entryway. It's locked at night, which is good. The bad is that the security guard is out of site from the street. He's only inside in the parking lot, not far away, but this could be easily redesigned to remove this problem.
Another positive is that you can walk to the Waterfront complex and will be able to walk to the new sport stadium. However, other tourist attractions would require a car or taxi; if you're just visiting sites inside the city and don't want to drive, I would look at places closer to the Parliament building.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

A very average hotel, with average rooms, average service, great location.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 11 May 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 110 in Cape Town Central
636 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#57 of 110 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waterfront Village
Waterfront Village
#70 of 110 in Cape Town Central
633 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#69 of 110 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#67 of 110 in Cape Town Central
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle

Address: 3 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Cape Castle)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £78 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Cape Castle, a 3 star hotel, is every traveler’s home away from home. The ultimate in self-catering, the hotel comprises of 65 fully serviced luxury apartment suites. No matter which apartment you stay in, wake up to great views of the waterfront, city or mountain. The apartments comprise of an en-suite bathroom, a comfortable lounge (with sleeper couch for extra GUESTS or children), dining area, a fully-equipped kitchen, a workplace for busy executives, air conditioning and satellite TV. Could you ask for more? In case you do, Protea Hotel Cape Castle features a rim-flow pool overlooking the V&A Waterfront, plenty of undercover parking and 24-hour security, photocopying, telephone, e-mail, limited free connectivity WIFI and internet. When you get tired of cooking pop down to the Tribes Restaurant which serves full English buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch and dinner daily. The hotel is within easy strolling distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the CBD, Green Point Stadium, sidewalk bistros and some of Cape Town's most exciting restaurants, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing