We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great personalised service at the Cape Town lodge hotel”
Review of Cape Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Town Lodge
Ranked #77 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 12 March 2013

no matter how long between stays at the Cape Town Lodge - the service each time is outstanding. There are a myriad little personal touches and Cindi Onia the general manager leaves a hand written note for one. If they can spare it, I always get spoilt- last night I was treated to one of the apartments on the 9th floor overlooking Cape Town. This is a great room - I was really sad to be there for only one night!

Room Tip: The 9th floor apartments are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

Great location for business as in well situated. Rates are cheaper on OTA’s than booking direct with the hotel – even as a repeat guest. Does not make sense.
Wi-fi charges are a bit hectic so take your own 3G card.
The Butchers Grill restaurant serves one of the best steaks in Cape Town

Room Tip: If you are there in summer - make sure the air con works. The rooms get extremely hot. Glad to see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InyatiSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

First of all my family and I absolutely loved South Africa and Cape Town was definitely a highlight.

The hotel is located in walking distance to Long Street and all it's restaurants and pubs and also right next to the colorful Bo-Kaap area.
The staff in the reception were accommodating and friendly.
The rooms were pretty large and clean. But the hotel lacks a lot of charm and personality. But who cares, it's outside of the walls all the action and amazing sights, sounds and smells are.

Only major disappointment is the roof-top "pool." It looks pretty huge on the website. It's not. And it tiny. Almost a plunge pool.
And there is absolutely no view from the pool deck, the rooms continue a few stories higher, and therefor block the view.

Luckily there are numerous other opportunities in Cape Town to enjoy sweeping views of one of the world's most beautiful cities, Lions Head, Table Mountain and Robben Island.

I am sure there are a lot better hotels for value in the area, but there wasn't really anything to complain about other than the pool.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view of Bo-Kaap - it will contribute with some color to the dull rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoSoJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

We thought we got the price wrong (r700)when we arrived as we parked in the valet parking. It kept getting better as the lobby was warm and inviting. The room was spacious with tasteful decor. We definitely got everything we wanted and more as we were within walking distance to the waterfront and very close to the restaurants on long street. We spent 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time in cape town.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fergy8642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I really cant complain! The room was clean, neat and tidy. good service. loved the extra detail they paid attention to.swimmingpool refreshing and clean. central and walking distance to town.our fist time here and will def be back

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed at the Cape Town Lodge for nearly two weeks in February while in Cape Town on business. I was given a street-facing room on the 8th floor, which turned out to be fortunate – the higher floors are somewhat removed from street noise, and some rooms have only an interior courtyard for a view. The room itself was reasonably comfortable, although the air conditioner was noisy and often needed adjustment, since it would shut off automatically upon leaving the room. The breakfast buffet offered a good range of choices, but the breakfast room was frequently crowded – I got into the habit of arriving early. I ordered room service two or three times, and the food arrived quickly and was well presented. The fitness center was reasonably well-appointed and, it seemed, hardly ever in use. Wireless Internet access was available, but had to be purchased in pricey 100- or 500-megabyte chunks, and at times the performance was so sluggish that the service was useless. (Wired access in the business center was marginally better.) Overall, the place was adequate but, in my opinion, it didn’t rank as a four-star.

Room Tip: Unless you like inner-courtyard views, ask for a room facing Table Mountain or a room on a high floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martymorell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed for 5 nights with a group of 85 and this hotel was a wonderful experience for all of us. Helpful staff, affordable pricing, full breakfast, great location and beautiful views. We will definitely use this hotel for future tours in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InsoucianceAbroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Parliament Hotel
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
596 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
369 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 110 in Cape Town Central
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#36 of 110 in Cape Town Central
214 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Lodge

Address: 101 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#61 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £35 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Town Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing