We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape Town Lodge
Ranked #71 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by warm and friendly staff. Centrally located within walking distance to the majority of the local attractions including V& A waterfront, the hotel looks like a converted warehouse/factory and has kept that identity on the outside but cosy yet contemporary on the inside. The room was all that we needed and very comfortable. The mini bar was well stocked with prices that were not too far off shop prices.
Breakfast was a joy. Plenty on selection and the staff always on hand to top up your tea or coffee.
We ate at the Butchers grill, the in house restaurant, where the food was pleasantly priced. Both the wife and I had steak, mine being the 350g sirloin, with side of onion rings and two ciders came to £28 for the two of us.
The down sides to the hotel are that the pool is really no bigger than a paddling pool. The picture on the website is the full size of the pool. The internet, though fairly cheap, would be better if it was free to residents. 500mb will cost you just over a tenner which may not be a lot if like me you have not been able to connect to the updates for 3 months.....lots of mb bought!!

Room Tip: The standard room is more than adequate for a good holiday experience. Rooms have own A/C which can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allsopp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    274
    128
    32
    44
See reviews for
72
273
56
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Alex, the Front Desk Clerk, was absolutely fantastic. We stopped by to see a room as we had to move from our vacation rental to a hotel. Alex took the time to show us a room. We told her that we were getting married on the beach in Llandudno the next day as a result, could we check in earlier. She checked and as able to accomodate the early check in. The next day when we returned to check in, we found that Alex had given us a fantastic Table Mountain View suite, which we had not originally requested. The view was spectacular, the room was large and even had a radio and cds of African music for our listening pleasure. The hotel has daily complimentary breakfast and a great restaurant. We loved our stay and will definately recommend this place to others. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Get the Tablemountain Suite. The view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stcroixlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

The Cape Town Lodge is such a pleasant spot to stay, as business or leisure stayers, I sell this property to business users and they are always satified and will request a repeat stay. Well run, pleasant staff and well located.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ingrid l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed here a total of three nights as part of our honeymoon. It was a very good start to visiting South Africa. The lodge is centrally located two streets up from long street, 25 min walk to the water front. The hotel itself manages to create a calm relaxed atmosphere despite being frequented by your busses. You do not even notice. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast had an enough it's choice of good quality food and the I house restaurant Butchers grill can be highly recommended. Steaks are delicious and so is the sticky toffee pudding. Thumbs up and thank u Cape Town lodge team for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Lovely hotel located in the city centre.
20 minute walk to the waterfront. 2 minutes walk from stop 12 city sightseeing bus red route.
5 minute walk to great street of bars and restaurants (long street)
And all for little over R600 per night....couldn't have asked for more....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed 2 days at the hotel and 2 days at the loft apartments on the 9th floor(absolutely spacious) The service was brilliant and the rooms & the loft apartments is beautiful & clean,good value for money.All the staff was very helpful & friendly. Excellent breakfast. i will rate this hotel thus far thee best hotel from all the hotels that i stayed in Capetown.i must say a very big thank you to 2 staff members that was allways of assistance to me namely Elvicia & Themba(Well done guys).Overall and above excellent hotel,will recommend to anyone.Very close to the V&A Waterfront.

Room Tip: Corner suites large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennilee335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly, rooms spacious, clean and comfortable. Excellent in-hotel restaurant. First class breakfast. Conference staff went out of their way to make sure all needs were satisfied. Central location close to shopping area. Good value for money

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Strand Tower Hotel
#49 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#90 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#38 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Lodge

Property: Cape Town Lodge
Address: 101 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#60 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Town Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing