We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Cape Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Town Lodge
Ranked #72 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Terre Rouge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for money”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed there for 4nights...very nice indeed..spacious and confortable room, staff especially from the F&B very friendly at breakfast time,great and experienced barman..great location,can walk to reach the waterfront and to the busiest roads in town..would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    284
    132
    33
    48
See reviews for
74
281
60
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Everything just sucked,car broken and GPS lost in front of the hotel ,lots of additional unknown fees , and bad environment,lots of strange people there.please don't go if you have other choice,really dangerous!!!!!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Eiann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I was happy with the service as a whole but when I booked I was not asked if i wanted a smoking room. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very neat. The barman in the bar was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast served was very nice as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Valencia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This hotel was very comfortable and the staff there were helpful and friendly, The room I occupied was very good, with the bed, TV, air-conditioning, bathroom and other facilities all being of good quality. Wi-Fi was available but was rather expensive. The breakfasts were excellent, with a good choice of dishes, The fruit was particularly good. One criticism: staff knocked on the door every morning for the purpose of checking the fridge contents, On one morning, the enthusiastic lady who was responsible carrying out the checks entered my room while I was still in bed! I was not impressed. However, I reported to the hotel reception staff and they told me that they would ensure that there would be no recurrence of the incident.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDuncanBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

A really nice hotel in the perfect location (an easy walk from Long Street and the Waterfront). Terrific service: we had to change rooms due to a noisy guest nextdoor, and they were very helpful. Good steakhouse downstairs. Overall, excellent value for the money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nordbehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by warm and friendly staff. Centrally located within walking distance to the majority of the local attractions including V& A waterfront, the hotel looks like a converted warehouse/factory and has kept that identity on the outside but cosy yet contemporary on the inside. The room was all that we needed and very comfortable. The mini bar was well stocked with prices that were not too far off shop prices.
Breakfast was a joy. Plenty on selection and the staff always on hand to top up your tea or coffee.
We ate at the Butchers grill, the in house restaurant, where the food was pleasantly priced. Both the wife and I had steak, mine being the 350g sirloin, with side of onion rings and two ciders came to £28 for the two of us.
The down sides to the hotel are that the pool is really no bigger than a paddling pool. The picture on the website is the full size of the pool. The internet, though fairly cheap, would be better if it was free to residents. 500mb will cost you just over a tenner which may not be a lot if like me you have not been able to connect to the updates for 3 months.....lots of mb bought!!

Room Tip: The standard room is more than adequate for a good holiday experience. Rooms have own A/C which can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allsopp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Alex, the Front Desk Clerk, was absolutely fantastic. We stopped by to see a room as we had to move from our vacation rental to a hotel. Alex took the time to show us a room. We told her that we were getting married on the beach in Llandudno the next day as a result, could we check in earlier. She checked and as able to accomodate the early check in. The next day when we returned to check in, we found that Alex had given us a fantastic Table Mountain View suite, which we had not originally requested. The view was spectacular, the room was large and even had a radio and cds of African music for our listening pleasure. The hotel has daily complimentary breakfast and a great restaurant. We loved our stay and will definately recommend this place to others. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Get the Tablemountain Suite. The view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stcroixlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#91 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#70 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Lodge

Property: Cape Town Lodge
Address: 101 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#60 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Town Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing