We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place was fabulous!!”
Review of Cape Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Town Lodge
Ranked #78 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed here last week and were pleasantly surprised!! For $105 USD we got a huge suite with a full sized bar, living room, huge closet and bed, and a 4 piece bathroom. It was nicer and larger than anything you would get for that price in America! The location wasn't far from anything which was nice and Cape Town taxis are very affordable (it was about $5 for a cab to the waterfront). The sightseeing hop on/hop off bus was also just two blocks away so easy to take if you plan on doing that! The staff was AMAZING. So friendly, so accommodating, just so overall fabulous!! They are eager and willing to help with any calls or requests or to call reputable tour companies for you! Plugs for the wall were free and wifi could be purchased for a reasonable fee. We had a wonderful experience at this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amyash2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed there for 4nights...very nice indeed..spacious and confortable room, staff especially from the F&B very friendly at breakfast time,great and experienced barman..great location,can walk to reach the waterfront and to the busiest roads in town..would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Everything just sucked,car broken and GPS lost in front of the hotel ,lots of additional unknown fees , and bad environment,lots of strange people there.please don't go if you have other choice,really dangerous!!!!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eiann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I was happy with the service as a whole but when I booked I was not asked if i wanted a smoking room. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very neat. The barman in the bar was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast served was very nice as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Valencia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This hotel was very comfortable and the staff there were helpful and friendly, The room I occupied was very good, with the bed, TV, air-conditioning, bathroom and other facilities all being of good quality. Wi-Fi was available but was rather expensive. The breakfasts were excellent, with a good choice of dishes, The fruit was particularly good. One criticism: staff knocked on the door every morning for the purpose of checking the fridge contents, On one morning, the enthusiastic lady who was responsible carrying out the checks entered my room while I was still in bed! I was not impressed. However, I reported to the hotel reception staff and they told me that they would ensure that there would be no recurrence of the incident.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDuncanBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

A really nice hotel in the perfect location (an easy walk from Long Street and the Waterfront). Terrific service: we had to change rooms due to a noisy guest nextdoor, and they were very helpful. Good steakhouse downstairs. Overall, excellent value for the money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nordbehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by warm and friendly staff. Centrally located within walking distance to the majority of the local attractions including V& A waterfront, the hotel looks like a converted warehouse/factory and has kept that identity on the outside but cosy yet contemporary on the inside. The room was all that we needed and very comfortable. The mini bar was well stocked with prices that were not too far off shop prices.
Breakfast was a joy. Plenty on selection and the staff always on hand to top up your tea or coffee.
We ate at the Butchers grill, the in house restaurant, where the food was pleasantly priced. Both the wife and I had steak, mine being the 350g sirloin, with side of onion rings and two ciders came to £28 for the two of us.
The down sides to the hotel are that the pool is really no bigger than a paddling pool. The picture on the website is the full size of the pool. The internet, though fairly cheap, would be better if it was free to residents. 500mb will cost you just over a tenner which may not be a lot if like me you have not been able to connect to the updates for 3 months.....lots of mb bought!!

Room Tip: The standard room is more than adequate for a good holiday experience. Rooms have own A/C which can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allsopp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.5 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#55 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
601 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#49 of 110 in Cape Town Central
826 reviews
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#73 of 110 in Cape Town Central
352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Lodge

Address: 101 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#61 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £51 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Town Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing