We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Cape Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Town Lodge
Ranked #79 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location if you are a tourist wanting to do Long Street, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and is on the main route to the beaches on the other side of the mountain. Although the decor and general look and feel of the hotel did not tickle my fancy, its ok. The bed was super comfortable and the room had everything one needs when traveling for one night for business.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryGiraffeRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our company, a UK based oil and gas services company, booked the penthouse suite at Cape Town Lodge with the intention of conducting a number of informal business meetings whilst our directors were in Cape Town.

We arranged a room viewing to ensure the accommodation was suitable and were very clear of our requirements with the hotel staff.

When making our booking we requested if the hotel could supply some additional glasses in the room and were told that they would not do this. Having booked hotel suites all over the world for business purposes we thought this denial of service a bit odd, but it really didn't think it would cause any problems.

A few days later, we were contacted by hotel management who questioned why we would not be taking their conference venue. We told them that this would not be necessary and emphasised that the WHOLE POINT of taking the suite was so we could have informal business discussions.

We were then told "Kindly note multiple people will not be allowed in the Penthouse Suite, this should only be for your private stay". They went on to say "we do not allow any meetings in our Hotel rooms". They then went on to push their conference venue, we declined.

We cancelled our booking and found another, more business friendly, hotel.

A few days after cancelling, they debited my credit card. I have yet to receive a refund or an explanation.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank Family_travels_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I was stayed at the Cape Town Lodge for 5 days. During my stay i had to rearrange my schedule so many times do to the weather and the staff was more than helpful to contact and help arrange more activities for me when i was on my stay. One of the best things i did was go with the company driver and just take a full day trip around the surrounding areas with a very knowledgeable driver who took me anywhere i wanted to go and more. I have recommended and will continue to recommend the Cape Town Lodge to anyone i know.

Thank you for the great experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBrovold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

If there is one thing South African hotels need to improve, it is their staff's interpersonal communication skills. Even though I enjoyed staying at the Cape Town Lodge Hotel, my overall experience was totally ruined on departure. On checking-out I was informed by Earl at the front desk that there was a R55 charge on the mini-bar. I told him that my friend and I never had anything from the mini-bar, but he seemed fairly adament that we should pay. An awkward conversation ensued between us and the hotel staff (another man and women next to Earl). I asked him what it was for and he said "a roll of wine-gums and chocolate raisins". I kept telling him that we didn't have anything and soon realised that I had to start defending myself, coming up with reasons to prove that I did not consume these two items. I felt really terrible in this situation and my friend said he would pay the R55 to end the awkward conversation, but I was not prepared to. The height of rudeness was the women who butted in on the conversation explaining to me (as if I was a child or potential criminal) that there are 7 items placed in the bowl everyday and so if anything is missing then we must pay for it. Really Cape Town Lodge? REALLY? What a joke.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is good location in Cape Town, only 5 mins drive from Victoria and Alberts waterfront where there is great food, shopping and people watching! Cab to hotel was fair (I think like $30ish) although I would rent a car right away if we did it again. Red bus stop is a half a block away from front of hotel and you can buy tix right when you hop on. The bus takes you to the waterfront, table too mountain, all over Cape Town and you can even hop on the blue bus line and do some local wineries! Very good value. Hotel room was dated but comfortable and clean. Pool was very nice but small. Internet which was not free, barely worked so don't bother. This is normal in SA so we just accepted it. There is a subway right next door and a gas station about a block away to get water, snacks etc. Best option for snacks is the woolworths at Victoria and Alberts waterfront mall area. If you do rent a car there is plenty of parking garages at the waterfront and even table too mountain but the red bus is excellent for even a day to get your barrings. Crime is prevalent here and we had 2 kids (maybe 11 years old) try to pick pocket us. They are aggressive and do not stop so I wouldn't walk around unless you are at the waterfront or on the backside beach areas. The good news is that they are very obvious so just keep a look out. Def do not walk anywhere at night! We rented a car a few days in and drove the coast to port Elizabeth stopping at little B&Bs along the way. Best experience of my life and if I had to do it over we would have cut our time in Cape Town short and stayed more along the coast. This hotel is a good value and location for what you need.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank brittwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The stay at this hotel was entirely spoilt by the bad attitude of the staff. The room was adequate and as we had paid bottom rand for this online was appropriate for what we paid. When we wanted to extend for 1 day they doubled the rate and were very rude about it. when we checked online a couple of hours later it was cheaper than what we had originally paid. No wonder they cannot get normal rates for this hotel nor can they afford to hire decent staff!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PixieGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Cape Town Lodge is an excellent choice for reasonably-priced accommodation in central Cape Town. The breakfast was plentiful and the clientele was a mix of tourists and colourfully-dressed African business people. There's an excellent steak restaurant on the premises. The rooms are large and though they aren't super luxurious, they are comfortable and have everything you need. Our room had a great view of Table Mountain. The area is good. There are many restaurants options within easy walking distance. The colourful Bokaap neighbourhood is just across the street. Hotel parking is a bargain. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.5 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#40 of 110 in Cape Town Central
601 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 110 in Cape Town Central
824 reviews
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#74 of 110 in Cape Town Central
352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#57 of 110 in Cape Town Central
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Lodge

Address: 101 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#62 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £54 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Town Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing