We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accommodation, very comfortable.”
Review of Cape Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Town Lodge
Ranked #74 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation, very comfortable.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our daughter Nadine Spencer, bought us an evening at the Cape Town Lodge hotel and what a suprise we got. The room was on the 9th floor with the most beautiful view of table mountain, it felt as though we could reach out and touch it. The room was immaculate and spotless with all the luxury you would expect in a five star establishment. We ordered room service and the service was top notch and not to mention the quality of the meal. One would think that being in the middle of the city it would be noisy, it was quite and very, very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to any one from any where in the world it is most certainly of international standards and more. The staff were so couteous and friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: 9th floor no noise and beautiful views of mountanis and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    286
    136
    35
    49
See reviews for
74
282
61
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LONEHILL, South africa
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Every month I come down to Cape Town and this is the hotel I stay at. I love it. The staff are friendly and the GM Cindi is an added bonus who takes care of her customers. I have stayed in the different rooms and each one is really comfortable and well appointed. The gems are the loft rooms. All I can say about these rooms if you can afford it and want to treat yourself this is a must. These rooms are simply superb with finishes that are incredible. You can do your own self catering here. This breakfast here is good. There is a top notch restaurant in the hotel. The hotel is situated not very far from the Water Front.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Delia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

What can I say?
I was expecting some type if mid level motel experience and this place totally floored us!
The suite was located on the 5th floor and was in the corner; this gave an almost 240 degree view from area 6, table mountain, lion's head to the Malay quarter.
The staff were fantastic, helpful, courteous and were eager and attentive.
u would stay no where else on my next visit to Capetown

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Firstly I was very impressed with the price I got by calling the hotel direct and checking prices and specials. This was better than most online sites, so something to keep in mind in the future. As always, staff were courteous and the check in was efficient. Room was very spacious and clean. Location is also good in that there are various eateries within walking distance and for me access to most highways is essential and this box was also ticked. Will be back as per usual when in Cape Town again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaypeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My colleques and I stayed for at the Hotel for a conference. The attitude of the front desk was appalling to say the lest. The hotel is geared towards the smoking sector wherein the " bar" known as the cigar lounge is a no go area for the non smoker. The parking facilities are cramped and much to be desired. This Hotel scores poorly on my review card.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BranerryZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location if you are a tourist wanting to do Long Street, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and is on the main route to the beaches on the other side of the mountain. Although the decor and general look and feel of the hotel did not tickle my fancy, its ok. The bed was super comfortable and the room had everything one needs when traveling for one night for business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryGiraffeRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our company, a UK based oil and gas services company, booked the penthouse suite at Cape Town Lodge with the intention of conducting a number of informal business meetings whilst our directors were in Cape Town.

We arranged a room viewing to ensure the accommodation was suitable and were very clear of our requirements with the hotel staff.

When making our booking we requested if the hotel could supply some additional glasses in the room and were told that they would not do this. Having booked hotel suites all over the world for business purposes we thought this denial of service a bit odd, but it really didn't think it would cause any problems.

A few days later, we were contacted by hotel management who questioned why we would not be taking their conference venue. We told them that this would not be necessary and emphasised that the WHOLE POINT of taking the suite was so we could have informal business discussions.

We were then told "Kindly note multiple people will not be allowed in the Penthouse Suite, this should only be for your private stay". They went on to say "we do not allow any meetings in our Hotel rooms". They then went on to push their conference venue, we declined.

We cancelled our booking and found another, more business friendly, hotel.

A few days after cancelling, they debited my credit card. I have yet to receive a refund or an explanation.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Family_travels_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.5 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 109 in Cape Town Central
455 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Lodge

Property: Cape Town Lodge
Address: 101 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#60 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Town Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing