We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Town Lodge
Ranked #71 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Cape Town Lodge offered me excellent hospitality which I really enjoyed. I liked the room, conference centre and restaurant - with live music. Not forgetting to mention the hotel staff - good people. The internet facility was also great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank emmanuel_chigwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    279
    131
    33
    46
See reviews for
74
278
58
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gansbaai
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

If one has to be with the any government department in Cape Town, this is the place to stay. They always accommodate me with parking till my meetings are done. This has been my 10th stay and as always my non-smoking room was immaculately clean, reception services excellent and the soothing music at breakfast time really put me in the right frame of mind for the business of the day!
Annelie Rabie

Room Tip: I have stayed in all the rooms - rather to the back and on the street front and I am yet to hear unb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annelierabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, INDIA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Ideally located around the corner of Bo Kaap and walking distance to the night life in Cape Town, its a kind of boutique lodge with extreme comfort for a business traveller and one who would be hosting conferences and meetings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricaSafariIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Comfortable stay, Mini bar stocked very well! and very tempting!

Staff could greet more when you walk past or stand by the lifts with them.

Thanks Cindi (GM) she upgraded us due to problems in the room.

Room Tip: Thank a loft unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayshal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We booked a standard double here via Booking.com and got a very good deal.
In Cape Town, this was excellent value for money, if you are not looking for exceptional quality nor anything with personality.

The room was big, everything in good condition and well taken care of. The location is handy for walking in the city centre and for driving to sights further away.

We did not take their breakfast (it seems pricey), and the wifi does cost extra. We used their chauffeur service once in the city, when the guy at the front desk agreed to take the price down to 50 rands (they first asked 80).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koiruli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Bought a last minute room. Ending up facing a courtyard with windows that where shut so they could not be opened. Big room, clean. Expensive mini bar and a TV which had only a few channels available. Wanted to watch the world cup football for a bit, but the channel got changed when rugby (practice game) started. Very annoying. Central location, but their taxi service was a rip off. We didn't want to drive to a friends party so took a taxi there. R80. On way back, same fare, different company was R40. Their breakfast is R120 so eat somewhere else.

Good safe parking, no free wifi, bathroom ok. Very nice bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nils N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#90 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Lodge

Property: Cape Town Lodge
Address: 101 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#60 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Town Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing