We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to be back!”
Review of Cape Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Town Lodge
Ranked #74 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Great to be back!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

It's always a pleasure returning to this hotel. Despite visiting over a number of years, the level of service and standard of hotel rooms never drops, on the contrary it always seems to get better.

Staff are friendly, amenities are great and it's very central to boot.

Love it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Petshaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    286
    136
    35
    49
See reviews for
74
282
61
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

On a recent visit to Cape Town the choice of Hotel was not an easy task with so much on offer and a variety of prices, some exorbitant.
We wanted to be central with easy access to both city and waterfront and at the same time feel secure in the surrounding environment.

Well, what a pleasant surprise !

From the moment we entered the Cape Town Lodge parking area we were welcomed and made to feel secure.
On checking in, the receptionist was extremely friendly and efficient and within minutes we were in our room and settled in.
The room was exceptional value for money and was spotlessly clean with every comfort provided.
After freshening up we felt like exploring the area for dinner and the front office manager recommended a few places close by, however, one of the front office assistants, being aware that we were from out of town, took the trouble to walk us a few streets away from the hotel where there were several restaurants and ensured that we felt safe before leaving us.
What was surprising to us was the cleanliness of all the areas in the hotel including the service stairway which usually isn't attended to.
We ended up staying 3 nights and will make the Cape Town Lodge our choice of hotel whenever we feel like a lovely 'home from home' break in Cape Town.
This Hotel can be highly recommended in all aspects, as well as price, offering excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The mountain facing rooms on the upper floors are unusually spacious with lovely views of Signal Hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kalvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Well placed central Hotel. The room was extrememly comfortable and spacious. The facilities including the room are clean and well kept. Breakfast caters for all tastes and is well organised. Overall a great experience and will certainly stay there again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank des_morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed three nights at this place.
The room was ok, nothing more than that.

But every time I had a question for the staff they were in able to answer me properly. They have the annoying habit of whispering about the most ordinary thing, for instance like a description of the easiest way to get somewhere.
And they don't give you a straight answer, keep turning round without telling you what you want to know.
They even answer questions which they don't know the answer to, instead of telling you they don't and ask a colleague or look it up...

When they tell you A, it just as well could be B...

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NiekR1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Ths hotel is right in the middle of town and was better than I had expected. The rooms are huge and a king size bed, a little kitchenette with a fully stocked mini- bar and a big bathroom with bath/shower and loo etc. The only downside is that although they have a pool terrace it is surrounded by walls and closed in the winter so even if it is a nice day you cannot sit outside. But I had a very good night there and the restaurant and bar on site are great. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Just be aware the lifts are old and take a while.
Sammy on reception is a gem!!!!

Room Tip: I had a corner room so they are perhaps bigger than others??
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mui Ne, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Found staff very friendly. Room was clean. Everything you would expect. Bar and restaurant lioked nice and reasonably priced. We meant to eat here but never got round to it as we were meeting friends. Pool was closed as it was winter but looked like it would be nice.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Centrally located lodge, some rooms have stunning view on Table mountain. Hotel lobby modern and no frill, rooms are clean, spacey but standard-atmosphere. Breakfast rich, very good steak restaurant. Service friendly. Frequently used by groups.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NikiAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.5 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 109 in Cape Town Central
455 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Lodge

Property: Cape Town Lodge
Address: 101 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#60 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Town Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing