We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel - wish I had chosen elsewhere”
Review of Capetonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capetonian Hotel
Ranked #103 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel - wish I had chosen elsewhere”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I'm a regular world traveller and I had to get to CapeTown on business (from Joburg). I arrived and the hotel HAS NO INTERNET in the rooms, and even in the lobby it was not working! The room smelled very bad from old carpets. There was a shrill ring outside my room at night - like something wrong with the pipes. There is building construction next door and noisy. The breakfast area was total mayhem - hundreds of tourists...I couldn't find an empty table, or clean plate or clean fork! I'm an optimist and barely complain, but this place needs to clean up its act!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bobbik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    99
    97
    34
    30
See reviews for
54
97
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

This is only Muslim hotel in Cape Town, also they have best price & service, this is my first time here & I'm enjoying, you can get free wifi also in ground flor, and food also very cheap, good & halal in Buffe, R112 Rands for anything you want!

98% of tourist place is near (in 1 mile) from hotel, just take a car from hotel or book & enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RaihanTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
344 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The hotel is an the heart of the City bowl, which is a very safe area. Also the free shuttle transfers to V&A Waterfront, which is offered by almost all hotels in that part, is a convenient option.
The rooms on the higher floor has a good view of the ocean! But on the lower floors you can hear the insects in the trees near by!
The staff is friendly and helpful. I had a major issue with the Aircon in my room, as it was making too much noise. On complaining I was shifted to another room which was on the lower floor. I was there only for a night so it was okay, but otherwise could have been a problem.
I faced no such issues, but if you are in Africa - make sure you lock your belongings and keep them with you rather than in any hotel room! Cheaper airport transfers, compared to other hotels in the area.
All in all a decent experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors gives a better view, lower floors will give you noises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Punit29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I have stay at this hotel many times before, so why am I writing about it now?
Well the last time I stayed at the Capetonian was in Decenber of last year ( 2012 )
Now if you know South Africa, you will understand that there is no last minute bookings available at 4 and 5 star hotels in the middle of Cape Town in the middle of the December which is our peak summer holiday season.

I booked 2 family rooms that sleep 4 each in early November. When we arrived at the hotel in December the staff was very friendly and inviting. they offered us free shuttle service because " its crazy to look for parking in cape town " as I was told.
The rooms are spacious, clean, elegant with the main bedrooms having onsuit facilities.
Room service was great, not more that 5 minutes wait. cleaning service was immaculate,
all units have a digital safe but the staff was very trust worthy and nothing lying arouns went missing
We even had breakfast and dinner at the hotel ( It was all Halaal ).

We enjoyed Cape town so much that we wanted to stay another night and the amazing staff made it happen.
One extra night in the middle of Cape Town at the peak of the Summer holidays for two YES TWO families.
The staf at the Capetonian went the extra mile to make it happen, I don't know how but they did ;-)

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less street noise, rooms facing the inner court area have almost zero noise even d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mosma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kottayam, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

my wife and me stayed in the hotel for 3 nights from sep 21st 2012 onwards,the hotel is clean and neat the staff very pleasing and above all the breakfast buffet is excellent,it is not a very luxurious hotel, the reception area is bit small,but for the price ,loction and good clean rooms it is worth ,i would definitley recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiburcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This is my second time at The CAPETONIAN HOTEL in Cape Town and I have been impressed both times as it is spotless and the service is excellent.

It is in the city and directly opposite the CTICC, so it is so easy to reach all the attractions that CT has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This hotel is in a great location for getting around Cape Town...clean and modern very large rooms ,staff very helpful and kind..hotel is near to the VA front and restaurants/shopping is a dream..the hotel had a free shuttle service to the front every hour.. Cape Town is gorgeous.....stay at this hotel for good value and great location...for couple, familys, friends..

Room Tip: On checking in if possible ask for a room over looking table mountain like we did and the staff are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#75 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#64 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#82 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capetonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capetonian Hotel

Property: Capetonian Hotel
Address: Pier Square, | P.O. Box 10, Gatesville, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Capetonian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twelve-story hotel located near waterfront - 5 minutes from town center and 20 minutes from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capetonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capetonian Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing