We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel for business people” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capetonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capetonian Hotel
Ranked #101 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Cape Town
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Hotel for business people”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I had a group of tourists (Doctors and business people with their families) staying for two nights. They were not happy with the rooms. The location is more for the business traveler, as the hotel is in the business district of the city, close to the International Convention Centre. Walking at night from the hotel is not recommended unless in a big group. The lifts took too long to transport guests up and down, thus wasting valuable time. The breakfast was okay. Staff were friendly and helpful. Being on the 11th floor with a group is not a good idea.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AladdinCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    97
    93
    32
    29
See reviews for
54
92
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for a couple of nights. The parrot on reception died the afternoon before we arrived! Very security conscious - the staff press your floor on the lift so you can only get out of the lift on the floor selected by them. We were on the fourth floor - the room was big and fairly luxurious with plenty of room to spread out. It was also quiet. This was our second time staying here and it didn't let us down.
The buffet breakfasts (with eggs and bacon etc cooked to order) did not disappoint.
There is a free shuttle to and from the V & A waterfront which only takes 5 minutes.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful.
We will stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pat g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Was at Cape Town for a conference @ the ICC. This hotel was ideally located and I could walk to and fro with ease when tired of being at ICC. Price was much lower than other similar hotels which are a bit further away. Food was not bad however some of the staff weren't that great in the dining area and one of the porters who almost injured me by trying to squeeze a trolley full of bags into the lift and at the same time making me miss my floor so he could get to where he wanted to first.

Wifi as in most places in CPT is expensive and this hotel was similar and didn't quite work.

Older look and feel inside and in need of a refurb but then prices may go up.

Besides the above, would still think it offers value for money and if they took care of the little things then it would be great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Q b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meguro-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Facilities are usually comfortable. There was no also be troubled with water around. Staff are ちcheerful, and did a polite response. Because the hotel away from the waterfront, shopping might be a little inconvenient. I was able to see the Table Mountain from the window in the room. Be careful to stay away parrot , it will bite you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yukiko721213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alappuzha, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The stay was awsome and i enjoyed it to the best. as i was their only for one day i couldnt go to so many places. Even though where ever i visited it was excellent. Hotel is designed in such a nice way. Planning to come again. thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarathgovind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Location is very good, specially if you are self driving. We had a great bed and breakfast was alright. In the room there was a very loud and annoying noise, probably water running in some pipe. The shower water would be either to hot or too cold. Hotel has a very decadent feeling, most definitely needs some work done.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Xisto65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.3 mi away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#64 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#82 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Inn on the Square
AHA Inn on the Square
#66 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capetonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capetonian Hotel

Property: Capetonian Hotel
Address: Pier Square, | P.O. Box 10, Gatesville, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capetonian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twelve-story hotel located near waterfront - 5 minutes from town center and 20 minutes from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Capetonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capetonian Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing