We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good self catered vilas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Waterkant Village
Ranked #99 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 4 April 2012

De WaterKant village is an interesting andcsafevareaof Cape Town. There is a range of accommodation and we enjoyed two of the cottages. Very well furnished, spacious, much better than a hotel room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to rest your head, in an safe area of the Cape with countless gorgeous shops and restaurants within walking distance, this is the place for you.

De Waterkant area as a whole has a beautiful Mediterranean feel, securely patrolled day and night. The Guest House itself has a small but adequate pool to cool off after a hard days sightseeing and a homely communal area to meet other guests or cook food. The room we stayed in was on the lower ground floor and can best me described as moderate but great value for money. The only downside was the absence of air conditioning with a noisy fan provided as the only compensation.

My advice - stay on the 1st floor. Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Lower ground floor rooms tend to get quite stuffy. Choose the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewBernstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We spent three weeks in this 3 bedroom town house located in the beautiful De Waterkant neighbourhood in Cape Town. It was the best, most cost effective holiday accommodation we have had the pleasure to find in the city!

I recommend it to one and all :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inga N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The area of the hotel is great. The Cape Quarter has lots of lovely restaurants that you can walk to. If you can choose which accommodation type you stay in the De Waterkant Village then go for the Charles as its modern, spacious and if you get a room high up the views are stunning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathaly911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

First off, and this may be a deal breaker for you, there are giant cockroaches. I am a native NY'er and believe me, I know from cockroaches, the ones they have here are huge. Stepping on them to kill them is not an issue for me (I don't like to have to do it on vaca, but whatever...), don't walk around barefoot at night if you have an issue with squashing a roach. That said...

I rented a two bedroom cottage with a friend for several nights in late February and it was great. The cottage was large, clean and had a great double deck with a view of Table Mountain. It's very close to downtown, which is completely walkable in the daytime; there are some very upscale restaurants and two moderate sized shopping malls about two blocks away. There are private guards patrolling the neighborhood 24/7. The staff was aloof during check in and check out, otherwise we had nothing to do with them, which is fine. I would stay here again, I thought the location was terrific and the cottage was great value; and, other than the roaches, no complaints. If I were to stay here again, I might invest in two or three Roach Motels and put them down upon arrival. I can't believe the management had not done same.

Room Tip: I was in the cottage at 77 Loader Street, it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorsalfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, Reservations Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Good Day

Thank you for your comment.

I am sorry to hear that you had to experience the cockroaches in the Village.
We do try our hardest to control the pests in the houses. We will be getting our pest control out to specially spray 77 Loader.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We enjoyed staying here. very quiet, clean and well organised. i even lost a pair of sandals and when we went back there after our stay in Garden Route, it was waiting for me. We will definitely stay there again when we are back in Cape Town. Everything is so conveniently close, restaurants, shops, the V&A , nite life,,,awesome place!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have more space. court yard rooms are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloraBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We have stayed at de Waterkant now for the 4th year running and it has never disappointed us.It was the first time that we rented a one bedroom appartment and it really exceeded our expectations. This is the first time that we did not stay in Loader street and although I was apprehensive at first, waterkant street is just as quiet and picturesque. I would just like to know when are they going to fix the stairs up to Loader street? It's been more than a year now??

Room Tip: Unit WS02(106 Waterkant) is very spacious and has airconditioning. Great appartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skiv-skiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Mowbray
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#77 of 110 in Cape Town Central
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Village
Waterfront Village
#69 of 110 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#74 of 110 in Cape Town Central
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#86 of 110 in Cape Town Central
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockwell All Suite Hotel
Rockwell All Suite Hotel
#60 of 110 in Cape Town Central
577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Waterkant Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Waterkant Village

Address: 137 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £68 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Waterkant Village 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colourful De Waterkant Village is a unique European influenced village of semi-detached quaint cottages and cobbled streets preserved from the 1760’s. Cradled between the city and the V&A Waterfront, De Waterkant Village is avant-garde, a cultural urban refuge highlighted by the abundance of restaurants, art galleries, clubs, salsa clubs, tapas bars and Parisian inspired café’s. Drawing comparisons from cultural and artistic villages from all over the world, De Waterkant embraces individuality and theatricality, echoed in the architecture and vibrancy of its residents and visitors. Walking on the beautiful sidewalks, one cannot help but be caught up in its spell, cast by the beauty of the Dutch influenced architecture, with flower boxes under the windows, sprawling balconies and rooftop decks providing exquisite views and majestic old trees that line the streets, filtering the sun selectively through their branches. This is a place that will tempt you into its fold and dare you to indulge and delight in life’s finer pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Waterkant Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Waterkant Village Hotel Cape Town Central
De Waterkant Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing