We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Waterkant Village
Ranked #94 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with our two daughters. The apartment was very nice with 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms,kitchen and dining room... but the best was the terrace on the roof with the jacuzzi. Free wi-fi at the reception. The staff were very nice and helpfull. The location is excellent because the area is nice and safe and the Waterfront is only 10 minutes by taxi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaoNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for De Waterkant Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

The staff were so helpful recommending restaurants and events such as the show Madame Zingarra which was a night to remember.
The guest house is in a great position for restaurants and bars, the breakfast was excellent.
10 out of 10 in all aspects and will go back and recommend it .
We booked Room 8 which had a great view and small balcony.
All the staff are a credit to Village and Life.

Room Tip: Room 8 had an excellent view and small balcony leading onto the large balcony
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Susan F

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

If you enjoyed room 8 we suggest you return and perhaps experience room 6 one of my favorites.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Our first apt. we were not happy with, a bit run down and obviously needed upgrades but we were moved and upgraded to another lovely apt. a few blocks away and really thank the management for that. It really made our stay comfortable, especially since it was raining and we had to stay inside more than we would have liked. Not having internet in the apt. was a disadvantage but nearby hotspot cafe's were very comfortable with great food. The location was great. Most of the staff were very helpful and the security around the neighborhood was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Susan726
Thank you for your feedback and review. De Waterkant Village consists of historic, modern and renovated properties and therefore we have a diverse collection to choose from. We are grateful that we could assist with an upgrade and that you enjoyed your stay.

Wifi signal in the village is an overall problem and we are looking into different options that will provide sufficient signal. We do have complimentary wifi at our reception area as well as a guest computer station for guests to utilize.

We would love to encourage you to come and experience Cape Town in the summer when it’s not our rainy season.
Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Good value for money, staff was very helpful, friendly and nice. Excellent in-shape flat and large terrace. My flat was well located except for the nightclub nearby -you could hear the music till 1-2am but the noise remained bearable. Just one little minus: I had a minor injury and as a result left a bit of blood on my sheets. Would have been nice to find clean sheets the next evening.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BreizhFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Breizh
Thank you for your review. Due to our convenient location some apartments can experience social noise.

We change our linen after every 4night and unfortunately our housekeeper did notice the marks on the sheet. My apologies for this inconvenience we do try and encourage our guests to report any incidents to our front office.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The reception staff were brilliant, joking with us - sometimes wonderfully inappropriately - making our stay feel really welcoming. The room we booked was very pleasant, with adjoining sitting area and roll-top bath, but on reflection, I think I would have preferred an elevated room with roof-top terrace. Breakfast is served when you provide vouchers - a little peculiar, but no major problem. Breakfast was very good, with a range of choices; service was always very friendly. The location is great for the gay bars, but Cape Town is not quite the gay party city I expected: only at the weekend is there much buzz; weekday nights are quiet. In a sense, the location, although very pretty, is sort of between places, whether the busy but a little soulless V&A Waterfront, or the edgier Long Street.

Room Tip: If you're going to spend the money for a larger room, then book one with a terrace.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, Relief Operations Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Tom,

Thank you for your review in this regard. We are overjoyed to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us during your stay in Cape Town.

As we pride ourselves in providing the best service which Cape Town has to offer, we are delighted to hear that we have contributed to your journey.

We highly recommend that your return visit to Cape Town should take place during our summer period. We can definitely guarantee that you will have an even better experience than before.

We look forward to your return to Cape Town in the near future.

Kind Regards
Bevan Antonie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I loved this place. It was much, much more than I expected, with a very comfortable bed, nice sitting room, lovely setting. Friendly staff. Right in the heart of gay Cape Town. Easy walking distance from downtown attractions and from the V&A Waterfront -- a must in Cape Town!

Room Tip: Don't buy the included breakfast; easier and same price to go to the Café on the corner.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PapaMarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted to hear that we could exceed your expectations for your stay with us in Cape Town.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Excellent place to stay. Staff very efficient and friendly. Room was clean and well maintained. Have recommended the hotel to my friends. The only (slight) negative was obtaining parking. We definately would return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#88 of 111 in Cape Town Central
207 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#41 of 111 in Cape Town Central
212 reviews
Waterfront Village
#71 of 111 in Cape Town Central
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#35 of 111 in Cape Town Central
994 reviews
City Bowl
Ikhaya Lodge
Ikhaya Lodge
#81 of 111 in Cape Town Central
75 reviews
De Waterkant Cottages
#16 of 128 in Cape Town Central
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Waterkant Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Waterkant Village

Address: 137 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £65 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Waterkant Village 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colourful De Waterkant Village is a unique European influenced village of semi-detached quaint cottages and cobbled streets preserved from the 1760’s. Cradled between the city and the V&A Waterfront, De Waterkant Village is avant-garde, a cultural urban refuge highlighted by the abundance of restaurants, art galleries, clubs, salsa clubs, tapas bars and Parisian inspired café’s. Drawing comparisons from cultural and artistic villages from all over the world, De Waterkant embraces individuality and theatricality, echoed in the architecture and vibrancy of its residents and visitors. Walking on the beautiful sidewalks, one cannot help but be caught up in its spell, cast by the beauty of the Dutch influenced architecture, with flower boxes under the windows, sprawling balconies and rooftop decks providing exquisite views and majestic old trees that line the streets, filtering the sun selectively through their branches. This is a place that will tempt you into its fold and dare you to indulge and delight in life’s finer pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your De Waterkant Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Waterkant Village Hotel Cape Town Central
De Waterkant Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing