We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thieves” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Waterkant Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Waterkant Village
Ranked #84 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thieves”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We locked our rooms securely everyday and housekeepers were the only people who had access. We rented 2 apartments and approximately $2000US worth of Christmas presents were stolen from our rooms. We noticed the theft late at night while packing for our flights home. We contacted the village when we arrived home but they didn't respond.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
5 Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Karin M,

Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences your guest experienced during your stay. You willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated.

We take all allegations of theft very serious and have been investigating the incident, which I was made aware of on 13 January 2014. We found that your apartments were not serviced by housekeeping on the 01st of January as it was a Public Holiday. It was last serviced on the 31st of December. I have also spoken to front office who checked the guests out late afternoon before their early morning departure and at the time of check out no complaint regarding theft was reported.

Once the investigation is complete we will revert with feedback

De Waterkant Village is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. Your willingness to share your experience is genuinely appreciated.

Kind regards
Michelle Pretorius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    64
    28
    16
    10
See reviews for
47
59
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for the last night of a two-week trip. Had a private studio apartment with a kitchen and upstairs bedroom. The staff was incredibly helpful (they walked a few blocks to help me carry bags from where I parked). The room was clean and spacious. And amazingly, they let us come back and have a private room for an hour after we had checked out, so that we might shower before our flight. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Aaron S,

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to you visiting Dewaterkant Village next time you are in South Africa.

Kind regards

Michelle Pretorius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The venue kindly bent its 3-night minimum rule for our 2-night stay. The guest house is ideally situated as it is in a quiet part of the area up the hill, with lovely views over the City Bowl. Minutes' walk from De Waterkant nightlife, laid back and hospitable staff, a great breakfast at the neighbouring Village Cafe. Only complaint: maybe it's my English conservatism but a door between the loo and the rest of the room would have been preferable. But overall, a great place to stay, recommended without reservation.

Room Tip: Delux rooms may have ensuite rather than in-room bathroom facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stay in the apartments at least twice year and they brilliant. I love the location, rooms and local attractions very near by. The only negative whcih I dont mind really is "dont expect aircons though, but it is CT after all :)"

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashogan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Ashogan S,

Thank you for continued support, we enjoy having you stay with us each time.

Although not all apartments have aircon, each bedroom either has a ceiling fan, standing fan or mist fan to ensure our guests stay cool on those hot summer days.

We look forward to your return.

Best wishes,
Michelle Pretorius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

My experience from the start was just fantastic, from the moment that Jessica answered my call and making my booking to the moment we checked out. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, nicely equiped quiet and spacious with a nice garden at the back. The location of the apartment was close to all the amenities we were intending on visiting that evening. Jessica showed us to the apartment, very nice , fun and friendly attitude....... Real Cape Townian style. She showed us where the swimming pool was located and the distance to our apartment.

Room Tip: When Jessica told me that she sent me my confirmation, she did....... only thing was that I did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Randall A,

Thank you for your positive feedback, it is always nice to hear when a staff member is mentioned by name.

We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to you possibly staying longer with your next visit.

Best Wishes,
Michelle Pretorius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

A quiet and a spacious apartment with a beautiful gardern at the back. But my children were disappointed because the swimming pool was not close by and the main office was very far.But the location is good, it is close to the V&A waterfront.

Room Tip: you should choose the apartment at loader streent studio apartment for a quiet apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suppiah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom unit in De Waterkant Piazza. Plenty of room for the 4 of us, though only 1 bath. The full kitchen was a real plus. Having to go to the reception desk two blocks away for wifi was a small hassle. If you're considering, you should know that De Waterkant is a collection of buildings over several blocks; many of the properties in that area are maintained by De Waterkant Village. Private homes are also in the area. Also, If you are in a property on Loader street, there is a steep hill to walk up from Somerset Street below. But if you are in a self-catering unit, there is a full service grocery and shopping mall on Somerset. It's also an easy walk to downtown. I was there with my relatively fit parents (75 and 78) and they had no trouble waking in the area. There is also security in the area every evening. The staff at reception was always helpful and friendly. If you have a late flight, they have showers at reception where you can freshen up before heading to the airport. I'd definitely stay here again, especially if traveling with a small group and looking for a self-catering option.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NashGuyNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear NashGuyNashville,

Thank you for your informative review, I am sure future guests will find it very helpful.

We enjoyed having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to De Waterkant Village in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michelle Pretorius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#80 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Village
Waterfront Village
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#47 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Waterkant Cottages
De Waterkant Cottages
#15 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Waterkant House
De Waterkant House
#107 of 163 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Waterkant Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Waterkant Village

Property: De Waterkant Village
Address: 137 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De Waterkant Village 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colourful De Waterkant Village is a unique European influenced village of semi-detached quaint cottages and cobbled streets preserved from the 1760's. Cradled between the city and the V&A Waterfront, De Waterkant Village is avant-garde, a cultural urban refuge highlighted by the abundance of restaurants, art galleries, clubs, salsa clubs, tapas bars and Parisian inspired cafe's. Drawing comparisons from cultural and artistic villages from all over the world, De Waterkant embraces individuality and theatricality, echoed in the architecture and vibrancy of its residents and visitors. From serviced apartments, houses, guest houses and traveller's rooms De Waterkant Village has it all and lodgings at the village are as diverse and eclectic as the place itself. In keeping with the feel of an authentic traveller's village, guests can enjoy services and facilities when staying in apartments or houses, such as a service centre, concierge, housekeeping and breakfast at The Village Cafe every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your De Waterkant Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Waterkant Village Hotel Cape Town Central
De Waterkant Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing