We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Waterkant Village
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
454 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good value for money, central location”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The apartments are centrally located and offer all the basic amenities. The nightly rate offers good value for money. Do not expect luxury or spectacular views though. A night guard is available for street parking.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    65
    29
    17
    13
See reviews for
48
61
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Nice appartment but a bit dark with nice and modern decoration. Tricky to find a parking space. Full cooking equipement. At walking distance to bars and restaurant. No security issues as streets and location is regulary patrolled.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear B B

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Due to our popular location, it is a little tricky to find parking at certain times we therefore provide off street parking at an additional fee. Guests are more than welcome to enquire at reception.

We look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards

Michelle Pretorius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great location in an apartment in a converted townhouse. Bed comfortable, and kitchen was well equipped with a full cooker and fridge meaning you can do your own thing. Small things let it down though; we woke up on several occasions to cockroaches making themselves comfortable in the kitchen and bathroom. Cleaning was sub-optimal, the daily cleaner failed to spot a dead cockroach for 48 hours, and we went without toilet paper for over 72 hours, 2 calls to reception resulted in promises that it would be brought but it never appeared, neither did the promised change of bedlinen.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 85-East
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Asian-Noma,

Thank you for your feedback.

Due to our convenient location close to the CBD, we rarely have cockroaches fly into the apartments. The extreme heat we have been experiencing lately brings them out.

We pride ourselves in providing the highest level of service to all guests. I am sorry to hear we did not meet expectations and I will most certainly look into this.
Bed linen is changed every fourth night unless requested for sooner.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dewaterkant Village to exceed all expectations and create memories to last a lifetime…

Kind regards
Michelle Pretorius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Spending time in the Waterkantarea was just great again; great location and wonderful and lively atmosphere. Our studio on Loader was spacious, had a nice terrace with harbourview! It's also nice there's enough (secured) carparking. Unfortunality there's no airco in the studio so it became very very hot at night! (In our opinion this is necessary improvement in case of a future rentalperiod.) On the other hand, kitchen is well equipped and execpt on sunday everyday housekeeping. Free Wifi would be nice!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Eric Z,

Thank you for your review, we glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Although not all apartments have air-con, all bedrooms either have a ceiling fan, standing fan or mist fan to keep our guests cool on those hot summer nights.

Free wifi and a guest computer is available at reception for our guests to make use of.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dewaterkant Village in the near future.

Kind regards
Michelle Pretorius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A beautiful 3 storey house , stunning views from the roof terrace, kept clean and tidy , all facilities available , friendly staff , just wonderful...great sized rooms , hot water whenever needed , kitchen and all utilities were kept shining clean...MOST IMPORTANT that is .

Room Tip: Try to ask for unrestricted view of table mountain ( Room 149)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We have just spent three nights in deWaterkant Village. Our agent booked us a room only deal and we were delighted on arrival to discover we had our own little one bed house, with very well equipped kitchen, bathroom with excellent shower and separate bath, a little secure patio and good sized lounge/diner. The bedroom had a 5ft bed and although no air con, we did have a fan and could get a breeze through the house to help at night. The location was excellent, our house was on Loader Street and the only criticism I would have was that it is quite a traffic thoroughfare and it was particularly noticeable on Monday morning. We felt incredibly safe as there were security personnel on almost every street corner and the staff were all very friendly and helpful giving advice on excursions and booking taxis.

Would definitely recommend for location, safety, cleanliness and convenience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surreylady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Surreylady50

Thank you for taking the time to review Dewaterkant Village. We enjoyed having you stay with us and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Michelle Pretorius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We locked our rooms securely everyday and housekeepers were the only people who had access. We rented 2 apartments and approximately $2000US worth of Christmas presents were stolen from our rooms. We noticed the theft late at night while packing for our flights home. We contacted the village when we arrived home but they didn't respond.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
5 Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Karin M,

Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences your guest experienced during your stay. You willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated.

We take all allegations of theft very serious and have been investigating the incident, which I was made aware of on 13 January 2014. We found that your apartments were not serviced by housekeeping on the 01st of January as it was a Public Holiday. It was last serviced on the 31st of December. I have also spoken to front office who checked the guests out late afternoon before their early morning departure and at the time of check out no complaint regarding theft was reported.

Once the investigation is complete we will revert with feedback

De Waterkant Village is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. Your willingness to share your experience is genuinely appreciated.

Kind regards
Michelle Pretorius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
955 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 109 in Cape Town Central
345 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#64 of 109 in Cape Town Central
354 reviews
De Waterkant Cottages
#18 of 125 in Cape Town Central
135 reviews
De Waterkant House
#100 of 155 in Cape Town Central
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Waterkant Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Waterkant Village

Property: De Waterkant Village
Address: 137 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De Waterkant Village 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colourful De Waterkant Village is a unique European influenced village of semi-detached quaint cottages and cobbled streets preserved from the 1760's. Cradled between the city and the V&A Waterfront, De Waterkant Village is avant-garde, a cultural urban refuge highlighted by the abundance of restaurants, art galleries, clubs, salsa clubs, tapas bars and Parisian inspired cafe's. Drawing comparisons from cultural and artistic villages from all over the world, De Waterkant embraces individuality and theatricality, echoed in the architecture and vibrancy of its residents and visitors. From serviced apartments, houses, guest houses and traveller's rooms De Waterkant Village has it all and lodgings at the village are as diverse and eclectic as the place itself. In keeping with the feel of an authentic traveller's village, guests can enjoy services and facilities when staying in apartments or houses, such as a service centre, concierge, housekeeping and breakfast at The Village Cafe every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Waterkant Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Waterkant Village Hotel Cape Town Central
De Waterkant Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing