We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Waterkant Village
Ranked #95 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Not impressed at all. Went to Cape Town for a long weekend and so disappointed. I realized there was a problem when I noticed that all the bedroom furniture was made out if chipboard with a bit of paint on it. We came back to our room to find it unserviced. When I asked why it had not been serviced I was informed that they did not service rooms on a public holiday and did I not get the letter. No I did not. Why on earth would they not clean rooms on days where they are most likely full ????

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Housekeeping service is from Monday to Saturday, excluding Sunday’s and public holidays. Housekeeping can be arranged for Sunday’s and public holidays at an additional fee.

Our services are displayed in the guest service file found in each apartment, the house rules pointed out on check in and on our website.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Dewaterkant Village.

Kind regards
Michelle Pretorius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

The apartments are centrally located and offer all the basic amenities. The nightly rate offers good value for money. Do not expect luxury or spectacular views though. A night guard is available for street parking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Nice appartment but a bit dark with nice and modern decoration. Tricky to find a parking space. Full cooking equipement. At walking distance to bars and restaurant. No security issues as streets and location is regulary patrolled.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear B B

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Due to our popular location, it is a little tricky to find parking at certain times we therefore provide off street parking at an additional fee. Guests are more than welcome to enquire at reception.

We look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards

Michelle Pretorius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great location in an apartment in a converted townhouse. Bed comfortable, and kitchen was well equipped with a full cooker and fridge meaning you can do your own thing. Small things let it down though; we woke up on several occasions to cockroaches making themselves comfortable in the kitchen and bathroom. Cleaning was sub-optimal, the daily cleaner failed to spot a dead cockroach for 48 hours, and we went without toilet paper for over 72 hours, 2 calls to reception resulted in promises that it would be brought but it never appeared, neither did the promised change of bedlinen.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 85-East
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Asian-Noma,

Thank you for your feedback.

Due to our convenient location close to the CBD, we rarely have cockroaches fly into the apartments. The extreme heat we have been experiencing lately brings them out.

We pride ourselves in providing the highest level of service to all guests. I am sorry to hear we did not meet expectations and I will most certainly look into this.
Bed linen is changed every fourth night unless requested for sooner.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dewaterkant Village to exceed all expectations and create memories to last a lifetime…

Kind regards
Michelle Pretorius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Spending time in the Waterkantarea was just great again; great location and wonderful and lively atmosphere. Our studio on Loader was spacious, had a nice terrace with harbourview! It's also nice there's enough (secured) carparking. Unfortunality there's no airco in the studio so it became very very hot at night! (In our opinion this is necessary improvement in case of a future rentalperiod.) On the other hand, kitchen is well equipped and execpt on sunday everyday housekeeping. Free Wifi would be nice!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Eric Z,

Thank you for your review, we glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Although not all apartments have air-con, all bedrooms either have a ceiling fan, standing fan or mist fan to keep our guests cool on those hot summer nights.

Free wifi and a guest computer is available at reception for our guests to make use of.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dewaterkant Village in the near future.

Kind regards
Michelle Pretorius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A beautiful 3 storey house , stunning views from the roof terrace, kept clean and tidy , all facilities available , friendly staff , just wonderful...great sized rooms , hot water whenever needed , kitchen and all utilities were kept shining clean...MOST IMPORTANT that is .

Room Tip: Try to ask for unrestricted view of table mountain ( Room 149)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We have just spent three nights in deWaterkant Village. Our agent booked us a room only deal and we were delighted on arrival to discover we had our own little one bed house, with very well equipped kitchen, bathroom with excellent shower and separate bath, a little secure patio and good sized lounge/diner. The bedroom had a 5ft bed and although no air con, we did have a fan and could get a breeze through the house to help at night. The location was excellent, our house was on Loader Street and the only criticism I would have was that it is quite a traffic thoroughfare and it was particularly noticeable on Monday morning. We felt incredibly safe as there were security personnel on almost every street corner and the staff were all very friendly and helpful giving advice on excursions and booking taxis.

Would definitely recommend for location, safety, cleanliness and convenience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surreylady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Surreylady50

Thank you for taking the time to review Dewaterkant Village. We enjoyed having you stay with us and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Michelle Pretorius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#36 of 110 in Cape Town Central
214 reviews
Waterfront Village
#70 of 110 in Cape Town Central
633 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#86 of 110 in Cape Town Central
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,013 reviews
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
#81 of 110 in Cape Town Central
340 reviews
De Waterkant Cottages
#15 of 128 in Cape Town Central
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Waterkant Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Waterkant Village

Address: 137 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £76 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Waterkant Village 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colourful De Waterkant Village is a unique European influenced village of semi-detached quaint cottages and cobbled streets preserved from the 1760’s. Cradled between the city and the V&A Waterfront, De Waterkant Village is avant-garde, a cultural urban refuge highlighted by the abundance of restaurants, art galleries, clubs, salsa clubs, tapas bars and Parisian inspired café’s. Drawing comparisons from cultural and artistic villages from all over the world, De Waterkant embraces individuality and theatricality, echoed in the architecture and vibrancy of its residents and visitors. Walking on the beautiful sidewalks, one cannot help but be caught up in its spell, cast by the beauty of the Dutch influenced architecture, with flower boxes under the windows, sprawling balconies and rooftop decks providing exquisite views and majestic old trees that line the streets, filtering the sun selectively through their branches. This is a place that will tempt you into its fold and dare you to indulge and delight in life’s finer pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Waterkant Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Waterkant Village Hotel Cape Town Central
De Waterkant Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing