We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and hospitality makes this hotel a best value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parliament Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parliament Hotel
Ranked #37 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent service and hospitality makes this hotel a best value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I recently stayed at the parliament hotel for the first time primarily for its proximity to parliament as I had a work related event there. I was quite impressed by the high level of service and hospitality from the hotel manager and the staff at large. Honestly, the service and effort to ensure guests are accommodated far exceeds my experience with staying at 4 star hotels in the waterfront area. While service is good at the higher end hotels, the general feeling is the staff doesn't try. Hard to accommodate the needs of its guests as tourists flock to the waterfront regardless of any extra effort. While the parliament hotel is unfortunately located on a 1 way street with limited street parking, it is quite close to the long street and craft market areas within the city. The waterfront may be scenic, but at night you may feel isolated as the tourists drift away around 9pm

Ultimately the value of the parliament hotel is excellent given its affordable cost and commitment to service. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boombui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Parliament Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Boombui,
thank you very much for your comments and your wonderful feedback. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay at the Parliament Hotel, Cape Town.
I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Antonio Carpanese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    241
    60
    8
    5
See reviews for
65
210
102
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

The room was comfortable and clean, albeit a little dated and just overall basic.
The staff were very polite and helpful and breakfast was good.
We had a pleasant one night stop here the night we landed in Cape Town, but wouldn't recommend it for a longer stay, it didn't really put us in the holiday mood. Next time around we would spend a little more to get a little more comfort/style.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aschaffenburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Location is perfect for city trip,located a few blocks from city center,parks, major museums and the famous Long street.Location is safe since we walked in the early hours without any problem.The hotel manager Antonio gave us a warm and friendly welcome and the rest of the staff was amazing.Breakfast was good in a cold buffet style and you could have a English style breakfast also.Room was very clean and spacious.Good connection for WI-FI .
Many thanks to Antonio and staff, you guys rock!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Staff could not be more helpful. Excellent cooked breakfast
Good location especially for Long Street restaurants and bars. Not too far from waterfront and near stop 5 for the red tour bus. Excellent value for money. They even arranged taxi transfer from the airport. Very good value again. Of you needed anything you only had to ask and they would try their best to fulfil your requirements.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2onholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I had a very positive experience at the Parliament Hotel, Cape Town. Rooms are very clean, if a little dated. The Hotel is located just down the road from a police station, so although the area is always pretty busy you also feel quite safe. 24 hour reception. Decent breakfasts. Free wifi is very temperamental - I wouldn't rely on it. Staff are expecting your arrival and know you by name, which is a nice touch. They are very informative and more than happy to help you plan where to go and what to see. Within walking distance to a lot of attractions. Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I just returned from a short stay at the Parliament Hotel and what a nice experience. The hotel is convenient, reasonably priced and extremely clean. On my return travels I will definitely stay here again. The service is five star without question. I've never been treated so exceptionally well. I had managed to catch a cold on during my travels and upon arrival asked if I could have a glass of water as I was somewhat dehydrated. Much to my surprise they had an entire pitcher of ice water, topped with slices of citrus fruit sent to my room within 5 minutes. And they did it again every evening as I returned from my day trips.

Room Tip: 501 has a nice view but didn't receive the free WiFi signal. I was advised that they are in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatorgrad1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

This great hotel is located at Barack street in the heart of Cape town.

It was very easy to find the hotel by car.A lot of attractions within walking distance (Long street, Parliament building, company gardens, market square) Other attractions are only a short drive away to the waterfront it's about 5 minutes by car.

A taxi to waterfront will cost you about R50
The hotel is more than willing to help you out with transport or any other questions you might have. We travelled by car the hotel offers secured parking at a good price R60 a day.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. This we experienced today when we came back to this hotel to stay another night, unfortunately they were fully booked. But 2 of their staff members helped us with finding other accommodation which was really great.

The rooms are clean and equipped with a flat screen they are a bit on the small side but well it is down-town so space is limited.

The breakfast is tasty and the staff helps out very well during breakfast.

The rates are competitive and you will get great service and hospitality for a very decent price, we would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes value for money.


If you visit the hotel make sure you visit the eastern bazaar as well where you can get great food at a great price! (read my review about this place as well if you're interested)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank The_dude_1984_Kees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#49 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
City Bowl
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
#38 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Hotel

Property: Parliament Hotel
Address: 9 Barrack Street | Cbd, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parliament Hotel is exclusively located in the heart of Cape Town. The central location adjacent to the Company Gardens and the Slave Museum makes this city hotel the ideal starting point for business trips or holidays in Cape Town. The Hotel offers easy access to the best local attractions, Cape Town's International Airport and the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CCITC). Cape Town not only serves as an important business location, but it is also a magnet for history, art, culture and architecture. The Parliament Hotel offers a vibrant and friendly environment that provides both business and leisure travelers with the affordable hotel experience they desire. Nestled in the city center, this three stars hotel features 27 modern, spacious and en suite rooms with comfortable beds and all fitted with safety boxes, HD television sets, heat/air conditioning system & free WIFI. CANCELLATION POLICY:•Failure to confirm the reservation will result in the cancellation of the booking without notice 48 hours prior to arrival.•Guaranteed bookings must be cancelled 48 hours prior to arrival in order to avoid one full night charge. •In the event of premature departure the full extent of stay, as originally booked and confirmed will be charged. • For No Shows the full contract will be charged. •All bookings must be made in writing via email or via fax; as well any amendment to the booking must be notified in writing. •Please note that in the below periods of 2014 & early 2015 we require a full non refundable deposit for the entire length of the stay booked: * Christmas and New Year 2014/2015 from 15th December 2014 to the 06th January 2015 * Cape Argus Cycling Tour from the 07th March to 10th March, 2014 * Jazz Festival from the 27th to the 1st April 2014 * Two Oceans Marathon from the 17th April to 20th April, 2014 * World Travel Market from 24th April to 10th May, 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Parliament Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing