We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BigGReview”
Review of Parliament Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parliament Hotel
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BigGReview”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

The Parliament Hotel is situated in the city centre and very convenient for most things, we were in town for a convention at City Hall which was only a 2 block walk away.

We arrived and the very first impression, which is always the most important was that of being welcomed back as an old friend. And this was our first visit!
The reception manager was so friendly, helpful and smiling. We were shown to our room and everything pointed out.

Decor crisp and clean, no fussy bits. The king size bed comfortable and the linen clean and fresh.
This is a no frills hotel so we were not expecting any but the fitments that are there such as the safe, flat screen TV, air conditioning and tea making equipment all worked as they should do.
The room itself was slightly small but what do you expect from a city centre hotel?
The bathroom with wash basin and shower/bath slightly dated and tired but functional.

As per previous reviews the only poor thing that jumped out at you was the lift, it is noisy and the doors shut and open with an almighty "Bang"! It does not fill you with confidence. Something to look at.

We were on the 7th floor which was very handy as the exit door led straight from there to the dedicated parking bays in the adjoining multi story car park.

We had a very peaceful and comfortable sleep and breakfast the next morning was hearty, filling and very good.

Check out simple and swift and we left with the Manager imploring us to return in the future, and guess what? We will!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigGReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    245
    63
    8
    5
See reviews for
67
212
103
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The Parliament hotel offers probably the best hotel value in Capetown. It is located in central downtown. The hot breakfast is very adequate and the desk service is absolutely the tops. They will calls taxis, make restaurant reservations, Andy even found where to buy a SA chip for my Garmin. They are led by manager Antonio and assistants Kay and Shawleemah.

Downsides:
1.this is a "plain Jane" hotel in a safe but rather "seedy" neighborhood (always take a taxi at night...but I would do this regardless of where I am staying . Taxis are very cheap.)

2. The room we had for 3 nights had been recently remodeled and was kept very clean

3. The hop on hop off bus stop is only two blocks away. Antonio will go on the Internet and get the discount rate for you from R15 to R12. I would do this the first day to get an orientation of the city

4.Note that almost all attractions are CLOSED on Sunday so plan accordingly.

5. Note that their are very few great restaurants in this area...but this is not a problem, as noted previously, taxis are cheap.

Again, this is a super value in. A town with few value hotels

Room Tip: We had room 202 which worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TopsideMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The hotel is right at the city center, walking distance to most of the tourist locations in Cape Town. Although the building is quite old it seems to be well-maintained, except for the elevator which was loud and shaky. The toilet flush and sink in our room might already need fixing or replacing, breakfast food was basic and the dining experience could have been made better with at least some music playing in the background instead of silence. What it lacks in decor and ambiance, however, is made up for by the management's courtesy and prompt service of the staff. If you're traveling on a budget or only passing through Cape Town for a day or two, you may want to consider this accommodation as an option.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCoffeePress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I stayed in Cape Town for one night after a trip to Stellenbosch. The room was not exactly lavish but for €65 a night it was luxury. The air conditioning was effective, the TV had a good selection of movies and sport (rugby, but that's a bonus from my perspective) and the everything worked the way that it should. The service was excellent from checking in to checking out, and the hotel let me store my bags for a day whilst I was sight seeing around the city and then wash and change before I left for the airport. The breakfast selection was a good spread and the Italian guy serving made me a very good espresso to round the meal off.
The location is relatively central for both the V&A Waterfront and Table Mountain, and there is a really good African market about ten minutes walk away. If you want a hotel as a base for seeing the sights of Cape Town and the surrounding area then it's perfect. If you plan on spending a lot of time in your room then you might consider somewhere with bigger rooms (but with inevitably bigger charges...).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucharesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights in the Parliment Hotel and thoughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and very knowledge on the area, tourist attractions and restaurants to visit. The rooms are very clean and modern. We had a hearty breakfast every morning to set us up for our day of sighseeing etc. The location is central for almost all of Cape Town's attractions. Take taxis as the area is slightly dangerous for walking at night (like all area's in Cape Town).
We would definitely book to stay there again in our next visit to Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Grainne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phcapetown, General Manager at Parliament Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Grainne O,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Parliament Hotel, Cape Town; we do value the feedback from the guests staying with us and we are delighted that we fulfilled your needs during your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Antonio Carpanese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This is the perfect spot in Cape Town if, like me, you want a comfortable, quiet, well-situated, well-run place to stay that is also excellent value for the money.

And, as an added extra benefit, the staff are the most charming and helpful that I have met in 5 years of travelling 4 months a year – that says something about the way the hotel is managed – Antonio is doing a great job, and also about the individuals themselves. Many thanks to Antonio, Radi, Frieda, Kay, Dominique, nd the lovely lady who helped me organise my trip to Simon’s town and whose name I can’t spell! The cleaning staff are charming, that’s how far it goes, and all are truly dedicated to their guests.

The hotel is very nicely situated near the Company Gardens and the Parliament buildings, one block from a hop-on/hop-off bus stop (which is an excellent way to tour Cape Town and environs), 2 blocks from MyCiti public transport (get a pass at Thibault Square or CTICC) and 2 blocks from St. George’s Mall and GreenMarket.

There is an excellent breakfast included in the rate, served at the delightful Cousin’s Trattoria – which is also a great place to eat dinner. Nice to have a good restaurant on the premises for those evenings when one is too tired after a long day sightseeing to want to go in search of food!

I have nothing but good comments about my stay at the Parliament, and excellent memories of my 7 days there. I highly recommend this establishment. (So do a lot of other people obviously, since they have won, again this year, the TripAdvisor Award for Excellence.)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phcapetown, General Manager at Parliament Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Pat067,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Parliament Hotel, Cape Town and for your kind comments. It was a real pleasure to have you staying with us and we sincerely do hope to welcome you back soon.
Antonio Carpanese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I reaaly enjoyed my stay at your hotel and one of the highlghts of my stay was the gentleman who is at the desk at night.
He remenbers guests names and that makes it special.
Breakfast desk staff gr8 too.
Well done!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phcapetown, General Manager at Parliament Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Gerald M,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Parliament Hotel, Cape Town; we do value the feedback from the guests staying with us and we are delighted that we fulfilled your needs during your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Antonio Carpanese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
782 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
205 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
808 reviews
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 109 in Cape Town Central
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Hotel

Property: Parliament Hotel
Address: 9 Barrack Street | Cbd, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parliament Hotel is exclusively located in the heart of Cape Town. The central location adjacent to the Company Gardens and the Slave Museum makes this city hotel the ideal starting point for business trips or holidays in Cape Town. The Hotel offers easy access to the best local attractions, Cape Town's International Airport and the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CCITC). Cape Town not only serves as an important business location, but it is also a magnet for history, art, culture and architecture. The Parliament Hotel offers a vibrant and friendly environment that provides both business and leisure travelers with the affordable hotel experience they desire. Nestled in the city center, this three stars hotel features 27 modern, spacious and en suite rooms with comfortable beds and all fitted with safety boxes, HD television sets, heat/air conditioning system & free WIFI. CANCELLATION POLICY:•Failure to confirm the reservation will result in the cancellation of the booking without notice 48 hours prior to arrival.•Guaranteed bookings must be cancelled 48 hours prior to arrival in order to avoid one full night charge. •In the event of premature departure the full extent of stay, as originally booked and confirmed will be charged. • For No Shows the full contract will be charged. •All bookings must be made in writing via email or via fax; as well any amendment to the booking must be notified in writing. •Please note that in the below periods of 2014 & early 2015 we require a full non refundable deposit for the entire length of the stay booked: * Christmas and New Year 2014/2015 from 15th December 2014 to the 06th January 2015 * Cape Argus Cycling Tour from the 07th March to 10th March, 2014 * Jazz Festival from the 27th to the 1st April 2014 * Two Oceans Marathon from the 17th April to 20th April, 2014 * World Travel Market from 24th April to 10th May, 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Parliament Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing