We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special - same price as TownHouse (sgl) next door but”
Review of Parliament Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parliament Hotel
Ranked #42 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Nothing Special - same price as TownHouse (sgl) next door which is a grade above this hotel. I paid 750Rand here and Townhouse is 795Rand. This property feels like an upscale backpackers hotel. Yes, they have WiFi, A/C, widescreen TV and a bed but they also lock their toilet paper (see photo). It has been a while since I have been in a room where the TP is locked. I was so frustrated but I did get at least a half roll pulled off :) The location is fine, I never had reason to worry. Overall - nothing special. Average. A place to sleep in the expensive Cape Town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

My boyfriend and I, we spent 3 nights by Parliament hotel last february, everything has been perfect, starting from the position of the hotel in the city centre, close to major touristic attractions;the room was fully equiped, clean and sunny, breakfast rich and good, prices not bad considering position and services offered. Not at last, all the staff extremely gentle and professional. if we will come to Cape tOwn again, we'll surely choose The Parliament hotel again.
Best Regards to everyone, in particular Antonio and Simone.
Giulia e Marco

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Giulia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phcapetown, General Manager at Parliament Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Giulia I,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Parliament Hotel, Cape Town; we do value the feedback from the guests staying with us and we are delighted that we fulfilled your needs during your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Antonio Carpanese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We really had a fantastic time. The staff were expert and accommodating. The room was clean and well kept. The hotel was really a lovely introduction to Cape Town. We would absolutely stay at the Parliament Hotel again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CarolynfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Parliament hotel was central safe and welcoming. The proprietors organised a cab from the airport. The room, although not luxurious, was clean and comfortable with plenty of room and storage space. There was safe parking monitored by cctv. Staff on the desk were extremely friendly and helpful and gave us advice on where to visit and eat arranging restaurant bookings and cabs for us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The location of the hotel is close to the central business district, this makes walking around the town easy. The rooms were clean and good. The staff are are very helpful and vibrant. The breakfast was great. We had a good time and would recommend anyone who want to travel to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

For anyone planning to visit Cape Town, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Parliament Hotel. From the outset the staff were friendly and extremely helpful when it came to organising airport transfers, advising on excursions, booking taxis, etc.

The hotel is well-located for sight-seeing in Cape Town and is only a short walk from the parliament buildings, the Castle of Good Hope, Company's Gardens and a number of other interesting attractions.

Whilst the rooms are fairly basic, they are clean and comfortably furnished.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMJM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Overall the location is close to the central business district and I was able to walk just about anywhere in the city including the V&A waterfront. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous even arranging for airport transportation both ways. I enjoyed the included breakfast at the adjoining restaurant as well.

Room Tip: My only complaint was my room on the 1st floor, it tended to be noisy with cleaning staff coming and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gyraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 110 in Cape Town Central
811 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#36 of 110 in Cape Town Central
214 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel on St Georges
#75 of 110 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,015 reviews
The One 8 Hotel
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Hotel

Address: 9 Barrack Street | Cbd, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £52 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parliament Hotel is exclusively located in the heart of Cape Town. The central location adjacent to the Company Gardens and the Slave Museum makes this city hotel the ideal starting point for business trips or holidays in Cape Town. The Hotel offers easy access to the best local attractions, Cape Town's International Airport and the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CCITC). Cape Town not only serves as an important business location, but it is also a magnet for history, art, culture and architecture. The Parliament Hotel offers a vibrant and friendly environment that provides both business and leisure travelers with the affordable hotel experience they desire. Nestled in the city center, this three stars hotel features 27 modern, spacious and en suite rooms with comfortable beds and all fitted with safety boxes, HD television sets, heat/air conditioning system & free WIFI. CANCELLATION POLICY:•Failure to confirm the reservation will result in the cancellation of the booking without notice 48 hours prior to arrival.•Guaranteed bookings must be cancelled 48 hours prior to arrival in order to avoid one full night charge. •In the event of premature departure the full extent of stay, as originally booked and confirmed will be charged. • For No Shows the full contract will be charged. •All bookings must be made in writing via email or via fax; as well any amendment to the booking must be notified in writing. •Please note that in the below periods of 2014 & early 2015 we require a full non refundable deposit for the entire length of the stay booked: * Christmas and New Year 2014/2015 from 15th December 2014 to the 06th January 2015 * Cape Argus Cycling Tour from the 07th March to 10th March, 2014 * Jazz Festival from the 27th to the 1st April 2014 * Two Oceans Marathon from the 17th April to 20th April, 2014 * World Travel Market from 24th April to 10th May, 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parliament Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing