We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for staying in Cape Town”
Review of Parliament Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parliament Hotel
Ranked #36 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good choice for staying in Cape Town”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I was staying at the Parliament Hotel for 3 nights with my partner some days ago. The hotel is very well situated, near almost everything that tourists would like to see in Cape Town: The Company Gardens, the castle, Greenmarket, Long Street etc. It is only 30 minutes walk for the Waterfront (the port and its shops, the Aquarium etc), and very close (5 minutes) to the Hop on Hop off buses (double deckers to visit the peninsula). There are supermarkets quite close (10 minutes walk): Spar, Shoprite etc. The railway station, the station for buses coming from Jo'burg and other destinations and the station for the bus (My citi) going to the airport are 20 minutes walk away.

The staff at the hotel is very kind (and I really insist on that), they would give you lots of advice and assist you in everything. Breakfast is pretty ok: it's a buffet with bacon, yoghurt, fruit salad, cereals, bread and some cake, but you can always ask for scrambled eggs (with tomatoes, mushrooms or sausages) which they prepare very well and quickly. There is wi-fi in the room, air conditioned, flat screen and coffee/tea facilities.

Both me and my partner would definitely recommend this hotel for its location, kind staff and great accommodation. And Cape Town it's a definitely great city and place to visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IulianaRada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    243
    63
    8
    5
See reviews for
65
213
103
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Parliament Hotel for 4 nights.

Located in Barrack Street in the centre of Cape Town, the hotel adjoins a multi storey car park where the hotel has an arrangement which costs just R60 per day. You can come and go as often as you please from the car park, just remember to collect a voucher from reception to allow you free exit. The arrangement is effective and very secure.

Our room was very spacious and comprised a super king size bed in a large, perfectly kept, room with an en-suite bathroom. WiFi is provided and is very effective. Air conditioning is also provided as standard.

The hotel staff are very helpful - not just in providing advice and tips, but also in ringing various places to make reservations for us.

Breakfast is provided in the restaurant which offers continental style as well as full breakfast options.

I am happy to recommend the Parliament Hotel the only slight glitch is street noise at around midnight. This was not of a long duration however and was a minimal inconvenience.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The staff was always ready to help and to accommodate. Parliament made a great base for a long weekend of day trips. The rooms are basic and clean. The only downside is that its a bit tricky to walk at night to and from here to most of the touristy spots. Otherwise, a great value! I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MuzunguGringoBideshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a cosy small hotel located in downtown Cape Town. The hotel is next to a police station, so we felt very safe around the hotel. Rooms are small but confortable. The Manager (Antonio) is a super nice person, and he's very attentive to the guest's needs. We had an issue with our toilet and Antonio was fantastic in his efforts to solve the problem.
We asked to be picked up to and from the airport; everything went smooth, with the car being on time. Our driver (Ibrahim), was very nice and offered some good advice on what to do in town.
Breakfast is served in a italian restaurant that shares the same building as the hotel. Good standard breakfast, we couldn't ask for more. We had dinner at the restaurant - good italian food, and nice italian atmosfere, all the staff was very nice and efficient.

Overall a very nice experience, when we return to Cape Town we'll choose again the Parliament hotel for our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank A_Figueired0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham Uk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel is very convenient for the CBD, District 6 museum, Slave Lodge & St George's Cathedral. The Hop on-Hop off bus stops nearby. The staff are amazing, nothing was too much trouble & the service generally excellent. The little restaurant adjoining which served the breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hikkihils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredewricton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Parliament Hotel is centrally located with rooms that are average, in my opinion. What makes this hotel special is the fantastic service by the manager and his staff, and the cooperation they have with the little Italian restaurant next door, where the breakfast is served and the restaurant owner takes great pride in his different pasta dishes. I do not think you can get better value for money in such a central location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at the Parliament for a week and would do so again. The executive room we stayed in was spacious and clean, the beds were comfortable, there was plenty of storage space, and it was nice having a safe and refrigerator in the room--all at a very affordable price. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and we loved the convenience of having breakfast at the Cousins Italian Trattoria, which is connected to the hotel (its dinner offerings are delicious, too). The hotel is in a great location that is fairly quiet (see below) and near lots of attractions (a block from the District Six Museum and the Gardens area), and we felt safe walking around (though we were back at the hotel by sunset).

The only drawback of this property is that Barrack St. can get a bit noisy at night (at least when we were there), but we solved that by turning on the fan on and that cancelled out the noise.

We highly recommend this hotel, which is a real bargain in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPCV-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#52 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 108 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
City Bowl
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
#47 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Hotel

Property: Parliament Hotel
Address: 9 Barrack Street | Cbd, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parliament Hotel is exclusively located in the heart of Cape Town. The central location adjacent to the Company Gardens and the Slave Museum makes this city hotel the ideal starting point for business trips or holidays in Cape Town. The Hotel offers easy access to the best local attractions, Cape Town's International Airport and the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CCITC). Cape Town not only serves as an important business location, but it is also a magnet for history, art, culture and architecture. The Parliament Hotel offers a vibrant and friendly environment that provides both business and leisure travelers with the affordable hotel experience they desire. Nestled in the city center, this three stars hotel features 27 modern, spacious and en suite rooms with comfortable beds and all fitted with safety boxes, HD television sets, heat/air conditioning system & free WIFI. CANCELLATION POLICY:•Failure to confirm the reservation will result in the cancellation of the booking without notice 48 hours prior to arrival.•Guaranteed bookings must be cancelled 48 hours prior to arrival in order to avoid one full night charge. •In the event of premature departure the full extent of stay, as originally booked and confirmed will be charged. • For No Shows the full contract will be charged. •All bookings must be made in writing via email or via fax; as well any amendment to the booking must be notified in writing. •Please note that in the below periods of 2014 & early 2015 we require a full non refundable deposit for the entire length of the stay booked: * Christmas and New Year 2014/2015 from 15th December 2014 to the 06th January 2015 * Cape Argus Cycling Tour from the 07th March to 10th March, 2014 * Jazz Festival from the 27th to the 1st April 2014 * Two Oceans Marathon from the 17th April to 20th April, 2014 * World Travel Market from 24th April to 10th May, 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Parliament Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing