We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most friendly staff ever!”
Review of Parliament Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parliament Hotel
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
“Most friendly staff ever!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed at The Parliament Hotel for 7 nights and it was above my expectations. From the shuttle (Mr. Nigel) who was so kind and helpful until the last day, all the people who work at the hotel treated us and helped us with smiles and kindness. Can´t wait to go back to Cape Town and stay at the very same hotel. My experience was perfect and the hotel, besides being very pleasant and clean, is a very well located and once again, the people are top 10!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alcides Cortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    245
    64
    8
    5
See reviews for
67
212
104
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Cape
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Room was small, then again, we were out most of the time, so we didn't spend that much time in it. Because we were on the 1st floor, we could hear the students downstairs, across the road. Other than that, Sham was as professional as ever, room spotless!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JanineWesternCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the parliament hotel for 7 days. The staff was incredibly friendly and the staff members went out of their way to help us. The rooms were big and clean and the prices were very reasonable. We would stay there again and we will recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed 10 nights and had a great time. The location was close to perfect, the personnel extremely kind and helpful and the breakfast was very good with a acceptable variety. Pick-up from and transport to the airport was efficient and reasonably priced. A big hug to all of the personnel !

Barbro and Hans

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hans O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Recently stayed at the Parliament Hotel and had a great experience. As others have said, it is great value for your money. The location couldn't be more convenient to Long Street, the Gardens, District six and the breakfast is delicious. Made to order eggs, fresh juice, baked goods-yummy! The staff is very friendly and helpful. They helped arrange a 3:30 am taxi and were even up and awake at that hour making sure I departed safely. I'll recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyt0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The Parliament Hotel: has an airport shuttle (small charge); en-suites in all rooms; family rooms; 24 hour staff; a secure inner city location across the road from the police station; views of Table Mountain from rooms; in-room safes; excellent on-site restaurant; secure under cover parking (small charge); elevator, after the stairs to the first floor.
We stayed here November 2001 on our first 2 nights in South Africa after the usual long flight from Australia. We travelled as an extended family of 3 (young) grandparents, parents and twins (6 years old.) Hotel shuttle met us as arranged at Cape Town airport without mishap -well worth the cost as we arrived 10.30pm and were advised it was not safe to collect and drive our hire car late at night. Rooms were clean and located next to each other and night staff carried our bags up the first flight to the lift which took us to the 6th floor. Our rooms all had a view of Table Mountain which was a lovely surprise. Beds were comfy and rooms spacious enough. En suites could do with an upgrade -shower head did not extend far enough over the bath so you sort of had to hug the tiled wall and lean over the taps to get wet but water was hot if you turned it on full and waited long enough. The hotel has secure parking however parking is Level M, yes, up 13 flights and the ceiling height was only a hand width above the roof of our van so don't hire a truck! Staff were friendly and rooms were made up daily. The bonus in this hotel is the fabulous authentic Italian restaurant, "Two Cousins" which serves breakfast and dinner -home made Bread, the best gnocchi we have ever had, delicious fish and meat dishes with fresh salads, breakfasts made to order. Absolutely no need to go out at night which made life so easy with young children. The cousins themselves, Adriano and Simone, were a delight to chat with and nothing was too much trouble. Go there even if you are not staying at the hotel. The hotel is good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michele150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I've stayed at the Parliament Hotel 4 times in the last 11 months. Cape Town is an amazing city and staying at the Parliament is always one of the highlights of any trip to Cape Town. The value is unbelievable; for the price of a backpackers you get privacy, breakfast (with great eggs and omelettes cooked to order), great service and an unbeatable location. The Parliament is walking distance from Long Street, the Company's Garden, and all of the major attractions of the City Bowl. But it's just far enough from Long street to avoid the noise and chaos that prevent you from getting a good night's sleep. The rooms are clean and spacious; many of them have recently been renovated. But what really stands out about The Parliament Hotel is the service. Every time I've stayed there, the staff have remembered me and always greeted me warmly. They are all extremely knowledgable about Cape Town and the surrounding area, and always willing to give suggestions for restaurants, wine tours, and other activities. During my last stay, I was accidentally placed in a smoking room (having requested non-smoking), and despite being fully booked that night the staff moved me to another room with no problems. They have always been kind, helpful, and welcoming and I highly recommend staying with them.

Room Tip: Rooms 401 (twin beds) and 501 (double bed) are non-smoking and recently renovated. Both have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zsull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
793 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
208 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
986 reviews
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 109 in Cape Town Central
458 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Hotel

Property: Parliament Hotel
Address: 9 Barrack Street | Cbd, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parliament Hotel is exclusively located in the heart of Cape Town. The central location adjacent to the Company Gardens and the Slave Museum makes this city hotel the ideal starting point for business trips or holidays in Cape Town. The Hotel offers easy access to the best local attractions, Cape Town's International Airport and the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CCITC). Cape Town not only serves as an important business location, but it is also a magnet for history, art, culture and architecture. The Parliament Hotel offers a vibrant and friendly environment that provides both business and leisure travelers with the affordable hotel experience they desire. Nestled in the city center, this three stars hotel features 27 modern, spacious and en suite rooms with comfortable beds and all fitted with safety boxes, HD television sets, heat/air conditioning system & free WIFI. CANCELLATION POLICY:•Failure to confirm the reservation will result in the cancellation of the booking without notice 48 hours prior to arrival.•Guaranteed bookings must be cancelled 48 hours prior to arrival in order to avoid one full night charge. •In the event of premature departure the full extent of stay, as originally booked and confirmed will be charged. • For No Shows the full contract will be charged. •All bookings must be made in writing via email or via fax; as well any amendment to the booking must be notified in writing. •Please note that in the below periods of 2014 & early 2015 we require a full non refundable deposit for the entire length of the stay booked: * Christmas and New Year 2014/2015 from 15th December 2014 to the 06th January 2015 * Cape Argus Cycling Tour from the 07th March to 10th March, 2014 * Jazz Festival from the 27th to the 1st April 2014 * Two Oceans Marathon from the 17th April to 20th April, 2014 * World Travel Market from 24th April to 10th May, 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Parliament Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing