We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parliament Hotel
Ranked #39 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed 4 nights. The hotel is easy to find and near all local attractions. Reception area bright and airy. Staff are extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming, nothing was a problem. We were in room 501, it was very clean and spacious. Had large double bed, table and chairs, with flat screen tv and wardrobes and safe. The bathroom was clean and had toiletries. Breakfast was in a nice breakfast area included fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, croissant toast and cold meats and cheeses, as well as full cooked breakfast to order. Free good wifi. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marieanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Nice people ALWAYS at the front desk, and fun people own the Italian restaurant next door. The hotel isn't fancy, but is clean and the cleaning gals were VERY nice and always helpful too. And it's in a good location overall, a bit of a side street that's mostly empty at night, but very near a lot of things you'll want to see and do in CT.


  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KarenRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The staff at Parliament Hotel would have to be some of the friendliest and most helpful I've come across in all my years of travel. Upon check in, the hotel manager himself assisted me with my bags to my room and quickly took me through some tips I should know, both about the hotel and Cape Town. On my second day most of the city was shutdown due to an annual biking event, thus making it hard for me to do anything. The hotel manager helped suggest a few things and eventually asked a favour of a township tour guide to give me a private tour for the price of being on a group tour - much appreciated. Breakfast each morning was included, and was delicious. Hot food was made to order as well as a large selection of fruits, cereals and muffins. The hotel is located in an OK area. There is not a great deal of things to do nearby, but it only costs roughly $5 Australian to catch a cab down to the V&A Waterfront where there is an abundance of restaurants and shopping. The hotel itself is quite small and a bit dated, but is very clean, feels safe and the beds are quite comfortable. Overall a very pleasant stay and I could not commend the staff anymore on their great level of service. One improvement would be to put mini bar fridges in the rooms, I was shocked not to have one!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhys C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed here for four nights at the beginning of our holiday in Cape Town. We had a room on the top floor (as requested) with limited views of Table Mountain. The room was perfectly adequate and spacious enough. Everything worked. The air conditioning was quiet. The bed was comfortable. Free wifi worked well. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. They made enquiries/reservations for us at venues we wanted to visit and airport transfers. Breakfast was provided by the Italian Restaurant next door and was excellent with a reasonable range of cooked and cold items in very pleasant surroundings with attentive staff. This arrangement is due to change in March when the hotel opens its own breakfast facility.

There were two drawbacks with the hotel. Firstly, its location, although central and close to a number of the tourist sites – e.g., Company Gardens and the Castle, it was some distance from the Waterfront (approx. 30 mins. on foot) but taxis were cheap. But, at night it was not recommended to walk anywhere from the hotel due to possible security issues. Secondly, there was only one lift and it broke down on two occasions during our stay – not a problem if you are on first or second floor but is a nuisance if you are on the top floor!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wyretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed in a superior room that gave us plenty of space, a refrigerator and a couch. It was a very comfortable room with good tv.
Location was good and we were close to everything we needed. There was a 7/11 directly opposite with basic supplies.
The only downside was the noise from the university student accommodation directly opposite the hotel. We were there on a Friday and Saturday night and students were coming and going all night. They weren't yelling or anything but their normal conversation was so loud we had to close our windows.
I suggest booking a room that didn't face the street.
Strong points - an outstanding breakfast with excellent service.
The Italian restaurant next door which had good food and low prices.
Would definetely go again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pankala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed one night and had booked through the internet with no knowledge of the location or facilities. We were extremely pleasantly surprised at the convenient location and the warm welcome that we received. The room was big with a comfortable bed and a good breakfast. Everything we needed before our long flight to the UK. The free internet facility in the reception area was very good as was the advice on where to dine for the evening. Altogether a lovely stay and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank easytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Nice 3 star hotel with very friendly staff. Breakfast was very good, and a visit to The Cousins restaurant is a must. Staff always willing to go that extra mile, safe area, close to everything.......Highly recommended.
Christo
Kalahari Northern Cape

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whartog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#50 of 110 in Cape Town Central
831 reviews
0.4 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#55 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#75 of 110 in Cape Town Central
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#46 of 110 in Cape Town Central
877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#76 of 110 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Hotel

Address: 9 Barrack Street | Cbd, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £50 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parliament Hotel is exclusively located in the heart of Cape Town. The central location adjacent to the Company Gardens and the Slave Museum makes this city hotel the ideal starting point for business trips or holidays in Cape Town. The Hotel offers easy access to the best local attractions, Cape Town's International Airport and the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CCITC). Cape Town not only serves as an important business location, but it is also a magnet for history, art, culture and architecture. The Parliament Hotel offers a vibrant and friendly environment that provides both business and leisure travelers with the affordable hotel experience they desire. Nestled in the city center, this three stars hotel features 27 modern, spacious and en suite rooms with comfortable beds and all fitted with safety boxes, HD television sets, heat/air conditioning system & free WIFI. CANCELLATION POLICY:•Failure to confirm the reservation will result in the cancellation of the booking without notice 48 hours prior to arrival.•Guaranteed bookings must be cancelled 48 hours prior to arrival in order to avoid one full night charge. •In the event of premature departure the full extent of stay, as originally booked and confirmed will be charged. • For No Shows the full contract will be charged. •All bookings must be made in writing via email or via fax; as well any amendment to the booking must be notified in writing. •Please note that in the below periods of 2014 & early 2015 we require a full non refundable deposit for the entire length of the stay booked: * Christmas and New Year 2014/2015 from 15th December 2014 to the 06th January 2015 * Cape Argus Cycling Tour from the 07th March to 10th March, 2014 * Jazz Festival from the 27th to the 1st April 2014 * Two Oceans Marathon from the 17th April to 20th April, 2014 * World Travel Market from 24th April to 10th May, 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parliament Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing