We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An ideal place to start your visit to Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AHA Inn on the Square
Ranked #66 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An ideal place to start your visit to Cape Town”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before. It is in a very central position in the town, the food is very nice, the hotel is very clean, friendly, comfortable, and very very well priced. Last time we stayed the bar at the side was closed, which was sad as it was very handy for a little soiree. Also the market setting up outside in the mornings was a little noisy.However, this time the bar was renovated and re-opened, very nice! and the hotel has also had many improvements, one of which is double glazing to the windows, which virtually cuts the noise completely! also there are blackout curtains that help make for a good nights sleep!! I was very impressed, and hope to stay there next time I am in Cape Town.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front as we did before and it was very quiet so I would have those again.A/C a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseQ499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    269
    129
    38
    32
See reviews for
77
209
43
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel to attend a conference. I registered late and my preferred hotels were full. I chose Inn on the Square for availability and access to the conference centre.
My room for the first three nights was on a low floor on the inside of the building. It had an opaque window because it opened onto a ventilation shaft. The room was relatively small, with a tiny bathroom, and I found it claustrophobic. Luckily I left early and arrived late so I only slept in the room. The room was quiet, except for the hum of air conditioners in the vent shaft, and the bed was comfortable so I slept well.
For my final night I moved to a slightly larger room on the top floor at the front of the hotel, with a good view over Green Market Square and Table Mountain. This was altogether better.
I had one buffet breakfast and one buffet dinner at the hotel, and these were pleasant enough without being memorable.
The front desk staff were helpful, but busy most of the time, which meant waiting to get their attention.
I do not particularly like the Long Street area, and prefer to stay in other parts of Cape Town. Inn on the Square met my needs. I would have rated it higher if I had been allocated my second room from the beginning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I have stayed here before and even then it wasn't great, but this time was unacceptable. On arrival my room stank of smoke and I couldn't be moved because the rooms were all taken (even though the gentleman at the front desk didn't make much effort). I was in Cape town for business and my suits all smelt like smoke, it was disgusting. The staff in general are friendly but if you want to sleep till after 06:00 this is not the place as the market downstairs starts setting up at 06:00am. The food is average as well.
I wont be staying here again.

Room Tip: Higher up is better, anything from the 5th floor is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

The Three Cities Inn on The Square was the fifth place we stayed in during a two week trip to South Africa, unfortunately this was the worst hotel we stayed in by far. Finding and getting to the hotel by car was difficult due to all the one way roads in the area and with there being as busy flea market directly outside the hotel. Although you can park outside the hotel to check in, the hotel doesn't have a car park and uses a multi story car park a couple of blocks away which they charge you 75 Rand a day for. The concierge have to go and park your car for you. When you need your car the next day, you have to request it. We would request our car the night before, but in the mornings our car was never there at the time we asked for it to be there. We had to keep waiting for the concierge to go and collect it.
Upon checking in, the concierge did not offer to help take our suitcases to the room. The first room we were given on the 8th floor absolutely stunk of cigarettes, despite it being a 'No Smoking Hotel'. We asked for a different room and were then given one on the 7th floor. Although the room did not smell, the whole corridor on the 7th floor stunk of cigarettes. We asked for another room again and were given one on the second floor which did not smell of cigarettes. The room was fairly modern as was the hotel, it looks to have had a major refurbishment fairly recently. The first two rooms we were given were fairly small, the third was bigger as it was a triple room, however the bathroom was very small and didn't have a single towel hanger which was annoying. The windows in the hotel room were frosted so that you could not get a view outside. The bathroom floor was dirty and had hairs all over it. It was not cleaned again the next day either. We asked to speak to the manager one evening about the problems we were having with the hotel, as it was not making it an enjoyable stay. We waited for 15 minutes and the manager didn't show. We were promised that housekeeping would go to our room whilst we were out and clean the bathroom floor. When we got back, the bathroom floor had still not been cleaned, housekeeping had been in and had only left us 2 more bottles of water. We then asked to speak to the manager again who was still not available. We were told he would phone our room, however he never did.
We found that some of the reception staff were friendly, but others were quite rude.
The hotel does have a roof terrace with a very small pool and sunbeds. The pool is too small to be able to swim properly in, although the roof terrace was quite pleasant to sit out.
Overall, a poor hotel and certainly not worth its 4 star rating. The building itself its nice and has been tastefully decorated, but let down by very poor customer service. At the start of our trip, we had 4 nights in the Capetonian hotel which was a cheaper hotel and more dated, however we had an enjoyable stay there and parking was easy. The Three Cities Inn On The Square was not a good hotel to stay in and we cannot recommend a stay here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Railroadtycoon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

As other reviews point out, this hotel has a great location if you want to be near the bars and restaurants. Two minutes from Long street but the walk to V&A waterfront is too far, get a taxi, its cheap. We had the hotel shuttle from the airport, 480 rand for 4 people and lots of luggage, organise it beforehand and they will be there to pick you up, very efficient. Pleasant staff at check-in. Overall service from the staff at the hotel was good.
We had 4 twin rooms as singles and they were perfect for our needs. Small bathroom but adequate, comfortable beds, coffee making facilities, free bottles of water replenished every day, sky news on TV, internet slow almost none existent. The pool is small also, but if you want to lounge around a pool on your holiday, this is not the hotel. Breakfast is very good, if you cannot find something here then you are fussy. Bar on the side of the hotel is good with a good atmosphere and you can take the drinks outside onto the veranda and watch the show at the craft market. There are plenty of staff outside to deal with any nuisance people.
To sum up, this is a good value for money hotel. We kept our room on to accommodate a late flight, but book this early and give them notice as the hotel fills up quickly.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the square, 6th floor was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRH61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The best thing about this property is : It's bang in the middle of Cape Town i.e. a minute's walk to Long Street, 15 minutes to V&A Waterfront, bang next to the famous souvenir market on Greenmarket sqaure & a 10 minute walk to the Parade. Thanks to this hotel I got a chance to be a part of Madiba's Memorial Ceremony at the Parade. Over and above this, the Hotel is clean, staff is friendly & food is decent. However, my only bane was the service which was quite average. Day one when we arrived, we were asked to relocate to a different hotel due to overbooking. That was the only put off for me.

Room Tip: Ask for the Market Facing rooms. Doesn't get noisy and yet you get a good view of the Table Moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Got a room without making a reservation, classified as a walk-in. The reservation went rather smoothly with them taking payments & we securing valet parking & breakfast included in the rate. A problem arose when our key card was to be cut, took forever & they blamed it on the system & problems with the server.
On arrival of the room, the key card would not work so back down to the front desk. On inspection it was clear that this was a dirty room so a smaller new room was arranged & key cards cut.
Rather wholesome breakfast with a live cooking station where the very talkative chef prepared omlettes which were great.
On requesting our hired car we waited several hours before it was discovered that because of the room change the incorrect tags were placed on the key & no idea of the actual parking bay was noted, the guy went around pressing the remote to see which car would be activated.
The front staff were also untrained & general presentation was poor (no greeting, talking amongst themselves, no attention to detail). When asked to see a senior Manager/Duty Manager, was told that no one was currently available. Would not use this establishment again, but will definitely recommend the breakfast

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Square, great to see how the market comes alive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#81 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#97 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#75 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHA Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHA Inn on the Square

Property: AHA Inn on the Square
Address: 10 Green Market Square Road, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Inn on the Square)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AHA Inn on the Square 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on historic Greenmarket Square, the Inn on the Square Hotel immerses the traveler - whether on holiday or on business - into the sights & sounds of beautiful Cape Town. A landmark hotel, along with its unique setting and comfortable, refurbished accommodation, the Inn on the Square is complete with heated rooftop swimming pool and sundeck overlooking Table Mountain and its signature restaurant, DISH that presents diners with the option of enjoying an experience from a menu which blends International Cuisine with South African & Cape nuances either in the refined, urban interior or al fresco on the terrace which spills out onto the Square. One of Cape Town's most charming spaces, the historic cobbled stone Greenmarket Square offers a wide variety of curios, clothing, candles and specialty stands from where to procure a small piece of Africa. All hotel rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi and in-room safes. The hotel's central location, meanwhile, invites the traveller to explore the beauty of the city on foot - the V&A Waterfront, the Cape Town Convention Centre and colourful Long Street are all within walking distance - ensuring that every detail of this extraordinary city may be appreciated to its fullest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AHA Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Cape Town Central
Park Inn Cape Town
Greenmarket Square Park Inn
AHA Inn On The Square Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing