We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location - craft market at front door” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AHA Inn on the Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AHA Inn on the Square
Ranked #66 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Location - craft market at front door”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Nine travelers were booked into this hotel for four nights at the end of our trip to southern Africa. Rooms were slightly small but certainly adequate for our stay. Shower was outstanding...big enough for two. Loved bed linen. Hotel staff were outstanding with any request we had...booking trip to Robben Island. Breakfast buffet was good but room could get a little crowded at times. Had dinner for six on last night and food was very good. Loved having the craft market just outside the front door. How convenient! Easy walking distance to South African Jewish Museum with a Holocaust section and the Iziko South African National Gallery.

Room Tip: Our room was 203 and had no street noise and close to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Memasmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Manager at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Greetings from Inn on the Square Team.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent stay here at the
Three Cities Inn on the Square Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you found the Three Citires Inn on the Square team to be outstanding and that our breakfast and dinner on your last night met your expectations.

We do pride ourselves with consistent high standards of service and it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback . THANK YOU.

We do thank you for your support and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    259
    122
    38
    30
See reviews for
74
200
40
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mendham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Booked into this hotel by OAT on Southern Africa trip. Nice breakfast buffet, never were here for lunch, had one very nice supper on our last night - too tired to go out and were pleasantly surprised by quality and presentation. Housekeeping could have been better, forgot the top sheet one night, forgot the second bath towel one day. Had no problem with noise from the market. Our room was on the 4th floor and had double windows. Staff pleasant, not as friendly as those at lodges in the bush. Market was great for getting the things you forgot to buy earlier.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Manager at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Greetings from Inn on the Square

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

We are delighted to read that your dining experiences with us at Dish Restaurant met your expectations. We are over the next couple of weeks introducing a new menu which we are sure will enhance the dining experience even more .

Rest assured that the service delivery from our Housekeeping department has been addressed as this is not our normal standard . Please accept our apologies for these shortcomings.

We do hope that you will be able to visit us again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The location of the hotel is great for sight seeing but lack ambiance. The staff is cordial but not warm- it felt like you are staying in a block of flats. Be aware that parking would cost you an additional R75. Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnoldr516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Manager at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Greetings from Inn on the Square

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review for our Hotel.

We do pride ourselves with consistent high standards of service and constantly change the way we operate to ensure complete guest satisfaction, it is only through feedback received from our guests that we are able to achieve this. Our front line staff are busy with retraining with regards to warmth and empathy and going the extra mile - I am sure the next time you come to stay you will see a marked improvement.

Our Dish restuarant is in the process of upgrading and enhancing the offerings we provide and you will be delighted to experience it - I am sure.

Parking does cost R75.00 a day and our team will valet park your car for you in the nearby car park and will fetch your car at any time that you require it.

We do hope to see you back at the Inn on the Square in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were booked into this hotel by OAT. The best thing is the location as you can walk to all the museums & there is a market right across the street. Also, the buffet breakfast is very good.

The room we had was big enough for two, but so poorly designed. There is a cubby, bit no shelves, there was one double bed & one single bed next to each othrr. Why not have 2 singles or one queen? This would add space. The bathroom is tiny. You can hardly close the door. The side mirror was cracked & when we first got to our room we had a tissue box with 3 tissues left. They do not replace toilet paper unless requested and also forgot to give us new hand towels & shampoo. They did however bring these quickly. This hotel could be better with a little more attention to the smaller things.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFH30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Manager at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Greetings from Inn on the Square.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on the Inn on the Square.

We also believe our location is just the best !. We are pleased you enjoyed the buffet breakfast as well.

I must apologise for the short comings in the service provided by Housekeeping. Retraining has taken place in this department and I am sure should you return to Cape Town and our Hotel you will see a marked improvement.

Our Hotel has twin bedded rooms, double bedded rooms and family rooms. Our twin rooms do have 3/4 beds in the rooms, the double bedded room has 1 queensize bed and then we have family rooms which have 1 queen size bed and then 2 3/4 beds. For a nominal fee all our guests can be upgraded to a family room (subject to availablity) which are more spacious and have a larger bathroom. Please do make your request via your travel agent.

We do thank you for your support and hope to welcome you back in the near future .

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Fell into this place by accident. No idea what the hotel is like but it looked really nice. But in the restaurant, the Inn on the Square, we were delighted by both the food and the service. Quick and tasty food. Option to sit inside or out. Was getting a bit cold by the time we got there, so we opted for inside. If the square market had still been on, we'd have had a perfect view of all the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Manager at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Greetings from Inn on the Square.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Dish Restaurant here at the Inn on the Square, your comments are appreicated and valued.

We are delighted you "fell into " our Dish Restaurant and that your experience was a delight. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try every day to provide quality customer service that our guests expect.

We do thank you for your support and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Location great as just in front of a small flea market with lots of african arts/clothing...plus small cafe to sit outside.
Rooms big but not much renovations done as Heritage site.
I have gone there for breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for the different types of rooms as some different - market facing ...corner rooms are nice...th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Razia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Manager at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Greetings from Inn on the Square

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review for Three Cities Inn on the Square.

Thank you for your support in our Dish Restaurant and I trust you had a great experience.

We pride ourselves with consistent high standards of service and constantly change the way we operate to ensure complete guest satisfaction, it is only through feedback received from our guests that we are able to achieve this.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to Three Cities Inn on the Square in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Firstly i would like to commend Riaz who picked us from the airport courtesy of the inn's shuttle , he was such a pleasant and helpful person to interact with.

The hotel booked us into a room that was quite musky on the 8th Floor, we immedaetly requested for another room , and we were availed one on the 6th Floor which was much better.

However the bathroom/toilet was rather cramped as well,which i think is a design flaw.

Other than the aforementioned downside the staff at the front desk were very courteous and warm to me and my wife. The staff in the restaurant were exceptional especially Anita and the Chef at breakfast who always had a warm smile at breakfast whenever we went to have him make us an egg.

I would say the location of the hotel being near Long street and the green market right in front of it gave it a unique feel and a great haven for those into arts and crafts from all over the continent.

Room Tip: The 8th floor rooms are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidpjkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Manager at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Greetings from Inn on the Square

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Three Cities Inn on the Square, your comments are appreicated and valued. Your comments about our Staff have been communicated to them and they are delighted.

Our staff members do try every day to provide that quality service that our guests expect and we are pleased that we meet these expectations.

For a nominal fee, you can be upgraded to a family room which is more spacious and has a larger bathroom. Our Hotel being a Historical site does have some limitations with regards to the size of room/bathroom.

We do thank you for your support and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Fountains Hotel
#82 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Strand Tower Hotel
#49 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHA Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHA Inn on the Square

Property: AHA Inn on the Square
Address: 10 Green Market Square Road, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Inn on the Square)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AHA Inn on the Square 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on historic Greenmarket Square, the Inn on the Square Hotel immerses the traveler - whether on holiday or on business - into the sights & sounds of beautiful Cape Town. A landmark hotel, along with its unique setting and comfortable, refurbished accommodation, the Inn on the Square is complete with heated rooftop swimming pool and sundeck overlooking Table Mountain and its signature restaurant, DISH that presents diners with the option of enjoying an experience from a menu which blends International Cuisine with South African & Cape nuances either in the refined, urban interior or al fresco on the terrace which spills out onto the Square. One of Cape Town's most charming spaces, the historic cobbled stone Greenmarket Square offers a wide variety of curios, clothing, candles and specialty stands from where to procure a small piece of Africa. All hotel rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi and in-room safes. The hotel's central location, meanwhile, invites the traveller to explore the beauty of the city on foot - the V&A Waterfront, the Cape Town Convention Centre and colourful Long Street are all within walking distance - ensuring that every detail of this extraordinary city may be appreciated to its fullest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your AHA Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Cape Town Central
Park Inn Cape Town
Greenmarket Square Park Inn
AHA Inn On The Square Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing