We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good spot in CapeTown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AHA Inn on the Square
Ranked #66 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good spot in CapeTown”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Good choice if you are looking for a comfortable hotel in Cape Town.
Our room was tiny as well as the bathroom, except for the shower that is huge.
The room was clean and silent.
We use the valet parking that is extremely useful considering no parking lot in the vicinity.
The staff was helpful and we also enjoyed the complimentary wifi access in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Manager at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Greetings from Inn on the Square

Thank you for taking the time to do a review on Three Cities Inn on the Square.

Your comment on the small bedroom and bathroom is noted. Unfortunately it is an old building and a national monument. Structural changes were unfortunately not accepted. For a nominal fee, you can be upgraded to a family room (subject to availability) which are more spacious and have a larger bathroom.

We are happy to read that you to made use of our car valet service and the wifi which is indeed very useful.

The helpful attitude of our staff can only be credited to their passion and love for the industry and customer service.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Three Cities Inn on the Square in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    269
    129
    38
    32
See reviews for
77
209
43
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coromandel, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. The room was clean but a bit cramped and the bathroom was tiny! Nice view of Table Mountain from the hotel. Only niggle is there was an unpleasant smell in the room. Our booking included buffet breakfasts each morning which were very nice and had a pretty good selection. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant twice which was very good too and reasonably priced. The staff were all polite and helpful. Free wifi was patchy in the room but worked fine at reception area and there were also 2 computers available for use.
There were craft markets in the square straight in front of the hotel. There were also cafes in the square as well as a few shops. Company Gardens and a shopping mall were only a few minutes walk away. Also went to the Waterfront but took a taxi (60 rand).We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mclal64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Manager at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Greetings from Three Cities Inn on the Square

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We do value your feedback.
We are delighted that you had the opportunity to experience one of our few rooms which face Table Mountain as opposed to facing Green Market Square.
Unfortunately the source of the unpleasant odour in the room was not established suffice to say that it has been resolved.

We are really pleased you were able to experience our Dish restuarant for both breakfast and dinner and our aim is to provide value for money - glad you enjoyed it .

We have just had our wifi upgraded and there have been a few teething problems we are hoping in the next few days for the system to settle down which will be a marked improvement in the speed and stablity of this system.

Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, everyday to provide that quality customer service that our guests expect - thank you for recognising their efforts.

I do hope that you will come and stay with us here at the Three Cities Inn on the Square again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel end of June 2014, there is an funny smell that engulfs the hotel from the lobby to the restaurant to the room. Hot water is not existent, had to endure a cool shower (I did inform reception)
The hotel restaurant is substandard with a limited menu. I had the arrabiata pasta which was awful!.
I was booked at this hotel due to its close proximity to the Cape Town office.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Manager at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Greetings from Inn on the Square

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

Unfortunately during your stay a fire was lit in the bar prior to the airconditioning being switched off which then pulled all the air from the bar into the Hotel . Please be assured this has been addressed and will not happen again.

We have had a team out to check why your room did not have any Hot Water and unfortunately no conducive explanation was found as to why your room did not have any Hot Water.

You will be pleased to hear that in the next couple of weeks the Dish Restuarant Menu will be changing.

I do hope this experience has not put you off coming to stay with us so that we can show you that this is not the usual standard of service.

Please do contact me should you wish to come and stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Inn on the Square as part of an OAT trip in June, 2014. The location on the Greenmarket Square is excellent. You can spend a day watching the activity in the day market, take a short walk (briskly and in small groups to ward off the aggessive beggars) to the waterfront. Good airport transportation (300 Rand each way) and an full breakfast buffet included.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 8th floor and if you want a little more room, ask for a family room (811 was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Manager at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Good Day from Three Cities Inn on the Square

Thank you for the great review, your comments are valued. Our location is a huge benefit and we are delighted that it worked in your favour.

The team here at Three Cities Inn on the Square take their roles in our industry very seriously and try,every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.

We do hope to welcome you back to Cape Town and of course Three Cities Inn on the Square in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in June 2014. Nice location in the city centre. About a 20 minute walk to the V & A Waterfront. Seven uphill kilometers to Table Mountain, but the MyCiTi buses (106 and 107) stop right near the hotel. Nice restaurants and coffee shops on the square. Fantastic breakfast buffet at the hotel. My only criticism would be the slow, inconsistent WiFi in the room. I was on the 7th floor, and I often found myself going down to the lobby for extended internet use. Great staff, though.

Room Tip: Pool and sauna are on the top (8th) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanK124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Manager at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Greetings from Three Cities Inn on the Square.

Thank you for taking the time to comment and rate your recent stay with us. Our location is a huge benefit and we are delighted that you found it convenient.

We are pleased you enjoyed our Buffet breakfast - really gives you a good start to the day for experiencing Cape Town.

We have spent the past couple of weeks upgrading our WIFI system which should make a huge difference to this experience.

Our staff do take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, everyday to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect. So thank you for acknowledging their efforts.

We hope to welcome you back to Three Cities Inn on the Square soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poipu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
96 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

From breakfast to a good night's sleep, this hotel has it! Outside the doors is the "Market Square" for a fun something to take back home.
We enjoyed evenings with friends in the bar and found many restaurants close by that were very good, although we also had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel on occasion.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Manager at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Greetings from Three Cities Inn on the Square

Thank you for the great review - we value your feedback and this is testament to what we strive to accomplish.

We are very fortunate to have a good location to experience Cape Town and all it has to offer.

We do hope that it will not be too long before you return to Cape Town and of course Three Cities Inn on the Square.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is wonderful! Perfect location for sight seeing, nice rooms, comfy beds, spatious showers and the markets are literally directly in front of the hotel (I spent way too much money here... the markets are great!). I stayed here on two separate weekends and both weekends the staffs service and the cleanliness of the rooms was impressive. I would highly recommend staying here if you don't want to spend a fortune but still want a lovely hotel!
Although the WIFI was extremely slow..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahB0wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Manager at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Sarah

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. Your feedback is beneficial to us.

We do indeed have a great location which is so benefical when you are staying in Cape Town - so glad it worked for you.

Our staff do take their roles in this industry very seriously and try, every day to provide that quality customer service that our guests expect . Thank you for recognising their performance.

We do hope that it will not be too long before you return to Cape Town again and we hope to welcome you back to the Three Cities Inn on the Square soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#70 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#81 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#97 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#75 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHA Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHA Inn on the Square

Property: AHA Inn on the Square
Address: 10 Green Market Square Road, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Inn on the Square)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AHA Inn on the Square 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on historic Greenmarket Square, the Inn on the Square Hotel immerses the traveler - whether on holiday or on business - into the sights & sounds of beautiful Cape Town. A landmark hotel, along with its unique setting and comfortable, refurbished accommodation, the Inn on the Square is complete with heated rooftop swimming pool and sundeck overlooking Table Mountain and its signature restaurant, DISH that presents diners with the option of enjoying an experience from a menu which blends International Cuisine with South African & Cape nuances either in the refined, urban interior or al fresco on the terrace which spills out onto the Square. One of Cape Town's most charming spaces, the historic cobbled stone Greenmarket Square offers a wide variety of curios, clothing, candles and specialty stands from where to procure a small piece of Africa. All hotel rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi and in-room safes. The hotel's central location, meanwhile, invites the traveller to explore the beauty of the city on foot - the V&A Waterfront, the Cape Town Convention Centre and colourful Long Street are all within walking distance - ensuring that every detail of this extraordinary city may be appreciated to its fullest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AHA Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Cape Town Central
Park Inn Cape Town
Greenmarket Square Park Inn
AHA Inn On The Square Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing