We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was great, accommodations just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AHA Inn on the Square
Ranked #68 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Orange CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Service was great, accommodations just ok”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed for four nights in the beginning for July 2014. The service was great. The Concierge even walked us to the store to buy a sim card. Even helped me configure it on my phone. The front desk and manager were also very helpful.

The only thing that was below average was the shower. The first room we went to, the shower backed up creating a pool of water. Yuk.

The second room, the shower didn't have hot water. They kind of fixed it, but the water wasn't very hot. Luke warm.

The location was ok, but on Sundays, everything is closed, including all the restaurants nearby. The only thing that is open is near the waterfront, whose restaurants are great.

Lots of touring groups stay here which is great. We had lots of conversations with people who just came from where we were going.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerOrangeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    277
    132
    38
    32
See reviews for
80
213
44
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived early after many hours of traveling from Australia, and they had a room ready for us. The room was perfectly adequate for a few days, and we had a view of the square. Staff were friendly and very helpful with all our questions about where to go for various things. Close to the red tour bus stop, the bus station, and Fork restaurant (which I also recommend) and lots of security guys around during the day.

Room Tip: We liked our view onto the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TazTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel was chosen for us by our tour OAT. It was very pleasant, clean and in a great location. The breakfast was very nice and the dinner we had there was excellent. This is a hotel used by many tour groups so sometimes can be a little crowded.

Room Tip: All the room locations were good, the higher floors of course had better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaiWeiShi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. Fair prices in comparison to other hotels. Good location and access to taxi;bus; currency exchange; tuorist information and the market. Very flexible and respectful to your needs. Ty

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Az Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed there for 3 weeks as i was on a business trip.

Spotted 2 BIG cockroaches in the WC, reported it to the reception that was really ok & calm about it, the room and WC were never cleaned properly, i had to call the housekeeping several times asking for shampoo, shower gel or tissues, a couple of times mugs were left out dirty, in addition to problems with the heater, smell of smoke that i also reported and no fridge.

Some of the receptionists were super nice and helpful some others would barely look at me when complaining to them about something and reply in a rude way -specially the girls.

However the room was spacious with a big comfortable bed, breakfast was nice, neatly served.


The location is good, you have restaurants and pubs all over the place and is safe to be around, however always stay cautious as there are lots of beggars.

Overall experience: unpleasant!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking Green market square as the noise is unbearable day and very early in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Po87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Manager at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Greetings from Inn on the Square.

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to write about your experience.

I wish to apologise for the level of service you received from our Housekeeping department - this is really not our normal standard and I can ensure you that that the matter has be dealt with accordingly.

Yes, our location is excellent and we are pleased to read that it worked in your favour.

I do hope that you will return to Cape Town and to Inn on the Square in order for us to show you that your experience was a once off.

Please do let us know so as I can personally welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights in July. We were greeted by friendly, efficient staff. Location was great. 17 minutes from airport. Walking distance to some great little coffee shops, bistros and other fast food favorites. Was pleasantly surprised. Will go back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevonica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Manager at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Greetings from Three Cities Inn on the Square Team.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property. Your comments are really appreciated. The friendly and efficient attitude of our team can be only be attributed to their passion for this industry and they try everyday to provide that quality customer service that our guests expect.

Our location is certainly a bonus and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you will come back.

We do look forward to welcoming you back and hope it will soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

But if you do, book on line and save 15-20% on line. They will not honor the price even if you have a print out. Rooms very small even the double ones. Bathroom? seen larger bathrooms on airplanes. Help at the desk??? not going to happen. Had to ask for soap, lotion to be replenished.
Location, good.

Room Tip: More than one person for room, try for the "family room" didn't see it but hope it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda S, Manager at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Greetings from Inn on the Square.

Thank you for your comments and review.

It is not in our best interest not to honour the rate if you have made our booking on line. Please could I ask that you contact us directly by email to revman@innonthesquare.co.za in order for this to be looked into for you.

Your comment on the small bathroom is noted. Unfortunately it is an old building and a national monument. Structural changes to enlarge the bathrooms were unfortunately not accepted. For a nominal fee, you can be upgraded to a family room which is more spacious and has a larger bathroom.

I do look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 109 in Cape Town Central
455 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
782 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strand Tower Hotel
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
656 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
808 reviews
Cape Diamond Hotel
#76 of 109 in Cape Town Central
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHA Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHA Inn on the Square

Property: AHA Inn on the Square
Address: 10 Green Market Square Road, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Inn on the Square)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#58 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AHA Inn on the Square 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on historic Greenmarket Square, the Inn on the Square Hotel immerses the traveler - whether on holiday or on business - into the sights & sounds of beautiful Cape Town. A landmark hotel, along with its unique setting and comfortable, refurbished accommodation, the Inn on the Square is complete with heated rooftop swimming pool and sundeck overlooking Table Mountain and its signature restaurant, DISH that presents diners with the option of enjoying an experience from a menu which blends International Cuisine with South African & Cape nuances either in the refined, urban interior or al fresco on the terrace which spills out onto the Square. One of Cape Town's most charming spaces, the historic cobbled stone Greenmarket Square offers a wide variety of curios, clothing, candles and specialty stands from where to procure a small piece of Africa. All hotel rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi and in-room safes. The hotel's central location, meanwhile, invites the traveller to explore the beauty of the city on foot - the V&A Waterfront, the Cape Town Convention Centre and colourful Long Street are all within walking distance - ensuring that every detail of this extraordinary city may be appreciated to its fullest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your AHA Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Cape Town Central
Park Inn Cape Town
Greenmarket Square Park Inn
AHA Inn On The Square Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing