We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great but needs maintenance”
Review of Riviera Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riviera Suites
Ranked #84 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We had a 3 bedroom unit. The unit was large with one ensuite bedroom and the other two shared a bathroom. The beds were very hard and the pillows much too stiff. The unit has a full kitchen that was clean. The sitting rooms lounge suit was old and sticky. They need to be replaced. We had a balcony overlooking the sea front which was wonderful but dirty. It was never cleaned in the week. The unit is very noisy as all the street noise penetrates and it only gets quiet at about 12h at night. The unit is on the first floor. There is limited parking for 6 vehicles so you must reserve parking before you visit. There is no restaurant in the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. There is no printer so you can not print a boarding pass if you use the single computer in the lobby. The lift was dirty the whole time. The location is absolutely great for cape town.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view and book for your car parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jagluiperd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

The first room we had was a bit grim, a small studio facing a brick wall which was quite dark and quite noisy. Thankfully after our first week we swapped to a bigger studio which had a balcony and a sea view which was perfect for catching a few rays and people watch. The staff, espacially the cleaning staff were so friendly, very interested in chatting to us and helpful.

It is conveniently placed for transport links, either local buses or the Red sightseeing bus (which is well woth doing). There is a lovely promenade which is well used by locals for running and cycling. There is a lovely shopping area behind the hotel with supermarkets, restaurants and shops (I'd recommend Woolworths for shopping and Sumo to salads and wraps). There is a fantastic cafe bar about 20 mins stroll along the prom called La Vie which do a very wide range of food and drinks and is popular with locals and tourists alike.
It would be good if the hotel had some tourist information leaflets on display. On our last day (thankfuilly!!) we had problems with cockroaches.

Room Tip: Book early to get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pre-RapheliteGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This hotel is Ideally located close to Clifton and Camps bay beaches. Sea point offers many restaurants and shops. Shop at woolies supermarket for high quality ready to eat meals and snacks.

We also went to the V&A waterfront and Table mountain with the Cable Car for sundowners.

The rooms are tiody and they all have small kitchens which makes self catering possible.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BebeSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

The refurnished Riviera Suites apartment currently owned by First Reserve is a good RCI time share resort at peaceful Beach Rd, in Sea Point. The staff was efficient and cheerful. Riviera provides free tea and fruits during afternoon tea time. If you need to explore Cape Town, it is also very convenient. You just wait opposite the hotel along Beach Rd.at the City sightseeing Bus stand for the 1 day Hop On Hop Off Bus Red route to take you to most of the tourist places of interest in the city like Table Mountain, Camp Bay, etc.. Alternatively, you can take a 1 day Blue route to the famous Kirstchisten Botanical Gardens and the Constantia wineland. You can
buy a 2 days' tickets for both routes at a discount plus a free canal cruise.
As for the taxi to move around the city, we took August Jackebus taxi ( Tel: 076 8587827 ) We found him reliable,punctual and cheaper than others..

Room Tip: Ask for a room at higher floors with balcony. From the balcony you can have ocean view and enjoy its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peterling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The Riviera Hotel has been renovated and they were still busy doing fittings and refurnishing in the reception area when we arrived. Our apartment was on the ground floor. The rooms were lovely and the apartment was warm in spite of them not having a heater or air conditioner. We had a sea view but we would have preferred to stay on one of the other floors to have a better view. We also found that staying on the ground floor right at the reception one encounters all the noise of the traffic as well as visitors arriving. We also did not having a parking bay for our car as the parking bays are few. We were rather disappointed that the Riviera did not have DSTV especially with the Olympic Games being on. There is also no swimming pool which I am sure one would love in the summer. We find Sea Point safe and police are constantly patrolling the area. There is also lovely walk ways next to the sea. We visited a number of restaurants which we can highly recommend. The bus stop is also just across the road and leaves every 10 minutes to the Waterfront.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a higher floor to have a better sea view, more quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hennieschoemancivils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My wife and I spent five days at this time share resort. It has no other features other than the units. It is not a hotel , has no pool and no bar or other area. It is just a place to use as a base in cape Town. You will sleep and maybe have an early breakfast here, but that is it. That said, location is good, service was okay and the rooms equiped with the necessary kit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Something about the Riviera that just didn't click. It doesn't feel like a hotel or a sublet or anything in-between. The closest thing, really, is an airport lounge.

The Riviera was once private apartments, but the property was bought and renovated by a property management company. They focus on timeshares, but rent the units as well to fill in any gaps. While the decor and furnishing is generic throughout (this is an understatement) the floor plans can vary considerably. We originally had a larger apartment downstairs, but switched to a smaller one on the top floor to get a better view.

I would stay at the Riviera again, as I have family in Sea Point and it is the best value in the area. It felt safe and was quite clean except for some ants in the kitchen. Mind you, all of these (including the ants) are easy to find in Cape Town.

Other travelers should weigh the tradeoffs carefully. Sea Point is a lovely neighborhood but less touristy than most. On the other hand, the Riviera offers parking, it is easy to find a taxi, and you can catch a shuttle bus to the V&A waterfront across the street. The view (and sound) of the ocean are wonderful, but screeching seagulls may keep you up at night. There is no air conditioning, but the breeze should keep you cool. The hotel has few amenities, but a large kitchen and nice markets nearby (including Woolworths) make self-catering an attractive option.

Rational considerations aside, the sheer blandness of it all marred my stay. The worst thing for me was the lack of personality. If you think you might feel the same, look to one of the B&Bs in the area, or farther afield.

Room Tip: The layouts seem to vary considerably. If you can, look at what's available once you arrive. Top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gridskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#105 of 112 in Cape Town Central
89 reviews
Spring Tide Inn
#67 of 112 in Cape Town Central
182 reviews
Cape Diamond Hotel
#76 of 112 in Cape Town Central
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Ikhaya Lodge
Ikhaya Lodge
#82 of 112 in Cape Town Central
82 reviews
The Verge Aparthotel
#137 of 203 in Cape Town
95 reviews
New Kings Hotel
#71 of 112 in Cape Town Central
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Suites

Address: 273 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Hotel Riviera)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £53 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is everything, and Riviera Suites, situated on Sea Point's Millionaire's Mile, is surrounded by the best that Cape Town has to offer - night life, beaches, restaurants and sporting facilities. Nearby sites worth visiting include the V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, the wine lands, the Castle, art galleries, museums, malls and top-class restaurants. With uninterrupted sea views in front and marvellous mountain vistas behind, these luxury self-catering and serviced apartments are perfect for a fantastic Cape Town holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Suites Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing