We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Riviera Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riviera Suites
Ranked #87 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We used a time share exchange to stay here for 2 weeks, end of January into February. It's known as the Riviera Suites. Our first week was on the second floor in a 1 bed apartment, self catering. It was sparsely furnished with many items missing from the itinerary. Most of these were gradually replaced over the week. The wifi was sporadic as there are 2 routers, one by reception and one on the 4th floor. The room was not air conditioned and relied on ceiling fans to keep cool.
For our second week we were moved to the penthouse which was a big improvement. It was better furnished, had 2 balconies and looked over the ocean.
You need to pre book a car parking space at R20 per day. There was nothing available for our first week but we managed to get a space for the second week. On 3 occasions we were either blocked in or someone else was using our space, even though our name was on the board. This was most frustrating.
The weeks we exchanged are 5 star in the English Lake District. On previous exchanges we have always had something comparable but found the Riviera Suites sadly lacking.
The location is excellent. There are many shops and restaurants in the area. It is 4km to the V&A Waterfront and we walked there and back on many occasions. It's a wonderful promenade all the way. We also took the car as there is ample good value parking.
The staff were excellent. Always helpful and smiling.
If we returned to Cape Town we would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ocean facing on 4th or 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    43
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We used our time share point to to stay for a week and were very pleased the apartment we had was on the top floor so had lovely views over the lido and the ocean it was a good size and very clean the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times it's in quite a good location with lots of shops and restaurants in easy walking distance and is a good location to explore from I would definitely stay there again

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen8877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimsby
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

we have just spent a lovely relaxing week in the riviera the staff were warm and frendly and very attentive to our needs the appartment we had was light and airy we a great view of the sea and the lido it was really handy for local shops and restaurants it felt very safe to walk even later in the evening we usually stay in stellenbosch so it made a nice change to stay in the city

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Pirie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The resort is not actually in Cape Town Central, but a suburb a few kilometers north of the city right on the beachfront. As other reviewers have said, it is self-catering and has no pool, but is located right opposite a large public pool that we visited and found it clean and pleasant. Riviera's greatest asset is its position. We did not need a car for the five days.we were there The MyCiti bus service is excellent and inexpensive, but be sure to buy a card - no cash is taken on board. We used it to travel to the Waterfront (shopping) and Camps Bay (lovely beach and lunch), A new route all the way to Hout Bay was imminent and the existing routes reach as far as Century City and Tableview. The city sightseeing hop-on hop-off bus also stops right outside and that just about covers anywhere else you'd want to go except the winelands. The bus terminates at the Civic Centre near the Cape Town station if you want to take a train ride to the Indian Ocean beaches. Self-catering is no hardship with several supermarkets in the area and there are plenty of good restaurants within easy walking distance, including a good Asian eatery right next door.

The resort is reasonably well-provisioned with crockery, cutlery and cookware and ours was a very spacious 3 bed unit. The bedrooms and bathrooms are very good. The cleanliness of the unit was only OK with the housekeeping service falling just short of 4 stars. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is free WiFi.

This was not initially our first choice hotel, but we'll certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Beach view gets the traffic, but is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ratfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My family and i stayed at The Riviera for 7 nights over New Years. The hotel is very basic but centrally situated to everything. The hotel does not have a swimming pool but a Public sea water Swimming Pool is situated across the road. The Sightseeing Bus and local Citibus has a stop across the road from the hotel. The reception, sleeper couches needs an upgrade and a swimming pool is required for families. Parking is charged for and is limited but street parking is also an option. The top floors have huge balconies with amazing sea views. The staff are friendly and the rooms cleaned regularly. There are a number of shops in the street behind the hotel to cater for groceries and shopping. The 6 sleeper units have only 1 bathroom to share.

Room Tip: the rooms higher up and sea facing are the best with larger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0lidaytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here across the New Year's Eve period. The hotel is in a great location slightly outside of the hustle and bustle of the Waterfront and CBD, but both easily reached with a 10-minute taxi drive. There's also a MyCiti bus stop outside the hotel. Within 5 minutes walk of the hotel, there's a Woolworth's (if you're self-catering) plus plenty of great pavement cafés including Nü where we had scrummy organic breakfasts! The Hotel is an updated Art Deco building, nothing too amazing, but the rooms are well furnished, clean and well equipped. We used our kitchenette quite frequently and were more than happy with it, with all the appliances working well. The staff we encountered were all incredibly helpful, even when we arrived back in the early hours of the morning slightly worse for wear from celebrating NYE. Our room had a small balcony with a view of Seapoint swimming pool and the ocean beyond. We left our car on the street outside the hotel (no charge) for the duration of our stay and didn't use it once. Overall, the hotel met all our requirements and I would have no hesitation in returning to it a some point in the future.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at the Riviera for a week in Dec/Jan. It is very well situated and close to everything in Sea Point. We had a sea facing apartment with an enormous balcony and a beautiful view. The place itself could do with some upgrading i.e. kitchens, furniture, mattresses and the reception area. Otherwise the house keeping and laundry service was very good and the linen was of a high quality and there is good cupboard space. Bathroom was modern but small for a 6 sleeper apartment. All in all we had a enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: D2 had a large balcony and lovely sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.3 mi away
Spring Tide Inn
Spring Tide Inn
#57 of 109 in Cape Town Central
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#115 of 203 in Cape Town
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#101 of 109 in Cape Town Central
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
404 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Splendida
La Splendida
#81 of 109 in Cape Town Central
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Suites

Property: Riviera Suites
Address: 273 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Hotel Riviera)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#66 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is everything, and Riviera Suites, situated on Sea Point's Millionaire's Mile, is surrounded by the best that Cape Town has to offer - night life, beaches, restaurants and sporting facilities. Nearby sites worth visiting include the V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, the wine lands, the Castle, art galleries, museums, malls and top-class restaurants. With uninterrupted sea views in front and marvellous mountain vistas behind, these luxury self-catering and serviced apartments are perfect for a fantastic Cape Town holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Suites Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing