We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location makes this hotel desirable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Location makes this hotel desirable”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This hotel's location is the best thing going for it. It sits on the sea around half a kilometer from the Capetown wharf, which has a number of high-end restaurants and boutiques and is almost a city on its own. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to the wharf on the hour until late at night. The hotel's terrace is quite stunning, with views of the sea and the dolphins that occasionally play in the surf. The hotel's breakfast is excellent, and eating it on the terrace is a pleasure. These are the good things. But there are also less attractive features. The rooms, at least most of them, need refurbishing and have a rundown look. While the hotel's staff is generally very friendly, the staff at the desk are sometimes less than efficient. We asked them to reserve us at a restaurant on the wharf, and they never called us back. We also asked them to book a tour of the townships for us, but found the following morning that the staffer named for the trip didn't do township tours. Still, we would stay there again, if only because of its excellent location.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room, preferably facing the sea, though these are a bit more expensive. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazzole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    500
    142
    55
    49
See reviews for
294
666
78
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay one night break away here. The rooms is very spacious with good quality furnishings. Great facilities as well and a FABULOUS location. Poor service at the restaurant though.

Room Tip: You have to get a seaview rooms, there are "Business Class" rooms which is very expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeblack_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This used to be one of my favourite hotels in the world. Rooms are very tired and need urgent work. Our bed was very hard and difficult to sleep on. No shampoo in bathroom. Room was above entrance which meant lots of noise from 7am so the lie-in was history. Older staff still have something speciial but most of new staff rude arrogant and unhelpful. Stayed in this hotel regularly since it opened. Not again until they upgrade.

Room Tip: Dont let them give you a room on back above entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stunning location -our room (a sea view two bedroom suite) had fabulous views of the sea and the waterfront plus Table Mountain from master bedroom, living area and balcony. Plus fold back doors in the master bathroom (so view from the loo!) and second bedroom. Very spacious and open plan with wooden floors. Breakfast outside overlooking the water with the dolphins playing was lovely -plenty of choice to help yourself to plus pancakes and eggs etc cooked to order on request. Didn't eat in main restaurant, though it looked busy at lunchtime, less so in evening (so many good restaurants to choose close by). Had snacks and drinks by pool -service great one day but less so the next. reasonably priced for poolside location. We only stayed one night but were able to use facilities from mid morning on arrival day until 6pm on departure day and get showered and changed for our flight home in the spa which was very helpful. Hotel also organised a driver to take us to airport which was good. Used shuttle to get to waterfront -great to have the free service but could do with bigger bus than a 6 seater people carrier (as a family of 5 trying to get in for a restaurant booking we came up against queue jumpers!) Would definitely return and stay for longer than one night as location so good for exploring Cape Town and the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonVisitor45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lippstadt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Radisson Blu at the waterfront in Cape town is very good 5* hotel with a lot of atmosphere. It's not the newest hotel, but still in very good shape. Rooms a spacious and comfortable.

What's special about this hotel is the location directly at the seaside and if you manage to get a room with sea view, you will have the luxury to sleep with open windows, enjoying the light breeze and the sound of the breaking waves.

When you don't sleep, I recommend eating at the hotel restaurant. They offer great food at very reasonable prices and the nice view to the ocean comes for free. The staff is very attentive and tries to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

The hotel has a quite hefty price tag at times, but with some luck you can spot good rates at price portals.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrueschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Second visit to the Radisson. Last was four years ago, and it hasn't changed. It's located about 10-15 minutes walk from the main tourist centre, the Waterfront, right by the sea, with wonderful views out across the main bay. There are free shuttles on the hour to Waterfront, although they could and should probably lay on an "on-demand" service for the visit there, with scheduled visits to return. It's fine to walk it during the day, but you probably wouldn't want to walk it back at night. Plenty of free onsite car parking.

I was in room 103 - first floor, right at the far end, with lovely sea views, with waves crashing, from the window and balcony. Because it was on the first floor, right at the end, I didn't feel able to leave the window open at night, and there were both large signs warning clients not to do this, and obvious signs of the sliding window having been forced and reinforced. Big pleasant room with comfortable king bed, and plenty of light and space. Free (and pretty effective, easy to use) wifi throughout the hotel.

Best positives: very friendly staff, thought the breakfasts, taken outside (or inside) in the sunlight, with views over the ocean were wonderful, and I ate twice in the evening in the restaurant, with an absolutely excellent tuna steak - grilled medium rare and a pretty good cajun chicken.

Points to improve: staff training. Eg: check in on reception was perfunctory, and he took my passport and credit card away out of sight to copy them, which I'm never happy about. The lifts only move if you put your room card in, but he didn't ask if I'd stayed at the hotel before, nor tell me about the room card access, nor even tell me where and how to get to my room. No shampoo in the room on arrival either, although this was very swiftly fixed. Service in the restaurant was very friendly and knowledgeable, if a little slow, particularly when eating alone.
Booking was supported by large UK travel agent, with card provided, yet they still wanted my card and assurance they could charge it on checkout.

My room was looking a little tired - bathroom needed refurbishment with old tile grout shrinkage, and gaps. AC a little noisy.

And it's hardly value for money - over £300 sterling per night so I think they need to invest a little more in the training and refurbishment of this hotel. Still, I preferred it to the Victoria and Alfred hotel I stayed in four weeks earlier.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, as the view is gorgeous. Better on a higher floor than on ground or first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deehell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The Radisson Blu Hotel was the first hotel of our 3-week honeymoon. The reviews on tripadvisor were very inconsistent and we both decided to not expect the world from this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised.

We arrived around 8am in the morning, well before check-in. We were invited to have breakfast at the hotel while they sorted out a room. There was plenty of choice at Breakfast and we sat outside overlooking the sea. While having breakfast they advised that a standard room would not be available, however they had a upgrade room available and offered it for a very reduced price. We gladly accepted.

The room was a couple of floors up and the balcony overlooked the sea, habour and table mountain. Amazing views. The room was a large and of a high standard and everything you'd expect from a hotel of this kind.

The hotel had a outside swimming pool overlooking the sea (which we didn't use due to the weather), a well equipped gym and a extremely small indoor pool. The service from staff was somewhat inconsistent. We recieved superb service most times but this was let down by some members of staff who didn't appear interested in being there. There was a shuttle bus to the waterfront which we used on many occasions, contrary to other reviews, it was quick and regular.

If we returned to Cape Town we would certainly return to this hotel due to its position in Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ratey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing