We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible service but good location”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Must say this is one of the worst serviced hotels I have stayed at for a long time. List is long of examples but suite not ready for check in until 4:30, ironing oars took overran hour to arrive which made me late to a meeting. Only plus is their spa that was nice and fab views.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoneyMatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    496
    141
    53
    47
See reviews for
281
661
77
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We booked at the last minute after arriving in Cape Town, super spacious suite & fab balcony. Good service, efficient & friendly staff. Brasserrie good for comprehensive breakfast, lunch and (not so much) dinner. Busy with 30 s'thing locals and conference, always a good sign. Bathing out front, small pool, good gym & sauna; jacuzzi (not indoor pool).

Didn't understand why ordering a taxi was such a problem on departure! On the third time of asking we were asked to identify and drag our bags from the backroom locker to the boot of a taxi and were whisked off to another destination. When you've paid over 15KZAR for a short stay little things like this annoy you even if you travel with backpacks!

Nevertheless the place is generally well managed and situated with a good, friendly vibe. Apart from an obvious sniggle I would recommend this place to most and would recommend if you have just arrived or are soon to depart SA.

Room Tip: Best Suite 411
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greentoothbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This hotel's location is the best thing going for it. It sits on the sea around half a kilometer from the Capetown wharf, which has a number of high-end restaurants and boutiques and is almost a city on its own. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to the wharf on the hour until late at night. The hotel's terrace is quite stunning, with views of the sea and the dolphins that occasionally play in the surf. The hotel's breakfast is excellent, and eating it on the terrace is a pleasure. These are the good things. But there are also less attractive features. The rooms, at least most of them, need refurbishing and have a rundown look. While the hotel's staff is generally very friendly, the staff at the desk are sometimes less than efficient. We asked them to reserve us at a restaurant on the wharf, and they never called us back. We also asked them to book a tour of the townships for us, but found the following morning that the staffer named for the trip didn't do township tours. Still, we would stay there again, if only because of its excellent location.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room, preferably facing the sea, though these are a bit more expensive. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazzole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay one night break away here. The rooms is very spacious with good quality furnishings. Great facilities as well and a FABULOUS location. Poor service at the restaurant though.

Room Tip: You have to get a seaview rooms, there are "Business Class" rooms which is very expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeblack_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This used to be one of my favourite hotels in the world. Rooms are very tired and need urgent work. Our bed was very hard and difficult to sleep on. No shampoo in bathroom. Room was above entrance which meant lots of noise from 7am so the lie-in was history. Older staff still have something speciial but most of new staff rude arrogant and unhelpful. Stayed in this hotel regularly since it opened. Not again until they upgrade.

Room Tip: Dont let them give you a room on back above entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stunning location -our room (a sea view two bedroom suite) had fabulous views of the sea and the waterfront plus Table Mountain from master bedroom, living area and balcony. Plus fold back doors in the master bathroom (so view from the loo!) and second bedroom. Very spacious and open plan with wooden floors. Breakfast outside overlooking the water with the dolphins playing was lovely -plenty of choice to help yourself to plus pancakes and eggs etc cooked to order on request. Didn't eat in main restaurant, though it looked busy at lunchtime, less so in evening (so many good restaurants to choose close by). Had snacks and drinks by pool -service great one day but less so the next. reasonably priced for poolside location. We only stayed one night but were able to use facilities from mid morning on arrival day until 6pm on departure day and get showered and changed for our flight home in the spa which was very helpful. Hotel also organised a driver to take us to airport which was good. Used shuttle to get to waterfront -great to have the free service but could do with bigger bus than a 6 seater people carrier (as a family of 5 trying to get in for a restaurant booking we came up against queue jumpers!) Would definitely return and stay for longer than one night as location so good for exploring Cape Town and the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonVisitor45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lippstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Radisson Blu at the waterfront in Cape town is very good 5* hotel with a lot of atmosphere. It's not the newest hotel, but still in very good shape. Rooms a spacious and comfortable.

What's special about this hotel is the location directly at the seaside and if you manage to get a room with sea view, you will have the luxury to sleep with open windows, enjoying the light breeze and the sound of the breaking waves.

When you don't sleep, I recommend eating at the hotel restaurant. They offer great food at very reasonable prices and the nice view to the ocean comes for free. The staff is very attentive and tries to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

The hotel has a quite hefty price tag at times, but with some luck you can spot good rates at price portals.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrueschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Rezidor, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing