We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We never wanted to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We never wanted to leave!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I booked a sea facing business class room 2-5 April 2012 and I have to say, this was the best hotel room I have ever stayed in.

After reading some mixed reviews I was a bit hesitant to book, but was very pleasantly surprised. I am a complete hotel snob when it comes to cleanliness and I couldnt fault the room in any way. Both the bedroom, bathroom and living area were spaced out, comfortable and modern. Waking up to the spectacular view of the ocean every morning was a highlight.

The restaurant was great (beautiful food, great buffet breakfast, amazing service), housekeeping, the Spa (Ilsa was wonderful) and wifi was superb too. The location is fantastic too - morning runs along the beachfront were amazing.

The only fault I have is that the hotel lobby and corridors are very out of date. It didn't feel dirty and old but it took a bit of the sparkle away from our beautiful room and view. I believe the business class rooms are all newly renovated so once the rest of the hotel has caught up, this hotel will truly be one of the best in the world. Our room itself however, was the best 5 star room we have stayed in around the world so far.

We cant wait to go back - highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luanne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    949
    498
    142
    53
    48
See reviews for
288
664
77
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I booked two standard rooms for 3 nights at the end of February 2012. I have concierge status within the Club Carlson program, so I asked for an upgrade upon check-in. Both rooms were upgraded to a partial harbor view. Both rooms were recently renovated; however, one room was more modern than the other (flat screen vs old TV; wood furnishing vs white painted wood, etc.). Both rooms were clean, had comfy king-sized beds and updated bathrooms.

I was able to view a two room suite...gorgeous! Highly recommended if it fits your budget and vacation needs.

The common areas and hotel location are great; however, a renovated room with a view is a must.

The hotel offered reliable shuttle service to and from the V&A Waterfront once an hour. In addition, the hotel could easily organize a cab into downtown and transport to and from the airport. The concierge desk was very helpful in booking excursions and providing suggestions on local markets. However, I had an issue with two dinner reservations booked by the concierge desk. I was not informed that the first reservation was not confirmed. I only found out when I tried to confirm transportation to the restaurant. Upon arrival at the 2nd restaurant (emergency reservation restaurant), my party was seated, but we were not on the reservation list. I informed the concierge desk and they were apologetic for the mishap. Housekeeping was slow in response to requests for ice and additional towels, but not a deal breaker.

We ate breakfast at the hotel each day. The service was great and the food variety met our expectations.

I would stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: A renovated room with a full harbor or sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and loved everything about it.Great location less than 10mins walk or hourly shuttle to the waterfront.Rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean.Breakfast lovely-buffet style,great selection and topped up continuously.Staff very friendly and helpful.Will definitely stay here next time I visit Capetown.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Have stayed at this 5 star establishment, eaten there and visited friends there It really is the last word in luxury with spacious, clinically clean, superbly furnished rooms and bathrooms. The views up to Table Mountain really are breathtaking especially when the "tablecloth" descends. Food first class food served by first class staff. Eating breakfast outside was a delight as was taking a glass of wine there to watch the sunset. Conveniently placed close to the V & A and all its attractions. Not cheap by any means, but a treat to be savoured.
Angela C South Wales

Room Tip: A room facing the sea and Table Mountain really makes the stay memorable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Loved the beautiful setting of this conveniently located (on the V&A Waterfront) hotel. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the food was amazing. Dining on the restaurant deck is a treat. The sea facing rooms are spacious and luxurious. Even the standard rooms (no sea view) are comfortable even though some are due for a minor refurb. The spa has all the essential facilities. Will definitely return t this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford a sea facing room, do it. Standard rooms are fine, mine had a view of the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SquidSandton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield, staffs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My 8th trip to Cape Town and I have stayed at different Hotels - all 5 star. This Hotel is perfectly situated, the rooms were superb and the staff so very friendly. Have one of Chef Charlotte's omelettes for breakfast, try the smoked salmon and cream cheese one - simply the best. Luke will look after all your wine requirements. This Hotel is luxury, but it is not stuffy. It is lively, friendly and we loved it. Despite having the basic rooms, they were large, spotless, comfortable and with lovely views - mine of Table Mountain, my friend's was of the ocean. Can't wait to go back there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank l1zz1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed for four nights . The rooms facing the sea are amazingly confortable and beautifully located .
The service is not so good ! The pillows where incredible high and hard and the answer when I asked if they had others the answer was only : No !!Wow the hotel is rated 5 satrs but .......!
On the day of check out the cleaning service was knocking our door at nine o'clock asking if we were leaving soon !!! Ten minutes later another cleaning service knocked the door to ask the same thing !!!!
The breakfast is ok but not a top quality one !
Five stars but ........ !!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max_Luca_Porto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,483 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,554 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing