We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Start to the Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Start to the Honeymoon!”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed at the Radisson for 4 nights on the first leg of our honeymoon. We had an absolutely amazing time. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We were greeted with smiling faces and nothing was ever too much trouble. As a honeymoon couple we were given such special treatment. We arrived at 9am so our room wasn't ready but the guy on reception assured us that it would be worth waiting for and he was right. We had a Business Class room on the 3rd floor with balcony overlooking the sea. It was amazing. We spent most evenings watching dolphins and seals in the sea below us as the sun was setting.

Nearly all the staff seemed to know we were on honeymoon and congratulated us. They really did go out of their way to help us. When we arrived we had a few hours to kill until the room was ready so the guy at reception suggested we take the City Tour bus. It was the perfect way to get a feel for the city and when we returned our room was ready.

The food in the hotel was fantastic. Breakfast on the terrace was beautiful. We had dinner there one night and it was excellent also.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Cape Town. The location is perfect - only a few minutes from the Waterfront with a free shuttle service every hour! If I return to Cape Town I will definitely stay at the Radisson. First class.

Room Tip: Business Class rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jambo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Jambo1978,

On behalf of management and staff, we would like to thank you for your lovely review.
We are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that our staff contributed so wonderfully to your Honeymoon experience. We trust that your fond memories will persuade you to return to the hotel in the coming future.

Best Regards

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    498
    142
    53
    48
See reviews for
287
664
77
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We had a lovely weeklong stay at the Radisson Blu. I think it is the best located hotel in Cape Town, right on the ocean. We had a major winter storm come through during our stay and so enjoyed watching the storm waves roll in and crash on the breakwater and also watching the few freighters that ventured out, ploughing thru the crests and troughs of the turbulent sea. We did this while enjoying either the fabulous breakfast buffet or the excellent homemade soups which we had for lunch.
The rooms are very spacious, with a whole sitting room area from which you can enjoy the view. Request a room on the ocean side!
We had trouble mailing home a box of our souvenirs and the hotel staff were most helpful in staying with the process until we received our package here in the USA. In other words, the hospitality, care and concern of the hotel extended way past our actual stay there.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Kathy499,

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback. We are very pleased that our hospitality contributed to your remarkable experience. We truly hope your stay was an unforgettable one and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times before and it was great to see the updated rooms. The hotel is going through renovations now and the newly renovated room was amazing! Very large, very modern rooms and bathrooms. I did have to search for the hair dryer which I finally discovered in the desk drawer - seems to be a strange location at first, but you have access to an electrical outlet & mirror.

The hotel has a shuttle service to the nearby V&A shopping mall which makes staying at this hotel a plus. A car rental for exploring more of Cape Town can be arranged through the front desk with pick up and drop off of the vehicle right at the hotel.

The bar and restaurant both have water views which makes for a pleasant breakfast or sundowner. The breakfast buffet has a vast array of choices to satisfy any traveler.

The staff at this hotel are always friendly and very helpful!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbtravels_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear cbtravels_9,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. Your positive comments and kind words are an inspiration to all of us and we do hope that you will indeed return to stay with us again soon!

Best Regards,

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The Raddison Blu is located on the water front, awesome rooms with a view of the Atlantic. sleep with the windows open and you can hear the waves crashing.
The staff is very friendly and Helpful as well
DId not use the pool due to the cool weather on this trip, however in the summer it was great.
located close to the shopping and other places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Rupaks,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Cape Town!

Best Regards

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

For several years we have stayed at the Radisson Blu Waterfront in February. A fantastic location, ample sized rooms, seafront restaurant and bar in the open air makes it a perfect spot to entertain. The staff have always been extremely helpful. Checking in early when the room is not ready is made easier by using the showers and facilities in the spa to refresh from an 11 hour airplane ride. Great food, located near the V&A Waterfront for shopping and dining, a quick trip to the City Centre or Camps Bay and the many sights at sea and Table Mountain with a cloud bank always a welcome view. One caveat is that some of the room furniture is "modern" and can be moderately uncomfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophietucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Sophietucker,

Thank you very much for your positive review of our hotel. We are delighted to learn that you have once more enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you also for cautioning us with regard to your experience with certain of our contemporary furniture. Your comment is very useful and highly appreciated and will be approached and dealt with in a constructive manner.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Our go to hotel when visiting Cape Town. We get a corporate rate which makes stays a fair bit cheaper. Whilst he rooms are somewhat dated and on the small side, this is more than offset by a fantastic ambiance and one of the best terraces around.

Breakfasts are always fantastic and are quite often interrupted by dolphins, seal and sea lions playing just off the coat.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrneand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Byrneand,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We thank you for your comments and feedback with regard to our rooms, and are happy to advise you that we are currently in renovation, where we are refurbishing our Standard and Superior Rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our newly renovated hotel when next your travels bring you to Cape Town!

Best Regards

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

hi, cape town is wonderful place. this hotel is five stars all the way,food, staff, room very spacious.its position is situated in a lovely location, we were able to walk to the water front, no problem..the resturants there were second to none,hundreds of lovely places to eat and drink if you want to..we visited robben island, table mountain, and the penguins at baulders...the people are really friendly....theres on jet either..can't wait to go back......,mr alex.....................................

Room Tip: sea view a must.higher the better//
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Mr. Alex,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank
you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you
back to Cape Town!

Best Regards

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing