We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sports and supper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

On Sunday I visited the Radisson with two friends who wished to watch sports (rugby or cricket!!!). I had a delicious supper in the sports lounge. My friends ordered line fish, I ordered Sirloin. Our food was served hot and appetisingly arranged on the platter. I also had a capuccino. There is a huge TV in the sports bar and my friends thoroughly enjoyed the sports. Somehow the ambience of all the sports-minded people was great and so contagious that I, who have no real interest in any sports, seemed to be drawn into the enjoyment of watching South Africa score.
Parking for one hour is free and thereafter R10 for the 2nd hour and R20 for the third hour which I think is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the oceon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookiemair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear cookiemair,

Thank you for your review! We are immensely pleased to receive feedback such as yours - it shows us that our constant, ongoing efforts to provide the best in serving our guests, in our food & beverage operations are being noted. Keeping our guests happy are of utmost importance to us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,259 - 1,265 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

It could have been the families of dolphins swimming around while we had our meals on the terrace by the infinite sea while the sun went up on one side of the water and down with all tones of orange and red on the other. Or my modern large sea view room, or the great food and very attentive staff... This place just felt close to perfect and seemed to make everyone who was there from a drink to a long stay, happy. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Luandra,

It was such a pleasure reading your review - thank you.

You have so perfectly captured the essence of our property, which you commented on so favourably. It is of great importance to us that our guests have a memorable and welcoming visit, with that personal touch that truly makes you feel that you are at your 'home away from home'. We are greatly pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant, your meal and our personal touch. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My room was very comfortable, but there were definite signs of aging. The room could have used a fresh coat of paint and new carpet. I had to take a room facing the entrance because the sea view rooms were far too expensive. The pool area has a fantastic view and is the selling point of the hotel as far as I am concerned. You feel like you are in the sea, not just sitting next to it. That said, i will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17JAC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear 17JAC17,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies that we did not live up to your expectations. We as a team are committed to provide a rare and special experience to all of our guests and it is very disappointing that we did not live up to our promise. Fortunately, we are in full-swing renovation and refurbishing our standard rooms and truly hope that you will grant us the opportunity to welcome you back to experience the improvements that the renovation has brought with a future visit.

Once again, thank you very much for your constructive criticism and feedback.

Best Regards

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed at the Radisson for 4 nights on the first leg of our honeymoon. We had an absolutely amazing time. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We were greeted with smiling faces and nothing was ever too much trouble. As a honeymoon couple we were given such special treatment. We arrived at 9am so our room wasn't ready but the guy on reception assured us that it would be worth waiting for and he was right. We had a Business Class room on the 3rd floor with balcony overlooking the sea. It was amazing. We spent most evenings watching dolphins and seals in the sea below us as the sun was setting.

Nearly all the staff seemed to know we were on honeymoon and congratulated us. They really did go out of their way to help us. When we arrived we had a few hours to kill until the room was ready so the guy at reception suggested we take the City Tour bus. It was the perfect way to get a feel for the city and when we returned our room was ready.

The food in the hotel was fantastic. Breakfast on the terrace was beautiful. We had dinner there one night and it was excellent also.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Cape Town. The location is perfect - only a few minutes from the Waterfront with a free shuttle service every hour! If I return to Cape Town I will definitely stay at the Radisson. First class.

Room Tip: Business Class rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jambo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Jambo1978,

On behalf of management and staff, we would like to thank you for your lovely review.
We are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that our staff contributed so wonderfully to your Honeymoon experience. We trust that your fond memories will persuade you to return to the hotel in the coming future.

Best Regards

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We had a lovely weeklong stay at the Radisson Blu. I think it is the best located hotel in Cape Town, right on the ocean. We had a major winter storm come through during our stay and so enjoyed watching the storm waves roll in and crash on the breakwater and also watching the few freighters that ventured out, ploughing thru the crests and troughs of the turbulent sea. We did this while enjoying either the fabulous breakfast buffet or the excellent homemade soups which we had for lunch.
The rooms are very spacious, with a whole sitting room area from which you can enjoy the view. Request a room on the ocean side!
We had trouble mailing home a box of our souvenirs and the hotel staff were most helpful in staying with the process until we received our package here in the USA. In other words, the hospitality, care and concern of the hotel extended way past our actual stay there.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Kathy499,

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback. We are very pleased that our hospitality contributed to your remarkable experience. We truly hope your stay was an unforgettable one and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times before and it was great to see the updated rooms. The hotel is going through renovations now and the newly renovated room was amazing! Very large, very modern rooms and bathrooms. I did have to search for the hair dryer which I finally discovered in the desk drawer - seems to be a strange location at first, but you have access to an electrical outlet & mirror.

The hotel has a shuttle service to the nearby V&A shopping mall which makes staying at this hotel a plus. A car rental for exploring more of Cape Town can be arranged through the front desk with pick up and drop off of the vehicle right at the hotel.

The bar and restaurant both have water views which makes for a pleasant breakfast or sundowner. The breakfast buffet has a vast array of choices to satisfy any traveler.

The staff at this hotel are always friendly and very helpful!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbtravels_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear cbtravels_9,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. Your positive comments and kind words are an inspiration to all of us and we do hope that you will indeed return to stay with us again soon!

Best Regards,

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The Raddison Blu is located on the water front, awesome rooms with a view of the Atlantic. sleep with the windows open and you can hear the waves crashing.
The staff is very friendly and Helpful as well
DId not use the pool due to the cool weather on this trip, however in the summer it was great.
located close to the shopping and other places to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Rupaks,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Cape Town!

Best Regards

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £192 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing