We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful patio for a sundowner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Walk along the sea front from moullie point to the radisson hotel in granger bay and earn yourself a treat drink on the radisson patio. Lovely sea view, smell of the sea. Go late afternoon to catch the afternoon light. Try and get a table close to the sea and you feel like you are on a ship!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bjk852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Bjk852,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your experience with us and other viewers.

A further thank you for the positive comments about our hotel and location. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,232 - 1,238 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

My daughter arranged a surprise 40th birthday party for her boyfriend at the Radisson Blu Granger Bay but in the meantime the boyfriend and I were arranging a surprise marriage proposal in the room. Not one of the two knew what was going on. The assistant manager Marcel Eichenberger and his staff went out of their way to arrange rose petals, chocolates and strawberries dipped in chocolate for the room.The function went so well, the canape's fabulous but the cherry on the top was the romantic setting in the room and a gorgeous Uwe Koetter diamond ring!
Breakfast was a feast fit for a king. The Raddisson Blu comes highly reccommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vakansie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear Vakansie,

What a pleasure reading your review! Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and sharing your happy occasion with us and other viewers.

We were delighted to be part of such joyous and memorable occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Just had a wonderful stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront. This is one of the best hotel's in the cape. The hotel's staff is very friendly and helpful. Service at the Pool is a bit slow however very good. I stayed for 6 nights and found that there is 2 groups of service staff at the Pool. The first group are excellent and fast with service. The second group that was servicing at the Pool area (from Wednesday or Thursday onwards was not so great) but you did get that privacy at the pool and not a waiter asking you every 10 minutes if he can bring you something.

The general manager is very attentative and he did sort out an issue with a staff memeber the moment I did bring it to his attention.

So it is worth your while if you can send him a mail the moment you find something that you find not to your liking. Which is pretty fair on the hotel and the management of the hotel.

The shuttle to and from the V&A Waterfront runs every hour which is great.

There is hundreds of dolphins every day in the water right next to the pool and the sea.... that is amaizing and a great privilage to see. The pool is also excellent and the temperature just right and one can spend hours in the pool just watching the sea and dolpins play right below you.

To my opinion one can not stay in a greater hotel than this one in the Cape.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Dear Linda M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and experience with us and other viewers.

A further thank you for sharing your positive comments with us and also bringing our attention to areas for improvement and consistency.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This hotel is my favourite. The setting is great, the breakfast's are great. Get a sea facing room, it's worth it. The food is really good, they have a good chef. The refurbished rooms are great. Ive stayed at better hotels, but the setting for me is what does it for me. The best positioned hotel to get to the Waterfront restaurants and shops. The weather in Cape Town is great in summer.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank Hiqual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Hiqual,

We feel very priviledged to have received such an appraisal, so thank you very much for taking the time to deliver and share your repeated positive experience.

We look to forward to welcoming you back when your travels next brings you to Cape Town!!

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed here for four nights at the end of our South Africa trip
It was fantastic
Service staff food and location excellent
Great location as only a ten minute walk to the waterfront - they run a shuttle service wish is very efficient
The spa ladies are lovely
The gym was great if a little hot.
The pool area is very good with excellent food and beverage service and the dolphins are a plus!
Our only problem was a mix up over a table one evening which was corrected very quickly - thank you to the duty manger Peter Thomas
We hope to return in 2014
A big thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 47mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear 47mini,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

Thank you also for the positive comments about our hotel, location, service and spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014!!!

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Ok...So over the last 12 years I have stayed at this hotel 16 times and probably is the most familiar hotel in the world to me

First of all, the location is great as every review will say so....right on the sea front, crashing waves, great views regardless of which room you are in. Very much a nautical themed hotel and a great mix of business and pleasure guests. Great outdoors area, infinity pool, and patio for dinner drinks

There are a few downsides of course...

They have 'refurbished' their standard and superior rooms. If you stayed here before you may be familiar with the gold/yellow/brown decor of the rooms before. They have gone more towards a grey/blue/white theme. However its not a refurbishment, more a lick of paint, new light fittings and painted the old furniture white...yup...the old woodwork is just plastered with a lick of white paint, the desk, the tv cabinet/minibar unit and the skirting boards, all the same, just given a coat of white paint....still not enough power outlets in the room....as usual..if you have more than one appliance you have to get on your hands and knees unplugging the minibar/tv/bedside lamps just to use your ipods/blackberry/ipads/strawberries/hairdryers/laptops etc.... when will hotels start to realise that us travellers need power sockets...not just one on the desk....but 3 or 4??

The bathroom also had a refurbishment and boasts a new shower, bath and tiles, but they decided to stop there and keep the old sink, taps and marble worktops/inset sink units..how odd?! 90% done and not bothered with the rest

As usual, the staff are friendly and polite, but like to huddle in their groups chatting and laughing loudly whilst ignoring guests....something you get used to in SA...seems a lot of employees come to work to hang out with their friends. At dinner tonight in the restaurant there is certainly no shortage of staff, but they are so busy chatting amongst themselves they seem to forget they are at work and guests need serving...I had to order my drinks from the bar as in the restaurant I got fed up of waiting 10 mins to get served.....no wonder the restaurant is always empty here...but the food is good.....service here is just like the rest of SA , slow, and unattentive, but polite and friendly..you do get a balance...choose whats important to you though

I am a gold member and despite the Carlson Club promises, I still cant get a late checkout without checking in the morning (why?? surely hotels know how many people are leaving and arriving on a set date?) Overall I like this hotel, and have stayed here many times and will continue to do so....I just think and feel for the R3500 a night they ask on the website, well....its not worth that anymore...not now... but its a good hotel....

Room Tip: Superior room face the sea, small rooms no balcony Standard rooms face mountain (larger) Business...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Good day PierP,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments, we also further appreciate your detailed feedback about your experience.

The points mentioned has been noted and will be constructively dealt with.

We trust that this will not deter you from visiting our property again in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back when your next travels bring you to Cape Town, and that we will be granted the opportunity of meeting and even exceeding your expectations.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I was on a business trip to Cape Town and booked into Radisson for 3 nights. Due to some mess up from my Travel agent the rooms were not covered with breakfast. However it took them about 1 hour to sort this out internally and my questions went unanswered for most of the time. Until one person came up to me and reassured that it would be sorted and requested for me to wait in the room, I was left hanging at the lobby with an inept check in person
The rooms are quite big, cleaned and serviced every day. Try getting the sea view room as they have a spectacular view of the V&A waterfront
The breakfast was not really filing, twice I visted the buffet and found the eggs and beans cold.
Service was good however
Overall, I think location wise the hotel is amazing but I wish you better luck than me at the reception

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnjuPurushot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Anju Ashish,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other viewers.

We trust that on your return we will be granted the opportunity of meeting and even exceeding your expectations.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,353 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,543 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,295 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £149 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Travelbag, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing