We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How is this 5-star?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“How is this 5-star?”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

When I checked in I asked for a quiet room, they put me right above the drive-way. I was then moved to a room with no drapes in front one of the windows! The room had clearly not been vacuumed in a while, the toilet was un-flushed and basic amenities such as an alarm clock, stationary and ice bucket are apparently too much of a luxury for this supposedly 5-star outfit. When you ask for the manager you are quickly put through to a voice mail that tells you that “the room doesn’t exist”! I am here four more nights. I fear the worst. This wonderful city does not deserve this.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear S L,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments, your feedback does not go unnoticed.

We will certainly take the time for the duration of your stay to hopefully meet and exceed your expectations.

Best Regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    506
    143
    56
    49
See reviews for
301
670
79
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions over the last few years and it has never dissapointed. The location is simply unique, with an amazing view across the ocean from the terrace and pool deck. The staff is very fiendly, breakfast is great and so is the dinner menu. The rooms are spacious, well kept and clean. Whilst you may also find this in other hotels in Cape Town, the views across the ocean alone is enough of a reason to make this the place to go to.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank R2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear R S,

What a pleasure reading your review! Thank you for taking the time to deliver your positive experience with us and other viewers.

Your further positive comments about our hotel, location and staff is greatly appreciated. We delighted to hear that your current and previous stays with us has always been positive.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Walk along the sea front from moullie point to the radisson hotel in granger bay and earn yourself a treat drink on the radisson patio. Lovely sea view, smell of the sea. Go late afternoon to catch the afternoon light. Try and get a table close to the sea and you feel like you are on a ship!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjk852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Bjk852,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your experience with us and other viewers.

A further thank you for the positive comments about our hotel and location. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My daughter arranged a surprise 40th birthday party for her boyfriend at the Radisson Blu Granger Bay but in the meantime the boyfriend and I were arranging a surprise marriage proposal in the room. Not one of the two knew what was going on. The assistant manager Marcel Eichenberger and his staff went out of their way to arrange rose petals, chocolates and strawberries dipped in chocolate for the room.The function went so well, the canape's fabulous but the cherry on the top was the romantic setting in the room and a gorgeous Uwe Koetter diamond ring!
Breakfast was a feast fit for a king. The Raddisson Blu comes highly reccommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vakansie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Vakansie,

What a pleasure reading your review! Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and sharing your happy occasion with us and other viewers.

We were delighted to be part of such joyous and memorable occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Just had a wonderful stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront. This is one of the best hotel's in the cape. The hotel's staff is very friendly and helpful. Service at the Pool is a bit slow however very good. I stayed for 6 nights and found that there is 2 groups of service staff at the Pool. The first group are excellent and fast with service. The second group that was servicing at the Pool area (from Wednesday or Thursday onwards was not so great) but you did get that privacy at the pool and not a waiter asking you every 10 minutes if he can bring you something.

The general manager is very attentative and he did sort out an issue with a staff memeber the moment I did bring it to his attention.

So it is worth your while if you can send him a mail the moment you find something that you find not to your liking. Which is pretty fair on the hotel and the management of the hotel.

The shuttle to and from the V&A Waterfront runs every hour which is great.

There is hundreds of dolphins every day in the water right next to the pool and the sea.... that is amaizing and a great privilage to see. The pool is also excellent and the temperature just right and one can spend hours in the pool just watching the sea and dolpins play right below you.

To my opinion one can not stay in a greater hotel than this one in the Cape.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Linda M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and experience with us and other viewers.

A further thank you for sharing your positive comments with us and also bringing our attention to areas for improvement and consistency.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel is my favourite. The setting is great, the breakfast's are great. Get a sea facing room, it's worth it. The food is really good, they have a good chef. The refurbished rooms are great. Ive stayed at better hotels, but the setting for me is what does it for me. The best positioned hotel to get to the Waterfront restaurants and shops. The weather in Cape Town is great in summer.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hiqual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Hiqual,

We feel very priviledged to have received such an appraisal, so thank you very much for taking the time to deliver and share your repeated positive experience.

We look to forward to welcoming you back when your travels next brings you to Cape Town!!

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed here for four nights at the end of our South Africa trip
It was fantastic
Service staff food and location excellent
Great location as only a ten minute walk to the waterfront - they run a shuttle service wish is very efficient
The spa ladies are lovely
The gym was great if a little hot.
The pool area is very good with excellent food and beverage service and the dolphins are a plus!
Our only problem was a mix up over a table one evening which was corrected very quickly - thank you to the duty manger Peter Thomas
We hope to return in 2014
A big thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 47mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear 47mini,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

Thank you also for the positive comments about our hotel, location, service and spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014!!!

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,517 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,028 reviews
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,599 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Rezidor, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing