We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The PortsWood(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dock House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Splendida(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,894)
Filter reviews
1,894 results
Traveller rating
1,052
562
163
61
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,052
562
163
61
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa business class roomsea facing roominfinity poolhourly shuttletable mountainstandard roomrobben islandamazing locationbusiness tripbreakfast buffetshuttle serviceconcierge deskour honeymoonthe hotel offerswater frontsouth africafour nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,303 - 1,308 of 1,894 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed in this lovely hotel for 4 nights. We had a business class room which was on the 4th (top) floor overlooking Robben Island. This truely was a sea view to die for. The sound of the waves crashing on the rocks below was so restful. I loved it. The room was large, modern and very comfortable. I liked the way the bedroom area could be shut off from the living area. The bed was so comfortable, we slept very well. The Hotel was beautifully maintained and was so light and bright. The design was fantastic, it felt like an ocean liner with lots of glass and open space. Staff were helpful and friendly. We particularly appreciated the shuttle bus service to Victoria and Albert Waterfront and back. It was only a 10 min walk away but it was useful especially in the evening. We found the location perfect for exploring Cape Town. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weelassieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear WeelassieScotland,

What a pleasure reading your review! Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

A further thank you for the fantastic comments and description on our hotel, not forgetting the positive recommendation.

We looking forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Micheal Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed here June 1-5 2012, before we left for safari. Our travel agent double booked us then accidently canceled BOTH reservations. We were supposed to have two rooms since we were traveling with 2 teenagers. Due to the mix up, the hotel upgraded us to a suite that was so amazing it is difficult to put into words. Large balcony overlooking the waterfront and table mountain in the background. Walked to the V&A and took a taxi home due to all the outstanding
(and inexpensive) South African WINE!! We had the lovely breakfast buffet in the hotel most mornings and wine in the bar most evenings. Bartender and staff were so friendly and helpful when we were trying to find a local rugby match. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends!!

Room Tip: Suites are amazing if you wish to splurge
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eakoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Eakoch,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

A further sincere thank you for your lovely comments, we glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

What can I say about this hotel, than fantastic? We booked four day stay here before we headed on to Australia and booked a lovely sea view room.
The room was really big with its own living room with lovely French like shutters that separated the bedroom from the living room. All wood floors with lovely decor which gave you the impression you were on a boat. It had a big bathroom with lovely shower and lots of complementary toiletries.
The breakfast was really good with everything you could want for breakfast, you could even order special coffee at no extra charge, the only down side is it takes quite a while for the waiting on staff to bring you a hot drink.

The food in the restaurant for lunch and dinner was also excellent with the service really good and the wine even better; best wine in the world is definitely here in South Africa.

The pool area was very nice with infinity pool with really nice sun loungers. The gym was well equipped with everything in good working order and if you felt more like a relax they had an indoor pool and spa facilities which looked fab.

This hotel is about a 10min walk down to the harbour and waterfront which we walked once in the day time and we got a taxi back when it was dark coming back. There are plenty of taxis at the shopping plaza down at the waterfront and really cheap about £3 to get back to the hotel. The hotel does run a shuttle bus free of charge to and from the waterfront every hour or so which we used to get down there once.

Lots of lovely shops and resturants at the waterfront felt really safte here not like I thought it was going to be. Also got the ferry from the waterfront to Robbin Island, book your tickets before you get here for this trip, still the same price but it does get really busy and you may be dissapointed if it's full when you get here.
If I come back to South Africa I would come back to this hotel as it was really good location and good facilities.

Room Tip: Well worth getting a sea view room worth the extra money if you can afford it.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wirraltravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Wirraltravller,

What a pleasure reading your review! Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

A further sincere thank you for the lovely comments and heart warming description of our hotel, location and facilities. We are truely glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring to Cape Town.

Best regards,
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I so want to give this hotel a four star review – but I can’t. It’s certainly very popular. Completely full during my latest visit with mainly European tourists. And it does have a unique selling point amongst Cape Town hotels: if you were on the deck of a cruise liner you’d be further from the Ocean than you are at this hotel. The Radisson is right up against the crashing waves of the Atlantic and makes the most of it with a great infinity pool that really works and a wonderful terrace and bar area that makes for superb breakfasts (with a good buffet) and a buzzing, slightly clubby atmosphere at night. In addition there’s a good sized gym, hydro-therapy pool and spa area and it’s all only about ten minutes’ walk from the Waterfront Shopping area which all begins to explain why it’s so popular for tourists. Unfortunately however, I’m here for work. True it’s a weekend and I’ve decamped from my usual hotel for a change of scenery but I still have some work to do. I’ve been allocated one of the “standard rooms” and they are particularly unimpressive (except for the bed which as usual for Radisson is pretty good). In my current room there’s a tiny desk – maybe large enough for two laptops – and that’s it for work surfaces. If you happen to order room service that’s all of your work area gone. There’s also a hard plastic desk chair that’s both too small and uncomfortable to use with the desk for long and a minimalist style arm chair that would look at home in a hospital waiting room. And this is why I’ve ended up giving the hotel 3 stars. Other room types are available (although not this weekend) and I’m back here next month for the same reason and will try and get one of the nicer ones. If it makes a difference I’ll let you know. Either way I’ll try and spend as little time as possible in the room and as much of it as I can savoring the fantastic location.

Room Tip: If you are stuck with a "standard room" know that they are not all equal. Quite a few have a very good sea view. Ask for one of those rather than the view of the carpark.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toby S.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Toby S,

Thank you for taking the time to sharing your comments with us and other viewers.

A further thank you for for the constructive feedback and positive comments on our location, terrace and bed quality.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
General Manager
Michael RAthgeb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Check in was ok although a bit slow. We were told we had to pay the bill even though the voucher from the travel agent clearly showed that the bill was to be settled between the agent and the hotel and only "extras" were to be paid for directly. As we were only staying for one night there wasn't time to sort out the issue. We had booked 3 standard rooms however on arrival we were asked if 2 of us would mind sharing a 2 bedroomed suite (presumably they had over booked the single rooms). We did so and the 2 bed suite was really very good, with great views and they sent up a bottle of wine for us as a thank you. Coffee on the terrace in the afternoon was lovely, but it took ages for someone to come and serve us, although they were very friendly when they finally did, and some orders were mixed up which was surprising for such a small group. Dinner later on was fine, good menu with large selection, nice waitress. We returned to the hotel after an event so had to hurry up and order before the kitchen closed at about 10:15. Breakfast was good, good selection, although when I asked for eggs benedict I was told that the cook "hadn't made the Hollandaise sauce as it's been so busy" - but there was no offer to actually make it now that someone was asking for it, so a bit disappointing! All in all, its a very nice hotel, the rooms are great (at least the 2 bed suite was) with really lovely views, and the staff are very friendly, but they need to be a bit sharper if they are to really be deserving of the 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear PaulaB,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your experience with us and other viewers.

A further thank you for the constructive feedback on the areas of improvement, this has been noted and will be constructively dealt with.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews