We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent five days March 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #30 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Our family of four spent five days at Radisson Waterfront the last week of March 2013 as part of a 10 days vacation in SouthAfrica. The hotel is not new but has a lot of ambience and an excellent quiet location with great seaview still only 20 mins walk from the Cape Waterfront area ( or 5 mins by their shuttle bus). Very good breakfast buffet next to the sea and the same resturant offers in the evening a limited menu but with some very good food. Good service from very friendly and proffessional staff. Minor negative remark could be that service/food sometimes was a bit slow in the resturant but maybe it was us that needed to slow down to "african pace".
Jonsson family (Sweden)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Stefan J,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town!

Best Regards
Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,194 - 1,200 of 1,787 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

Amazing staff and service: My wife and I have just returned from a 4 day end of holiday stay after doing the Garden Route by car. The hotels rooms are very adequate and clean with all the usual facilities and extras you would expect from a hotel of this category, but what makes it stand out is their amazing staff who will fall over theirselves to helpful and of course courteous at all times. What other Hotel would offer you a free room until 6.00pm on your departure day because you have a late flight and have to vacate your room by 12 noon ??
They also were very helpful with organising tickets and transport up Table Mountain / Robben Island and the buffet breakfasts were nothing short of a kings feast. A truly unforgettable stay that comes highly recommended and very special thanks to Arthur and Keith for their exceptionally warm greetings and help.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank shirty53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear shirty53

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us.

We welcome and value your feedback and will surely pass your thanks to all, and in particular your special thanks to Arthur and to Keith.

We look forward to welcoming you back, when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best Regards
Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Myself and my girlfriend (now Fiancée) stayed at the Radisson. When I told them I told the hotel team that I was planning on proposing they were almost as excited as I was.

They went out of their way to make our weekend an unforgettable experience. From our room, which was magnificent, to flowers, champagne and chocolates on our bed when we arrived in our room. I would personally like to thank the hotel staff, including but not limited to Brett Delport, whose service was outstanding.

I would not have changed a thing and will always consider the Radisson as my top hotel in Cape Town from this point forward. Just another big thank you for the weekend and the outstanding service.

Regards,

Richard and Ricki

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are magnificent, we stayed in 409... brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricki_Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Ricki_Jade,

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback!
We are pleased to hear that we could contribute to making your stay with us a very memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit Cape Town.

Best Regards
Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Spent 5 nights in sea facing room at this hotel with wonderful views across the bay. The staff were exceptional for a chain hotel and went out of their way to help you, in particular Colleen who helped us with our tickets to table mountain.The food in the restaurant was of a high quality and it was worth spending an evening in such a beautiful setting. Shuttle bus service to the waterfront was an added bonus.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank flyaway48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear flyaway48,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

Your positive accolades will certainly be passed onto Colleen, furthermore we appreciate your feedback and lovely comments regarding the restaurant and shuttle service.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town!

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

From the moment we were met at Cape Town airport for our 15 day stay we were treated like VIP's. Staff were exceptionally friendly, helpful and obliging, nothing was too much trouble. Our room, facing the marina and the sea was spacious and very well maintained. Twin beds (requested) were very comfortable and the pillows were ideal for a good nights sleep. Crisp sheets were replaced every day, as were the towels morning and night The restaurant offered an excellent breakfast choice with both cold buffet and hot dishes available. Dinner on the terrace, chosen from a limited choice of first class dishes met all our needs and meant we could dine in without having to locate an external restaurant, of which there were many to choose from in the V&A Waterfront. It would be impossible to single out a member of staff, they were all so very pleasant and always on hand if you needed anything. Management were attentitive but discreet, keen to ensure that we were getting the best of attention, a perfect combination. We have travelled extensively, to every Continent and would have no hesitation in placing this hotel among the best. Value for money rating would be Fair because we felt the cost of the rooms was on the high side but the food was very good value.

Room Tip: Opt for sea or sea and marina view room. Corner suites looked perfect but were pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_shaw777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear g_shaw777,

Wow, what a pleasure reading your review!!!

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your experience with us and other viewers.

A further sincere thank you for the lovely comments regading the hotel, service and friendly staff.

Glad to hear that breakfast and dinner was well spent in the restaurant, for its unique location.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

During my recent visit to Cape Town, I had visited the Ocean view bar and it was breathtaking views. We spent about 2 hours and it was very nice. My only regret was that I was not staying in the hotel. hope to make it next time I visit.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank JupiterNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear Jupiternine,

Thank you taking the time to deliver you comments and sharing your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the first leg of our honeymoon in South Africa and were there for only 2 nights, but the hotel was wonderful.

They upgraded our room to a bigger suite overlooking the waterfront and the views were simply stunning! The room was huge, and extremely well-equiped. As it was our honeymoon as well, Paul who was looking after us, surprised us by leaving champagne, strawberries and flowers which was a fantastic surprise and wonderful gesture.

The hotel is located in the heart of the waterfront so we found it extremely easy to wander around and see the local sites such as the shopping centre and restaurants.

Overall, could not be happier and if we ever come back to visit Cape Town we would definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barneystinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear barneystinson,

What a pleasure reading your review! Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

We glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and happy that we were part of such a memorable occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town
1,532 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town
2,332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town
1,802 reviews
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town
1,665 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 110 in Cape Town
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town
#14 Business Hotel in Cape Town
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town
#16 Spa Hotel in Cape Town
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town
Price Range: £148 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing