We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as it was...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My 4th visit here, and decided to start of my honeymoon with this visit as previously it was the best I've ever been in.
I emailed 3 different addresses at the hotel before leaving the UK requesting info on an airport transfer. I got a reply after I'd checked in!
The staff before were always politely and sincerely attentive. The concierge and porters were still lovely, as to be honest, were most of the staff.
I just found sitting at the bar with an empty glass whilst bar staff argued with floor staff over who ordered or paid for what annoŷing. Eh hello? I'm paying a small fortune to be here! 10 minutes is too long whilst 3 bar staff can see you are empty?
Also requesting drinks at breakfast like a simple glass of milk? It never came. I had to ask another waitress who brought the wrong drink.
And I was certainly annoyed at the waitress at lunch who just assumed my change was her tip and didn't return?
She welcomed regulars though with loud hello' sand greetings but we hardly came under her attention.
The chefs omelettes are simply divine, but for some reason she sent it over this morning with chilli and garlic?! I love my garlic, but not at 0930!
A lovely place, great location, but this time it just wasn't as good as the last.
Plug sockets were falling of one wall in our room too.
Disappointed :-(

Room Tip: Ocean facing on 2nd floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear JKC999,

Many thanks for taking time out to write a review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

Congratulations on your nuptials and wishing both of you a lifetime of happiness.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our great location and the friendliness of the staff. However, I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for your experience with staff members not attending to guests as they should have been and the issues you’ve experienced at the hotel.

As you know from previous experience we always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we trust that this will not deter you from visiting our property again in the near future and where we will be granted the opportunity of exceeding your expectations.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    482
    136
    51
    46
See reviews for
274
645
75
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tralee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We arrived in after a very long flight late at night and were greeted by what was to be the norm of the staff- friendly, helpful and efficient.
Our stay was for five nights and was a fabulous experience. From the waiting staff, the concierge and especially the bar staff, they were super professional. As we wanted it see a rugby match from home on TV, the bar staff accommodated our request without any effort. If you visit this hotel, make sure and try the wonderful food and you must try their cocktails.
The concierge organised whatever trips we wished and when we ran into problems with our prebooked car hire, he sorted it out.
I would certainly advise anyone considering a trip to Cape Town to book this hotel, there is nothing to match it for value, service, views and luxury. Also make sure and have a massage in the Spa.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room for breathtaking view of Robben Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear KerryTralee,

Wow what a great review!

Many thanks for taking time out to write this review of our beautiful property and the wonderful feedback given.

We are pleased to hear you tried out our facilities and services on offer.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Cape Town in hopefully the near future.


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Expensive, but then again you are paying for the sheer beauty of the locality of the hotel. Waves lapping up against the water break whilst sipping on an ice cold craft beer. We were at the Radisson to watch the start of the Cape to Rio Yacht Race and decided to book a table for lunch. The food was fresh and well presented. The service was a bit slow, however the staff were under pressure as the venue was exceptionally busy. We would highly recommend their Rib Eye steak which was served with mushroom and white wine jus. Their wine list is extensive and there is also an option of many craft beers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrezSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear TrezSouthAfrica,

We appreciate you taking time to share your experience at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront with us and other viewers.

I am delighted that you could join us for lunch and grateful for the recognition you have given our staff, with regards to the food and wine of course.

Hoping you could visit us soon again to try the rest of our menu and choosing off our extensive wine list, as we have an outstanding sommelier at dinner to assist.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room (225) was great with a view of the harbour and table mountain, and it had a modern fresh feel to it.

We made use of the concierge service for restaurant recommendations / reservations and booking tours and their advice and service was second to none.

The breakfast buffet was great - lots of fresh fruit which is always welcome. On the last day I had a cooked breakfast which was also excellent. Sat on the terrace eating breakfast with that beautiful view will be a lasting memory.

The location is great - walkable to the V&A, reasonably priced taxis to the good restaurants. There was always a taxi ready waiting so we never had to wait.

The only disappointment was the bar service. On two occasions when we arrived back from dinner the bar staff were rude to us. I won't go into detail, because we discussed this issue with the receptionist on departure who seemed genuinely concerned and was very apologetic. However, I am disappointed that we never received an email from the manager regarding our concerns which the receptionist had said we would.

Room Tip: Room 225 is sold as a standard room but it has a corner position with a nice view of a small harbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iTravelFurther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear iTravelFurther,

Many thanks for taking time out to review our property.

Firstly my apologies for the delay in reply from management with regards to the issue with the bar staff.
I have been notified they in contact with you to resolve this issue from your recent stay at the hotel.

Thank you so much for the great and positive feedback with regards to our concierge services, location and of course delectable breakfast buffet.

Wishing you a great 2014 and looking forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Family holiday my wife and two boys, staid in business room 120. rooms wonderful views, huge jacuzzi / internal poll and a very complete gym with latest tenchonogym machines. Very good food, try the classic 500g T-BONE

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nzola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Nzola M,

Thank you so much for your comments on your stay with us.
It is pleasing to see our guests making use and enjoying all our facilities on offer, the gym and Tobagos restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you back at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront not to only enjoy the steak you recommended but also to try out the other delectable options available on our menu.

Wishing you the best for 2014.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
193 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Fairly standard Radisson fare, buffet breakfast etc. Nice location with ocean view and sunsets. Staff friendly but unhurried. Good to see that access to the oceanfront bar is restricted so that it is no longer overrun by non-residents at sundown.

Gym is too small, with not enough floor space, weight benches too close to other machines, weight racks etc Technogym machines a little tired (screens unresponsive to finger touch), limited selection of handle attachments for certain machines, balls deflated etc. That would be manageable if it were not for the many personal trainers and their private clients who frequent the gym. One was playing videos / music over her iPhone to client without headphones which was very annoying and when i asked her to turn it down, the client told me I should get headphones (when I wasn't even trying to listen to anything...)

TO MANAGEMENT: if you want to run a gym as a revenue centre, then you need to invest in much more space and update the facilities. You also might like to remind the personal trainers, whom you presumably charge money, that their business is being cross-subsidised by the hotel guests and that they might like to afford them some consideration.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterC489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Peter C,

Thank you for writing your review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront and also thank you for constructive feedback.
Please be advised this has been noted and has been dealt with accordingly.

We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel sells out often, so book early. I stayed here for the second part of my Cape Town trip. The hotel is well maintained with very pleasant security at the gates. I found the staff to be on the ball.

The pool was beautiful with a lovely view of the Atlantic. The bar was well stocked and the drinks were top notch. They were a little pricey, but made to perfection.

I had a room of the parking lot (not sea side) but it was still lovely. The shower had plenty of pressure and instant hot water. The free wifi access was brilliant but a little to slow for Skype. It had a fully stocked mini bar and free bottled water.

The hotel had a free shuttle bus to the waterfront that ran until 2315 return to the hotel.

Avoid the taxis without a meter like the plague. On the meter you should pay around R30 anywhere within 2 miles. I recommend unicab. The flat rate drivers will charge R50 and transport you in dodgy cars with African AC. Do not get into a shared taxi!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank realdees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear realdees,

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback.

We are most pleased that our hospitality contributed to your extraordinary experience and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next your travels brings you to Cape Town!

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing