We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #33 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We spent four nights here in February as a family of five on a whirlwind trip to Cape Town and it was a great hotel for location, food, comfort and assistance.
Due to the hectic schedule we had during our stay here we didn't make the most of all the services that the R.B has to offer but we can certainly agree that the Business rooms overlooking the Ocean are fantastic and sitting out in the early mornings watching the Dolphins and seals in the sea was amazing. The breakfasts were probably one of the best for choice and quality we have experienced, the bar meals and snacks and room service meals were of good quality and the bar and cocktails not ridiculously overpriced, especially for the location and view while drinking your Mojito.
Our children enjoyed the infinity pool, although not the biggest pool it was never very busy so this wasn't an issue.
The business rooms were very large with good facilities although have to agree slightly lacking in storage space especially some drawers. The rooms were always immaculately cleaned and turned down in the evening and the beds very comfy for a great nights sleep.
The shuttle bus was great for getting to and from the V & A even though its only about a 10-15 minute walk.
The front of house staff were always very helpful and had some great advice on trips and directions for a visitor to Cape Town. Shame we couldn't have a late check out due to a late flight home but the use of the Spa facilities for showering etc was ok.
This is a large hotel and sometimes you do feel more like a room number rather than a named guest although I understand that this is difficult to manage due to the turnover of guests staying here for Business and Holidays.
We will definitely be returning to Cape Town in the future and would be hard pushed to stay anywhere other than the Radisson Blu Waterfront.

Room Tip: Business Rooms Facing The Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOTI17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear JOTI17,

What a fantastic review and we appreciate the time that you have taken to provide us with your valuable feedback.

I am delighted to hear that the staff exceeded your expectations and will definitely pass this onto the staff.

Extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront and look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town!

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,107 - 1,113 of 1,858 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

If you haven't been to the Sunday Buffet at thjs hotel, you are missing out big time. The variety is excellent, the food is fresh and the deserts are a blessing. With impeccable service and staff making you feel at home, there remains very little to be bothered about but to enjoy the food and the setting. The restaurant is on a patio right next to the water's edge of the Atlantic Ocean. While the sea bamboos swing lazily in the cool waters, we enjoyed our starter plate of (self dished) cajun calamari strips, pickeled fish, cold smoked salmon, rolled mops, and mussels. The next plate was filled with rare grilled beef strips and pasta salad, fresh greens and....more salmon....just could not resist! The main course was sirloin steak and leg of lamb, done medium to rare and served with a choice of gravies. By that time there was no more room for the seafood paella, beef stroganoff, cajun spiced chicken or any of the other hot food. I had to keep a special little hole for the berry pavlova....the meringue was perfect! And after finishing the lunch, we relaxed for another hour or two under the umbrellas on the patio. Should you find yourself in Cape Town on a Sunday, spoil yourself to this buffet. I noticed a familiar TV personality who drove through from Ceres for the lunch....make your own conclusion. This place will definitely see us again. And it is EXCELLENT value for money too. I cannot recommend it strongly enough.

Room Tip: If you do not want to sit under the umbrellas, ask fro a table inside. the view and ambiance is equ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Douw W,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us as the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

It is nice to hear that the buffet exceeded your expectations and yes I will agree our breakfast is definitely not something to be missed.
Our chef and his team are always on the forefront creating innovative menus to impress our guests.

Please come and join us for Friday night braai where the chef and his team has put together an extensive menu for you to enjoy at our restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I got a really nice and very spacious room with a view to the sea and that was just fabulous.
The breakfast is excellent with a really good service and a marvelous to the beach.
Unfortunately, I stayed there for only 3 nights and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear DanR31,

What a pleasure reading your review! Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

A further thank you for your feedback on our hotel ,food and facilities on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a much longer stay!

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect setting. We had a business class room with ocean view, well worth the upgrade if you can afford it. Breakfast was lovely, complete with dolphins swimming past as you eat! There is a shuttle to the v and a waterfront however we ended up walking to make our reservations as the tiny bus was full at peak times and had to do return trips. The staff were all amazing except when we tried to book a late checkout, we were told the night before it looked very promising to stay an extra couple of hours however in the morning the manager said they were fully booked and we would have to leave. Something doesn't add up there. But otherwise staff were excellent. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Trahev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Trahev,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Radisson Blu Waterfront.

Great to hear you enjoyed our location, accommodation and services offered even the appearance of the dolphins while having breakfast.

I do apologize for the issue with your request for late check out. This has been noted and has been dealt with accordingly.

Looking forward to welcoming you back when next in Cape Town.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Unhappy with lack of assistance from security team after my handbag was stolen from the terrace at the breakfast service. It appears that incidents like this are not uncommon as the modus operandi was described to me by the security manager. However no warning is given to guests nor is there a particularly great presence of security. I have yet to receive a follow up phone call from the security manger after allegedly viewing the camera footage.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
1  Thank Chantelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Chantelle,

Many thanks for taking time out to write a review of our hotel, The Radisson Blu Waterfront even under these circumstances.
Please note we value your feedback and comments which is of great importance to us.

My sincere apologies for the incident which took place on our hotel’s terrace unfortunately.

I am aware that Marcel Eichenberger, Our Executive Assistant Manager, is currently in contact with you and hopefully soon this matter will be resolved.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The location in itself is already stunning. So, are the rooms. I received a fantastic upgrade to a beautiful room. The colors of the room mirror the colors of the sea - all fresh white and blue.

The staff is incredibly helpful reading everything off one's eyes. Paul from Guest Relations for example showed up at my room with nuts and olives during Happy Hour, as he knew I was working in my room.

The food matches the quality of the hotel - very yummy and the view from the terrace is priceless.

I stayed there on my own, felt safe and well taken care of. Looking very much forward to going there again.

Room Tip: Spend a little more for a room with sea view Enjoy happy hour on the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Brita S,

Wow what a review! This makes me extremely happy that you had such a fantastic experience at The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

We are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that our staff contributed so wonderfully to your experience. Will pass the comments onto Paul with regards to his wonderful "eyes".

Wishing you all the best and looking forward to your return should your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

2nd stay at the Radisson in Cape Town, had the same room 204. Amazing view beautiful room very quiet. Food fabulous staff very attentive. The only disappointment came as it did during my last stay. On the last night the restaurant service just dampened the whole visit. No one interested in taking orders for food or drinks, almost like we were invisible. Concierge fantastic as ever

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank lisa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear lisa n,

So pleased that you could take time out to write a review of the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront after your stay.

Please note your feedback is highly appreciated and please note the issue in the restaurant has been dealt with.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we trust that this will not deter you from visiting our property again in the near future and where we will be granted the opportunity of exceeding your expectations....Again.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,444 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,616 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,408 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,348 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#53 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £163 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing