We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cocktails and views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great cocktails and views”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights upon arriving in Cape Town - great first impression. The outdoor eating / drinking area has great views onto the water and Robbin Island creating a great holiday environment. I would have to say that this is the best location for cocktails on an evening in the whole of Cape Town and the food is very good too - the breakfast is one of the best I have ever had - so much choice! The rooms are well catered and the infinity pool rather lovely - the only thing that let this place down was the slow service in the restaurant. Otherwise highly recommend! I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugartot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Sugartot,

What a fantastic review and we appreciate the time that you have taken to provide us with valuable feedback.

So happy to hear you enjoyed our restaurant and bar facilities and yes a lot of Capetonians will agree about The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront's terrace being the best spot for sun downer cocktails.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the unacceptable slow service you've experienced in the restaurant but please be advised this has been noted and addressed accordingly.

Looking forward to your return.


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    501
    142
    56
    49
See reviews for
295
666
78
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stunning view from our room! It felt and heard as if we were on top of the sea! Beautiful bird life too! I had a bird sitting on my window sill... he sang to me :-)

Everything was exceptional... the only suggestion I have, the service could be a little more better in the restaurant.

The bed and in-room TV and bar and towels and bathroom was fantastic! Very comfy!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corlia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Corlia V,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this lovely review in respect of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

Your feedback with regards to the service in the restaurant is duly noted and has been addressed accordingly.

Your complimentary remarks regarding the location and facilities are greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town.


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

A beautiful hotel, a beautiful setting overlooking the Atlantic. I tried to change my standard room, which was dark, small and south facing. No way i was told. At R4,8k a night, every room should be "business class". No newspapers, being charged for parking makes no sense at that price. Anyway the staff is friendly, the breakfast and lunch menu extensive and delicious. Housekeeping is very , very patchy.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Voyager26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Voyager26,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I would like to thank you very much for your constructive comments which are noted and currently being addressed.

We trust that this will not deter you from visiting our property in the near future and that on your return will be granted the opportunity of exceeding your expectations!

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from yet another stay at the Radisson hotel in the waterfront. As usual everything there was excellent. This is now our 13the visit and we hope to return again next year all being well. The staff are very nice. Some have been there for some time now are always are very welcoming to us. Thanks to Paul and Victor and Abigail and Letitia and the ' boys and girls' who serve round the pool side who so helpful and pleasant. All goes to make for a very happy stay. The rooms are very nice as is the service and the food. 10 out of 10 all round.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Nancy H,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront Hotel with us and other travellers.

Many thanks for your positive comments about our staff members and service provided and please be advised we have shared this.
Our staff takes great pride in seeing that our guests’ needs are met, and are therefore delighted that you had such an enjoyable time.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Cape Town for a recent holiday, in order to get away and to wind down from the winter blues of constant rain and greyness in the UK' The hotel has arguably the best location along the Cape Town water's edge and a short 10 min stroll to the famous V&A shopping centre, restaurants and cafes overlooking the harbour. For those who wish to ride, there is an hotel mini bus, on the hour that will take you to and from the V&A complex Our corner room on the third floor of the hotel had the benefit of dual aspect views of both the sea and Table Mountain. The room was spacious and kept immaculately clean. Breakfasts were amazing and the evening meals. particularly the buffet were excellent. The staff couldn't be more helpful or accommodating and always with a smile. An amazing experience for David & Delia Gibbs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear DavidG,

So happy to hear you could take a break away from the winter in the United Kingdom and come and enjoy the sunshine Cape Town has to offer.

We appreciate the time that you have taken to write such a great review and delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

Will pass on the comments to the staff which will be greatly appreciated.

Wishing you a great spring time ahead and looking forward to welcoming you back, when next your travels bring you to Cape Town


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Raddison Blu is a modern hotel right on the Atlantic, with great views across to Robben Island and the other side of Table Bay. We had "stadium" view for a night, then moved to a seaview suite for three further nights.

Suites are luxurious - as you would expect of a genuine 5 star hotel - with stunning sea views. Service at the hotel is immaculate, with polite, knowledgeable, attentive staff looking after your needs. There is a frequent free shuttle to the waterfront, which runs till late each evening.

Most enjoyable feature of the hotel, I think, is the restaurant, bar and pool deck. Breakfasts are delicious, with absolutely everything on offer, including, much to my satisfaction, bacon and other pork products! (We were refugees from the "Halal Hilton" when we visited)

Pool is small(ish) and "nearly" infinity. It is a great place to relax, with comfortable loungers. But..........

Health warning follows:
The loungers are extremely dangerous. Large and heavy, the have stick out handles to aid in moving them. These are lethal! Both my wife and I took the skin off our shins, and we watched other guests do the same. One young woman was in tears, with blood running down her leg. If the hotel was in the USA, they would be drowning in lawsuits. Please Raddison - do something about these menaces!

We loved most of our time at the Raddison. It is a great place to stay in Cape Town. Would be even better, and worthy of 6 rather than 4 TA "blobs", if only they bought new loungers!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Grahamee,

What a fantastic review and we appreciate the time that you have taken, to provide us with some valuable feedback.
I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

Thank you for raising your concerns about the loungers but please note we are aware of this matter and we are currently looking into this which will be dealt with urgently.

We look forward to welcoming you back, when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community of Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Room: right over the front area and the constant mouse if buses reversing, taxis stopping, people disembarking. I am a light sleeper and realised after a few minutes in the room that I would never get to sleep. Phoned Reservations. They said they did not have any other rooms available. I asked them to confirm that I could check out the following day as I would never survive two nights with the noise. They undertook to revert. An hour later, I phoned down again and was advised that the message would be passed on. A further hour later...and here I still am. Cannot wait to leave. Oh, and if you're on the first floor, regardless of sea-facing or not, you also have the noise from reception.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrianna_rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Adrianna_rod,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Many thanks for your feedback and comments of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

If there is a possibility, we would like to further discuss your comments. When convenient for you, please send your details to marcel.eichenberger@radissonblu.com

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,015 reviews
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,579 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing