We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sunsets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here for just over a week, some days were added to a conference and we got a conference rate but we got a room looking over the car park. Apart from this the room was clean and modern with free water and a chocolate each night. They also left a selection of deserts in our room on my husband's birthday, very nice! The location on the waterfront was lovely a wonderful place to watch the sunsets over the sea with a glass in hand. The food both for breakfast and evening meals were excellent especially the steaks and the Malay curry. The hotel provides a shuttle on the hour to take people down to the V and A, and would return if there was too many people. It isn't far to walk (15min) but we were there when it was very hot so it was appreciated. The pool was small and cold when we first arrived but warmed up as the week went on.
The staff were all friendly and many thanks to the concierge who arranged a taxi for a couple of trips to Boulder's Bay and a wine tasting trip.
Would I stay again? Yes, but I did think it a bit pricey and we should have moved further along to Camps Bay after a couple of days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annem03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Annem03,

On behalf of our team we would like to thank you for your review of our hotel.

It is such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and once again a big congratulations to your husband for his birthday he celebrated at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

So happy you could enjoy our facilities on offer especially having dinner and our delectable breakfast. Also a big thank you for your feedback with regards to our concierge staff which have been passed on and well received.

Many thanks for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

You would be hard pushed to find more helpful and friendly staff. The Hotel is modern and the rooms excellent, but what stands out is service and helpfulness in top class. I have stayed at hotels all over the world, but this one takes the price! Restaurants serve high quality meals and the breakfast buffet is first class. There is a coach between the hotel and the waterfront every hour, so it is easy to get to a cluster of shops and restaurants. They also organize a luxurious transportation to and from the airport.
Well done Radisson.

Room Tip: The most significant noise is from the sea, but then the view is pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JS1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear JS1942,

Thank you for this wonderful review and for sharing your feedback publicly on Trip Advisor.
It is so good to read such positive comments about our hotel, the service and our staff.

Wishing you safe travels.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Waterfront Radisson Blu, as its name suggests, is right on the edge of the sea, close to Cape Town's port. At high tide the waves lap at the wall separating the hotel from the ocean. As a location it's hard to beat. Note there's no beach.

The new and rather sterile Victoria & Alfred development is adjacent, if you absolutely cannot live without European designer gear and souvenirs priced at least 50% higher than you'll pay for the same items at the market in town.

I was a bit miffed at check-in when the reception told me that they were charging us for another day's accommodation, on the grounds that our flight left at 7.45pm. So what? I told them I intended to vacate the room before 10am, and we simply left with our bags, in a taxi we'd chartered for the day for a private tour. And didn't pay the day's surcharge. I have never, even=r, encountered this at any other hotel on the planet, and it annoyed me.

The room was spotless, and the cleanliness beyond reproach. The Tobago restaurant (sit indoors or on the terrace) has a menu that looks a bit like an offering from a franchised restaurant chain, but in fact serves up beautifully cooked and presented at (for us, anyway) very reasonable prices. The wine list is comprehensive, with something for every pocket.

You can also sit indoors or out for breakfast, depending on the weather. The terrace service was slightly hit and miss. Someone would take your drinks order, and pass the message on to someone else, who frequently would bring a drink intended for someone else - or at breakfast, forget to bring the coffee at all. This never affected the meal service, though, which was always excellent. Only drinks.

There were two stellar staff members there: one a young lad, name of Lazarus, learning the ropes about wine, and the other, his manager, Jean Claude who didn't appear to need much tuition. Both were amazingly attentive and knowledgeable. The other staff were incredibly friendly, but sometimes not as competent.

Breakfasts were vast, with a huge choice, and I noted that when they had a large party of tourists from Mumbai, they put out a variety of Indian food as well. Breakfasts were possibly the best meal of the day, actually, Splendid coffee, too.

There's a spa. Didn't use it. And a smallish pool, which is adequate.

Worst thing was the wifi - it simply could not cope with a full hotel, and fell over regularly and frequently, At least it was free.

Would I go back? Possibly. Not if business was involved, as it was here, for the first few days. Trying to sort out the wifi was a right pain. It just isn't good enough. That apart, if I could get a decent deal on the rooms, then probably. As it stands, I think the Radisson is pricing itself a little bit high, given that a lot of its customers appear to be on group tours and/or all-inclusive deals. There are a lot of other good hotels in Cape Town that are much cheaper, and in the Victoria & Alfred development, the Table Bay (we stayed one night there) which is simply in a different league.

Sum-up: good value food and drink, lovely staff, good if you don't pay rack rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. The rooms are bigger also, but of course they are more expensive. Watch out fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiameseDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear SiameseDuke,

Many thanks for taking time to write your review and sharing it on Tripadvisor.

Such a pleasure reading your fantastic comments as well as your constructive feedback with regards to the WIFI issues and us not offering to store your luggage upon check out. I can assure you that your experience is certainly not at all typical to our establishment, and has been addressed with all involved.

Many thanks for your positive accolades especially Lazarus and Jean Claude and note this will certainly be passed onto them. These 2 gentlemen has been chosen to represent our hotel with your local “inter hotel challenge” and they will compete and showcase their skills with other South African hotels, so yes we indeed very proud of them.

Many thanks for sharing your experience on trip advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back when in Cape Town.


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here as the first part of our honeymoon.we had a superior room with a partial sea view which was fab. The room wasn't very big though for a superior but it was fine. The business class rooms looked fabulous and were looking out over the sea at the front of the hotel. If we had known the difference we might have paid the extra as we thought the superior would be 'superior' to a normal room but I think they were similar minus the sea view. We were also greeted by a bottle of Brut and beautiful rose petalled bed.
Breakfast was super, big buffet with LOADS of choice. We had enough eaten most days for lunch too. We ended up dining in the restaurant two nights too. The al le carte menu is great, the steak is fab. We had the buffet/barbecue another night and we were a little disappointed. It was ok but not as nice as the other night.
The staff were all very friendly and nice. They offer a free complementary bus to and from the waterfront every hour and it's only a short walk anyways.
He pool area is lovely.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank LC_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear LC_irish,

Congratulations on your nuptials!
Many thanks for taking time out to write this great review and for choosing to spend your honeymoon at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

Your complimentary remarks regarding the staff, service and facilities are greatly appreciated! Will definitely pass this onto the entire team who ensured your fantastic stay.

Wishing you all the best on your future.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked the hotel with an early check in for 10/11:00hrs AM due to a flight from the UK and the charges of 5800 RAND (eg £322) were charged, which is understandable if the hotel ran on full occupancy. 1 night stay therefore cost over £650, but what was most disappointing is that the hotel failed to recognize the birthday of my Executive, even though they have been previously advised and I have the proven email correspondence of such. The Rezidor Hotel Group Standard was certainly not met and I am highly disappointed from a 12 year hospitality veteran having worked in 5 and 6star properties around the world. I will not recommend the hotel further, unfortunately and will ensure my Executives will stay at the Cullinan, which has a day rate of approximately £50 per night and take guest service seriously and pay attention to detail

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Simon O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your disappointment, during your recent stay with us.

Firstly please accept our sincerest apologies for missing your executive’s birthday – we have clearly failed to deliver on the standard that we at pride ourselves on. I can assure you that your experience is certainly not at all typical to our establishment, and has been addressed with all involved.

Thank you once again for providing us with your constructive feedback and we certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Fantastic room in the maritime style, with a balcony and fantastic views. All amenities in the room including a Nespresso coffee machine. Great service all the way. Everyone was friendly and happy to help. What a pleasure to be there!
Breakfast on the outside terrace, what a privilege. This must be the best location in Cape Town.
The restaurant was good an relatively cheap by European standard. Excellent value for money.
If I ever comeback to Cape Town, there is no doubt where I will stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallia53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Gallia53,

Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor.

Your positive comments about our location and décor are much appreciated and I am glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

It is particularly warming to receive such great compliments and note this has been passed onto the Team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Have just spent 5 nights here with my family. It was perfect. The location is not in the waterfront but within a 10 min walking distance or 3 mins in the hourly free hotel shuttle. The view of the Atlantic from the restaurant, pool area, bedrooms is breathtaking. We had a 2 bedroom suite (I believe it's their only one) which was fabulous (room no. 5). Enormous master bedroom with a smaller bedroom, perfect for my 2 teenage children. My youngest, 9, slept on the sofa bed in the lounge. It also had a kitchen with an nespresso machine - lovely touch. We had our own little patio leading straight out to the pool area but with our own private sun beds. Whilst this was a slightly expensive option, we would have spent this money on two individual rooms so having this great space was a huge bonus. The service from every single staff member was outstanding. Ross, the concierge, was very helpful with guidance on restaurants and driving tours. Buffet breakfast was very nice, served on the terrace. I highly recommend this first class hotel.

Room Tip: If you need 2 rooms for your family, take the 2 bedroom suite, room no. 5. Worth very penny. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Amanda G,

Wow what a great review!

Many thanks for taking time out to write this review of our beautiful property and the wonderful feedback given.

We are pleased to hear you tried out our facilities and services on offer. Also very happy that you indeed get the best of the rooms with full sea view!

Your complimentary remarks about Ross are greatly appreciated and will be passed onto him.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Cape Town in hopefully the near future.


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,353 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,543 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,295 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £149 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing