We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Ventnor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2009

TBH, I'm disappointed with our choice of this hotel. Having worked in 4/5 star hotels for most of my life, I was expecting more.

I think the basic problem is with the management as the hotel as a large amount (in comparion to European ones) of staff, they are basically inefficient and 'not bothered'

An instance is that we were complaining about an issue with bird poo in our ice, I would instanly expect a manager to appear. It was almost like a negotiation before the Asst Manager appeared even though they were in blatant view of all at the bar - not good!

A litany of problems could be levelled at the management:
cockraches running around the restaurant
asking for ice 6 times before it arrived - with bird poo in it
seafood pasta....without pasta
paella with garlic bread....... yep, you guessed it, wihtout the garlic bread
a torte that was a sponge - huh!

This list goes on.....in other words, don't go spending your hard earned £400+ per night!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chefbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    482
    136
    51
    46
See reviews for
274
645
75
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2009

Chose this hotel primarily for its location. However, the service and hospitality standards during our 6 night stay were excellent and we would certainly choose it again. It is well worth paying the extra for a sea facing room. The views from the balcony are superb and dolphins swim in close proximity to the hotel. The buffet breakfast offered a very good choice and there were always enough servers to bring coffee/toast etc. Room cleaning was fine although on several occasions we were not left face cloths but a quick phone call rectified the problem in seconds. It is a 10 minute walk to the Waterfront but we normally took the hourly shuttle bus. In the other direction there is a very pleasant walk/jogging route along the sea front for several miles. The swimmimg pool is fairly small but sun loungers were always available and the pool attendant would supply fresh towels.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warwicktraveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2009

We stayed at the Radisson for 6 nights leading up to Christmas and enjoyed our stay but I would have to say it was not quite a 5 star as rated, there were just a few bits that were not up to scratch, but overall it was a good relaxing break.
When we checked in our room wasn't ready and we were told it would be about 2 hours but it ended up more like 5, and then we had to chase for it a couple of times.
We had a "business" room whch was quite large and partly overlooked the sea and partly over the harbour area which was really nice, (we got a good rate, but I would still consider it expensive) The room was a good size, the bed was really comfy and could be seperated by some venetian style doors from the lounge area. The lounge area had a nice coffee table and sofa to relax and also had a decent coffee machine which was a lovely touch. The bathroom had a seperate shower and bath and was what you'd expect from this type of hotel. There was a turn down service every night which was a nice touch (especially the yummy choccies/biccies!!)
Our room rate included breakfast which was lovely, full buffet with everything you could possibly want, you could take breakfast either inside or out on the decking which was great. We didn't think however that the dining area was suitable for evening dinner - it was a bit too "cafe" style, perfect for breakfast or lunch but too "open and cold" for dinner. I would say that the hotel could do with a slightly more intimate or "cosy" restaurant for the evening, but to go with that thy would need to give the staff a few "pep" talks, they were all pleasant enough but sometimes we had to wait quite a while to get attention for drinks etc when we needed them.
We did have room service a couple of times, this was a bit hit and miss, not very hot food and took a long time to arrive, also a funny thing was that the room service was provided on a proper table with table cloth etc but the room chairs were not high enough to sit at the table so we used the coffee table and sofa (not a big niggle but a bit "thoughtless" for this grade hotel).
One other slight niggle was the lack of internet access for free, all we wanted to do was check some onwad flights which would have taken 5 mins, but we were told that we had to purchase a card for 30 mins or something... silly thing really but none the less another niggle to add to the overall feel that the Radisson SAS Waterfront wasn't quite up to the 5 star mark (elsewhere the reception or conceirge has done this for us)
The location of the hotel was good , it was about 5 mins drive (via a very useful courtesy shuttle) from the V&A waterfront so not in the hustle and bustle but a nice peaceful location but within easy distance to the plenty of restaurants and shops that V&A has to offer.
To sum up, a good hotel, good location (sure it will be handy for the World Cup as the stadium is right behind it!!). Although my review may sound discouraging in some aspects, taking everything into account I would stay again if returning to Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heartyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

I stayed here with my wife in June 08 and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff we're very friendly and the location couldn't be better.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sten45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
175 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

I would have been really ticked if I had to pay for this hotel at the published rate of $399/night, redeeemed points & stayed free. We decided to treat ourselves with a 3 night stay at this "5 star hotel" before returning from 2 weeks in Africa. This was the most disappointing aspect of our stay on the continent. Nothing about this establishment is 5 star. The service was so extremely disappointing and unfriendly. They charge ZAR 395 for airport transfer when a private shuttle was only 250. Upon check-in we learned that our room was not seaside and inquired about getting an oceanview but were told that we would have to pay an inflated upgrade fee for that. The 2nd day we came back from sightseeing around 6pm and our room had not been cleaned. Once we asked that the situation be corrected it took another 2 hours before the room was serviced, not what I expect from a 5 star hotel. We asked about late check-out the next day since our flight was leaving at 7pm were told the hotel was not full and we would need to confirm the next day but that should be no problem. The next morning we were told late check-out was not an option and we would have to vacate the room at 11 am. We voiced (very nicely) our displeasure and someone from guest services came with a very lame apology but did nothing to remedy the situation. The carpet in our room was stained and the bathroom ridiculously small, taken up by a giant bathtub. I felt that the staff did not care at all but what should you expect from an establishment that lists Jerry Springer and the WWE wrestlers on their "Wall of Fame".

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank MarieRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

We have 2 stays here which is why we have mixed feelings.
We arrived in Cape Town and stayed 1 night here. We were upgraded to a suite which was very nice.
We then explored the Cape and came back a week later for 2 more nights. We were given a room which was okay, but needed decorating.
Our biggest gripe is the internet connection. Although on holiday we still had business to conduct in the UK and we also wanted to check-in online for our flight home. The connection speed in the room was so slow the site we were using kicked us out several times. When I went down to the Business Centre I was told it was because the room was on the wrong side of the hotel! The Business Centre wasn't much better and I was told the only place you could get a good signal was in the public areas. Not acceptable if you are conducting business in a hotel that promotes its' business services.
The staff were very helpful and breakfast is plentiful. We ate in the bar on one night and this was also very good.

  • Disliked — Very slow internet connection
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiftsgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London (UK)
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

The location is superb, as the hotel faces right onto the sea. Rooms are fine and very functional, although decor is a bit 1980s and could do with being modernised.

Service was fine but there were several occasions at the restaurant and bar where we were ignored or menus were forgotten - having said this, when we asked a manager to sort out a problem, it was sorted out quickly.

The biggest annoyance is sun loungers at the pool - at busy times and when the weather is sunny, hotel guests reserve them by throwing a book on the loungers and all can be taken by 8.30 am. And management just seems to let the guests do tihs, which is not very fair. This is particularlt annoying in high season when you are paying $600 a night and the hotel should do something about it. They do not even have a backup of mattresses or basic sun loungers that they can pull out at busy trimes, and this caused us and several other guests a lot of annoyance. If it were not for this, I'd have rated 5.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing