We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 21 May 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Radisson SAS Hotel Waterfront for two nights in March prior to our "Garden Route Tour". We had previously stayed here last summer, and selected the hotel for its proximity to the V&A Waterfront as well as its fine service and accommodations.

Needless to say, the Radisson lived up to its previous standards. The room was very comfortable, the breakfast buffet bountiful and delicious, the on-site parking convenient, and the front desk staff/concierge were always willing to help us with directions or restaurant recommendations.

I would highly recommend the Radisson SAS Waterfront Hotel for couples, families, or business travelers who would like to be close the the V&A Waterfront but prefer a full service hotel in a more tranquil setting.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simmrouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    496
    141
    53
    47
See reviews for
281
661
77
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

The hotel was actually a big disappointment. On arrival requested a room with twin beds. We were allocated a room with a double bed and a view of car-park. After numerous calls to reception we were finally moved to a room that at least had a partial sea view and they then just split the 2 beds. The carpet had a giant stain in the room, the TV was this tiny old box that was basically black and white.. the beds were EXTREMELY uncomfortable and first night our beds did not even have a top sheet. I asked the second night for a top sheet and were given this giant double sheet for a single bed.

The breakfast was also problematic. They served until 10h30 we arrived at 9h45 and a lot of stuff was already finished and we were told they had run out and there was no more available. The servers at the breakfast were also useless and when coffee was finally brought it was ice cold.

Wifi in the hotel was also not working for the entire weekend.

Def not worth the money. best part of hotel is the view on the deck. You don't need to stay here to enjoy this..

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leighdermick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2009

It's not a beautiful hotel & it has a ugly outside appearance but you could find everything you want in this Hotel:good location it's located near the waterfront quarter about 20 min by walk you could find there shopping mall & good restaurants,friendly staff,free wireless internet in your own room,every morning you receive Newspaper,In the afternoon they service again your room & they bring to you some sweets & a bottle of water complimentary & hotel's shuttle could go every where you want & pick up you for going back to the the hotel with good price,hotel's restaurant quality is excellent with reasonable price with polite & friendly waiters.
If I travel again to Cape town I book this hotel absolutely!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaTehran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Was there for over a week on business. Happiness was returning after hectic day to a glass of wine on the terrace. A couple of nights we were so tired we ate at the hotel, and was very pleasantly surprised. The blankets for later on were certainly a good thought!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myntea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

TBH, I'm disappointed with our choice of this hotel. Having worked in 4/5 star hotels for most of my life, I was expecting more.

I think the basic problem is with the management as the hotel as a large amount (in comparion to European ones) of staff, they are basically inefficient and 'not bothered'

An instance is that we were complaining about an issue with bird poo in our ice, I would instanly expect a manager to appear. It was almost like a negotiation before the Asst Manager appeared even though they were in blatant view of all at the bar - not good!

A litany of problems could be levelled at the management:
cockraches running around the restaurant
asking for ice 6 times before it arrived - with bird poo in it
seafood pasta....without pasta
paella with garlic bread....... yep, you guessed it, wihtout the garlic bread
a torte that was a sponge - huh!

This list goes on.....in other words, don't go spending your hard earned £400+ per night!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chefbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

Chose this hotel primarily for its location. However, the service and hospitality standards during our 6 night stay were excellent and we would certainly choose it again. It is well worth paying the extra for a sea facing room. The views from the balcony are superb and dolphins swim in close proximity to the hotel. The buffet breakfast offered a very good choice and there were always enough servers to bring coffee/toast etc. Room cleaning was fine although on several occasions we were not left face cloths but a quick phone call rectified the problem in seconds. It is a 10 minute walk to the Waterfront but we normally took the hourly shuttle bus. In the other direction there is a very pleasant walk/jogging route along the sea front for several miles. The swimmimg pool is fairly small but sun loungers were always available and the pool attendant would supply fresh towels.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warwicktraveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We stayed at the Radisson for 6 nights leading up to Christmas and enjoyed our stay but I would have to say it was not quite a 5 star as rated, there were just a few bits that were not up to scratch, but overall it was a good relaxing break.
When we checked in our room wasn't ready and we were told it would be about 2 hours but it ended up more like 5, and then we had to chase for it a couple of times.
We had a "business" room whch was quite large and partly overlooked the sea and partly over the harbour area which was really nice, (we got a good rate, but I would still consider it expensive) The room was a good size, the bed was really comfy and could be seperated by some venetian style doors from the lounge area. The lounge area had a nice coffee table and sofa to relax and also had a decent coffee machine which was a lovely touch. The bathroom had a seperate shower and bath and was what you'd expect from this type of hotel. There was a turn down service every night which was a nice touch (especially the yummy choccies/biccies!!)
Our room rate included breakfast which was lovely, full buffet with everything you could possibly want, you could take breakfast either inside or out on the decking which was great. We didn't think however that the dining area was suitable for evening dinner - it was a bit too "cafe" style, perfect for breakfast or lunch but too "open and cold" for dinner. I would say that the hotel could do with a slightly more intimate or "cosy" restaurant for the evening, but to go with that thy would need to give the staff a few "pep" talks, they were all pleasant enough but sometimes we had to wait quite a while to get attention for drinks etc when we needed them.
We did have room service a couple of times, this was a bit hit and miss, not very hot food and took a long time to arrive, also a funny thing was that the room service was provided on a proper table with table cloth etc but the room chairs were not high enough to sit at the table so we used the coffee table and sofa (not a big niggle but a bit "thoughtless" for this grade hotel).
One other slight niggle was the lack of internet access for free, all we wanted to do was check some onwad flights which would have taken 5 mins, but we were told that we had to purchase a card for 30 mins or something... silly thing really but none the less another niggle to add to the overall feel that the Radisson SAS Waterfront wasn't quite up to the 5 star mark (elsewhere the reception or conceirge has done this for us)
The location of the hotel was good , it was about 5 mins drive (via a very useful courtesy shuttle) from the V&A waterfront so not in the hustle and bustle but a nice peaceful location but within easy distance to the plenty of restaurants and shops that V&A has to offer.
To sum up, a good hotel, good location (sure it will be handy for the World Cup as the stadium is right behind it!!). Although my review may sound discouraging in some aspects, taking everything into account I would stay again if returning to Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heartyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing