We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly and uninviting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cockermouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unfriendly and uninviting”
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We arrived at the hotel for the first part of our honeymoon. It was the morning and we were shattered after the long flight. As our room was not ready we had to lug all our cases to the spa area to have a shower which was a massive pain after the long flight and we just wanted to sleep. We then had to wait a few hours in the lounge until our room was ready but they did not tell us it was ready like they said they would, we had to ask at reception. There was another couple on honeymoon who got an upgraded room and a complimentary bottle of champagne sent to their room - we got nothing, not even a congratulations. The staff were unfriendly on reception. The shuttle bus leaves the hotel once an hour to the V&A and claims to pick up at quarter past the hour for return to the hotel - beware - if the bus turns up at five past the hour and noone is waiting, it will go back to the hotel without waiting until quarter past. We found this out when waiting from ten past until half past in the rain. We had to wait until the next bus and were not impressed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonnie_lassie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    500
    142
    55
    49
See reviews for
294
666
78
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

The location is terrific - right on the water with a free shuttle going to the V&A waterfront.

When I made my reservation, I requested a non-smoking room. I was given a smoking room - when I called to request a room change, the front desk insisted that I was in a non-smoking room (despite the fact that the room room reeked and there were several ashtrays in the room). I was then moved to another room, which was another smoking room. I was finally given a non-smoking room, which was not fully cleaned - there were dirty towels on the floor and no soap/shampoo in the room. There was also no clock or TV remote in the room.

The rooms themselves are in dire need of a rehab - the carpet was stained and dirty - the overall decor was very tired and kind of shabby.

The breakfasts were okay. However, the overall experience was clearly not worth the $300+ per night. On my next visit to Cape Town, I will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoBauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This is a pretty good hotel. Great restaurant (for breakfast anyway) an accommodating staff, good location. But it's not at the V+A. The shuttle goes every hour. Cabs are somewhat expensive, at least in South African terms. I think it was R35 minimum for the 5 minute ride. It would be better if the shuttle was more frequent or on demand. We never had time to do it but it connected to the boardwalk the goes a long way along the coast the opposite direction from the V+A. They waived the R50 parking fee the one night we parked, it's right on the ocean, the business class rooms are huge and clean and there is free wireless internet. Overall a good place.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coloradorailfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

I've been two times at Radisson, first in 2007, second in Jan 2009, for different events. It's the perfect option for Cape Town, especially for the next World Cup, as the hotel is placed very close to the new football stadium.
Briefly:
- Location: 5 mins to waterfront Victoria & Albert, which is practically the tourist center of Cape Town. A safe zone, near a golf camp and, as I said, near football stadium.
- Rooms: big, well equipped, clean.
- Food: excellent. African and European meals, very well cooked. restaurant is near water, a very nice view around the ocean.
- Facilities: many, including pool.
- Stuff: very friendly, very willing to take care of your wishes.
Overall: if you plan a trip to CapeTown - just book Radisson. If you plan to go to World Cup 2010 - just book Radisson.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flipendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Radisson SAS Hotel Waterfront for two nights in March prior to our "Garden Route Tour". We had previously stayed here last summer, and selected the hotel for its proximity to the V&A Waterfront as well as its fine service and accommodations.

Needless to say, the Radisson lived up to its previous standards. The room was very comfortable, the breakfast buffet bountiful and delicious, the on-site parking convenient, and the front desk staff/concierge were always willing to help us with directions or restaurant recommendations.

I would highly recommend the Radisson SAS Waterfront Hotel for couples, families, or business travelers who would like to be close the the V&A Waterfront but prefer a full service hotel in a more tranquil setting.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simmrouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

The hotel was actually a big disappointment. On arrival requested a room with twin beds. We were allocated a room with a double bed and a view of car-park. After numerous calls to reception we were finally moved to a room that at least had a partial sea view and they then just split the 2 beds. The carpet had a giant stain in the room, the TV was this tiny old box that was basically black and white.. the beds were EXTREMELY uncomfortable and first night our beds did not even have a top sheet. I asked the second night for a top sheet and were given this giant double sheet for a single bed.

The breakfast was also problematic. They served until 10h30 we arrived at 9h45 and a lot of stuff was already finished and we were told they had run out and there was no more available. The servers at the breakfast were also useless and when coffee was finally brought it was ice cold.

Wifi in the hotel was also not working for the entire weekend.

Def not worth the money. best part of hotel is the view on the deck. You don't need to stay here to enjoy this..

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leighdermick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2009

It's not a beautiful hotel & it has a ugly outside appearance but you could find everything you want in this Hotel:good location it's located near the waterfront quarter about 20 min by walk you could find there shopping mall & good restaurants,friendly staff,free wireless internet in your own room,every morning you receive Newspaper,In the afternoon they service again your room & they bring to you some sweets & a bottle of water complimentary & hotel's shuttle could go every where you want & pick up you for going back to the the hotel with good price,hotel's restaurant quality is excellent with reasonable price with polite & friendly waiters.
If I travel again to Cape town I book this hotel absolutely!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaTehran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,577 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing