We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, good staff....but a tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Location, good staff....but a tired hotel”
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stayed here for the last 5 nights of our trip to South Africa. Many positives to talk about including location (great for access to the Waterfront and all of Cape Town's attractions, also the right side of town for Cape Point, Camps Bay etc...and it's right next to Green Point stadium), the outside bar area is right next to the ocean, a good gym, friendly/helpful door staff and a reasonable priced restaurant.
However, the rooms are tired and could do with a refurb (which is currently ongoing for the ocean facing rooms) and overall the rates are relatively high for South Africa.
With the room upgrades ongoing this should be a reasonable place to stay in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    496
    142
    53
    48
See reviews for
286
663
77
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry,
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed at the Radisson for 4 nights at the end of our honeymoon. The room was supposed to have a 'table mountain' view but all you could see was the new stadium currently under construction. The room and decor was tired and we had maintenance out on numerous occasions to repair all of the many faults (tap only ran cold water, shower door didn't close hence leaked, plug sockets didn't work etc). Half of the hotel is closed and apparently under renovation for 2010 world cup - it is in dire need of renovation and the builders start early so don't expect a lie in. Breakfast exceptionally poor, staff slow and disinterested. Shuttle service did not run to time and was chaotic at best. Mini Bar in the room was locked until we asked for it to be opened!!! When we mentioned that we expected better for a 5 star especially as we were on our honeymoon (and we hadn't even received a complimentary bottle of champagne) the guest relations manager claimed they had no knowledge of the fact that we were on our honeymoon and we should have let our travel agent know to inform them - it was clearly printed on the voucher we handed over on arrival. The hotel was the poorest of all of the 5 star hotels we stayed in throughout our trip and the service inexcusable. This is a business hotel and is certainly not 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

I had the opportunity of overnighting at the Radisson, as I attended a conference there. The Radisson is very wheelchair friendly. :) The staff where very helpful and friendly. I stayed in room 001, which is the wheelchair accessible room. The room itself is nice and spacious with enough room to get to either side of the big double bed. Tea / coffee making facilities, mini bar (very expensive) and hairdryer in the room. The bathroom is of medium size and I found it to be very user friendly. Easy access to the basin. The roll in shower is on the small side and it has a moveable shower chair. I managed fine by myself. There is also a bath, which has a hand held shower and all the necessary grab rails.
The conference hall was easily accessible, although you do need to go down a ramp, which is marble and is very slippery and narrow. But other than that it was fine.
The spa however is not wheelchair accessible as you need to go down steps to enter the spa area.
The restaurant area is 100% wheelchair accessible and the outside seating would have been awesome if the weather wasnt' so lousy. :)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

perfectly nice trip this tie round, management kindly upgraded both me and a colleague to business class rooms to make up for previous less than ideal stay.

A little peturbed on checkin that only ONE room had been booked, but that appears to be booking agents fault. Swiftly and reasonably accomodated by checkin staff.

Had choesn not to eat there as a threat of Refurb works, but they were unobtrusive.

Would reccomend as a medium cost/quality hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dukesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We arrived at the hotel for the first part of our honeymoon. It was the morning and we were shattered after the long flight. As our room was not ready we had to lug all our cases to the spa area to have a shower which was a massive pain after the long flight and we just wanted to sleep. We then had to wait a few hours in the lounge until our room was ready but they did not tell us it was ready like they said they would, we had to ask at reception. There was another couple on honeymoon who got an upgraded room and a complimentary bottle of champagne sent to their room - we got nothing, not even a congratulations. The staff were unfriendly on reception. The shuttle bus leaves the hotel once an hour to the V&A and claims to pick up at quarter past the hour for return to the hotel - beware - if the bus turns up at five past the hour and noone is waiting, it will go back to the hotel without waiting until quarter past. We found this out when waiting from ten past until half past in the rain. We had to wait until the next bus and were not impressed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonnie_lassie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

The location is terrific - right on the water with a free shuttle going to the V&A waterfront.

When I made my reservation, I requested a non-smoking room. I was given a smoking room - when I called to request a room change, the front desk insisted that I was in a non-smoking room (despite the fact that the room room reeked and there were several ashtrays in the room). I was then moved to another room, which was another smoking room. I was finally given a non-smoking room, which was not fully cleaned - there were dirty towels on the floor and no soap/shampoo in the room. There was also no clock or TV remote in the room.

The rooms themselves are in dire need of a rehab - the carpet was stained and dirty - the overall decor was very tired and kind of shabby.

The breakfasts were okay. However, the overall experience was clearly not worth the $300+ per night. On my next visit to Cape Town, I will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoBauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This is a pretty good hotel. Great restaurant (for breakfast anyway) an accommodating staff, good location. But it's not at the V+A. The shuttle goes every hour. Cabs are somewhat expensive, at least in South African terms. I think it was R35 minimum for the 5 minute ride. It would be better if the shuttle was more frequent or on demand. We never had time to do it but it connected to the boardwalk the goes a long way along the coast the opposite direction from the V+A. They waived the R50 parking fee the one night we parked, it's right on the ocean, the business class rooms are huge and clean and there is free wireless internet. Overall a good place.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coloradorailfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,550 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing